We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No honeymoon here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Hotel America
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Catarina 1018, Porto 4000-447, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    36
    29
    17
    4
See reviews for
18
39
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

The hotel is located centrally. Free parking( in a difficult area to find parking)
Rooms are clean, but small.
Staff was friendly and helpful with good English.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork City, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2009

There were three in our group, and we booked a triple room with a rate that included breakfast. Great value for money!! The room was large with a lovely clean bathroom (even a bath). The breakfasts were amazing!! The location is great, easy to get to the city and metro station. Would advise people on a budget to get the metro to and from the airport if possible, as the cost of a taxi is about 30 euro.

The staff at the hotel were really helpful, Paulo was fantastic and speaks perfect english. He was happy to help in any way and a really great guy. Would tell anyone going to Porto to stay here if they want a great experience!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I booked the hotel online and got a cheap deal for 2 nights. On arrival I was shown to a room that smelled strongly of smoke. I asked to change rooms but was told that there were no other rooms. The room was also much smaller than the rooms in the photos on the website. The hotel is on a main road so it is very noisy at night and my partner was not able to sleep at all. It is a shame that they haven't thought to double glaze the windows because otherwise this would be a good cheap no frills hotel. Whilst the staff were helpful and friendly, the manager was very rude and unfriendly. I would not go back to this hotel and I would definitely not recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

Booked this hotel for a weekend getaway break.
Hotel is about 15-20 mins by taxi from the airport.
Hotel is in the main centre but is a fair way up the hill from the main shopping, so good location.
Room was excellent, basic, but very clean, powerful shower and was cleaned daily.
We arrived really early and the male receptionist who was the most helpful receptionist the whole weekend, said that we could go and eat breakfast, althoughy officially we were not checking in until 12 oclock.
Breakfast was more than adequate, cereal, juice, bread for toast, rolls, pastries, cake, ham and cheese, yohgurts, and scrambled eggs and sausages. Breakfast was from 7-10am and was frequenlty replenished.
We were also offered a taxi booking to the airport on our departure and also a complimentary port whilst we waited .

Excellent little hotel in good location. excellent for a budget weekend and would recommend and stay again .

  • Liked — LOCATION, PRICE
  • Disliked — Room was a little cold
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

The only good thing was providing hot breakfast in the morning.
The room is quite comfortable and bathroom is above the standard.
BUT:-
No luggage storage room.
Noise in the evening from the raindrop
Even is located in the city- center, but it took me more than 20 mins to the train station.
The catering staff was friendly but not those in the reception.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2007

The main reason of the choice of this hotel is its localization: Street of Santa Catarina.(Rua de Santa Catarina)
You are in the center of the city, in one of the main streets, it is a pedestrian street.
the main and famous store are here close.
It is near of everything.
The hotel is well located same that you arrive of bus or train.
A trip for taxi costs 5 euros, no more.
(From hotel to Porto Airport: 20 euros by taxi)
So, this hotel is for tourist that are not interesting in amenities, like one 5 stairs, or small executive people .
It is the best in the relation the advantage-price.
The reception of the hotel was excellent with us.
The apartment was small but clean. very good shower.
cards of credit are accepted.
Next trip to Porto I will go there again.
It is a bargain for me, I like to go shopping.
Honest, only use the hotel to sleep...

  • Liked — the localization and the shower
  • Disliked — small room
  • Tips/Secrets — Do your reservation in advance.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Rua Santa Catarina 1018, Porto 4000-447, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel America 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.