We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HF Ipanema Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HF Ipanema Park to your Saves list
HF Ipanema Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua de Serralves, 124, Porto 4150-702, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Gdynia, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“business”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

More bad than good sides of staying in the hotel. The same food every day, No proper cleaning in a room ( we must have asked about the toilet paper! ) Poor service . The roof pool is just more a view than useful due to its small size. Its just a hotel for one business night and no more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    224
    98
    39
    30
See reviews for
92
198
20
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

A nice modern hotel up on the hill with large rooms nice and helpful staff staff though at peak hours a bit understaffed. Breakfast and lunch were excellent with a variety of local dishes, fish fruits and cakes. The beighbourhood is a bit rundown though not on first sight. Beware to use the hotel parking!!! our car by a near by alley, was broken into on our first night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg/Mannheim, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Every half a year I travel to Porto for business and every time I test different hotels. The HF Ipanema Park Hotel looks a little bit chaotic and they haven`t found their style until yet. I`m really surprised, that the hotel has so many stars as it doesn`t look and feel like it. So many things don`t fit: Old Sofa in the lobby stinks like hell I think it was 3. or 4th hand.....the lobby anyway is very, very old fashioned like my room. It was spacious, but looked like out of the 80ties. Anyway the bed was good. The pool on the roof top is hip and nice, with a beautiful view, but definetly too small for such a big hotel. If the hotel would look like the pool, it would be a very nice hotel. The rate I paid wasn`t high, so I think for this price the hotel is okay. I don`t like it very much, if a hotel has refurnished, stylish rooms, which they use for their advertising, but indeed has more old rooms....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaasa, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at HF Ipanema Park for 9 nights in July 2013 with my wife. We have stayed at several hotels around Europe but the staff at the reception at Ipanema Park was the best so far. They were very professional, helpful and friendly and spoke good English too. The pool and the bar at the roof was very nice in the afternoons when we got back to the hotel after a sweaty day downtown. The breakfast wasn't anything special, standard hotel breakfast. The service in the restaurant is the only reason why we won't give this hotel 5 stars. The location of the hotel is ok, about 4 km from the city center but there was always taxis waiting outside the hotel so no problem. You can also take the bus from a bus stop 50 m from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

For me the hotel gets a 7/10.
I went with 3 mates for a 30th during the Optimus Primevera festival.
The rooms are a decent size, comfy beds, good bathroom facilities, nice shower and the staff on the desk were good.
Our only gripe was the bar for food. The staff are shocking and in a world of their own.
Whenever we ordered food, it would take an age to arrive. We ordered 4 cokes and said they would be brought over, 20 minutes later - nothing. When we asked where they were, we were told they were busy. There were only 6 other people in the bar!!!
It is a short taxi ride into the main city centre.
The best part is the rooftop pool and bar. The pool is freezing though so it was rarely used.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paphos, Cyprus
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The hotel is a twenty minutes walk from the center, but there is a busline which stops in front of the hotel. In a ten minutes walk there is a good pizzeria with a view over the Douro; Restaurante Casa D'Ouro on the first stage. Unfortunatelly their menu is not translated in English, so your order is a guess.
The hotel itself is a good startpoint to discover Porto, a great cutural city! But the beds are quit hard, so I automatically woke up at 6.30 am, my roommate had the same.
The breakfast is great. A shame that the swimpool wasn't heated, so it was too cold to swim in May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromma, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We hade a nice time in the HF Ipanema Park. The hotell looks new and clean, they offers big rooms, a pool on the roof after a warm sunny day and you can even play squach. The staff ar overall friendly and helpfull. The last dinner was though a disaster, 5 waiters were running around totally confused without trying to explain what the problem was.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HF Ipanema Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HF Ipanema Park

Address: Rua de Serralves, 124, Porto 4150-702, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Porto
#19 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Family Hotel in Porto
#24 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — HF Ipanema Park 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A five star hotel for demanding clients.A hotel that connects comfort, a great service, sympathy and quality to a smart choice!Having been for a long time a reference among the hotels of Oporto, the HF Ipanema Park has reinforced its arguments thanks to a recent remodelling process, which has turned it into an extraordinary example of environmental efficiency that is positively reflected in the comfort of its guests.Sophistication is a common aspect between the atmosphere of the rooms and social areas, with an emphasis on the panoramic Top of the Roof bar with a pool and a unique view over the mouth of the River Douro, and the free Wi-Fi Internet available throughout the entire hotel. In such a welcoming and comfortable hotel, only its proximity to the most sophisticated and charming area of the city will convince you to go out.At the Jardim d'Inverno restaurant, both the Portuguese cuisine and the exotic flavours are dressed with the refinement of Chef Agostinho Teixeira. At the Coffee-Shop near the Twin Trees bar, our light meals will surprise you.At the HF Ipanema Park you always have more than you think, for less that you can imagine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HostelBookers so you can book your HF Ipanema Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hf Ipanema Park Porto
Hf Ipanema Park Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HF Ipanema Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.