We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of PortoSense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added PortoSense to your Saves list
PortoSense
Rua dos Mercadores, 3, Porto 4050-375, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Brookline, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

It's difficult to overstate how nice our stay was at PortoSense. We arranged with the staff for a taxi from the airport. The transfer was painless. The location of the apartment is perfect, and the apartment itself was beautiful. Communication was prompt and helpful. I fully recommend PortoSense for a stay that makes you feel like you are one of the locals.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    15
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
44
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mol, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Porto Sense is a fantastic place to stay visiting Porto. The apartment is beautifull, very comfortable and fully equiped. It is perfectly located. The owner and Christina were very helpfull and reacted immediately on any mail or question. We loved it!

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Fransisco studio and we loved it! Also the view from our balcony on the Douro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here on Thursday and Friday night and were bowled over by how fantastic this place was.

The building is not staffed at all times which we felt gave us a great amount of independence and privacy and when we needed help we were able to reach a member of staff easily by email and get a swift reply. One of the PortoSense team, the lovely Cristina, contacted us well in advance of the stay with information about how to get into the building with a code if we were to arrive outside of the time when the building is manned. The keycards for the rooms are stored in individual lockers in the lobby and we were given a code to get our keycard from the locker. As it happened we arrived when Cristina was there, she was very friendly and welcoming. We arrived earlier than we'd told her we would, so our room was still being cleaned, however, she let us see the room and leave our bags. PortoSense has an elevator so we didn't have to drag our suitcases up several flights of stairs.

We had the Santa Clara Room on the first floor. The room was beautiful, tastefully decorated, very spacious and had great views. The bed was big and comfy. We slept really well - the room had big chunky wooden shutters. The square was a little noisy at night (understandably) but it didn't disturb our sleep. We didn't make much use of the self-catering facilities beyond making coffee but it looked to be very well stocked and even hand a hand-held blender!

The location was beautiful with views of the river and the square. It wasn't far from the centre of town - just a 5-10 minute walk uphill.

On our last night (a Friday) I emailed Cristina at 10pm to ask about booking a taxi to the airport and some other things, she replied within 15 minutes to say it was booked and answering my other questions! The taxi driver was their regular driver and really friendly too.

All in all a brilliant stay! I would definitely stay here again if visiting Porto.

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was big (the Sta Clara room), the top floor room has a balcony overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Husband, son and I arrived Easter Sunday and were greeted by the owners who went out of their way to assure we had a wonderful stay in Porto. Cristina responded to my emails promptly, arranged nicest taxi driver to meet us at airport and was so helpful with restaurant suggestions (loved Jimao). Our time in Porto could not have been more perfect. Room was well equipped and perfectly located to allow our teenagers bad us freedom to explore this beautiful city.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A couple stayed here for one night in the middle of a trip across Portugal.
The location is ideal. It cannot be better in this city.
It is a rented apartment, which differs from all others I saw before in one aspect: design. It is stylish, indeed. Not only all details in room and bath were taken into account - it is elegant, individual, broadcasting the sense of a good taste. Quite unusual.
Ideally clean, convenient, safe, well-equipped kitchen - all this can be taken for granted. And the river - here it is, just look at the window!
We booked it through Internet and the real result was above expectations.
Note: it is impossible to get right here by car due to Portosense's ideal location; nearest parking lot is in approx. 300m.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Spacious and comfortable. The building that houses PortoSense is right on the river square. Only the top floor faces the river but you can get a view looking sideways out the big windows that open wide. Our stay was very quiet except for a Saturday night that was a big festival night. It's possibly this area gets noisier in summer? Comfortable bed, good water pressure, kitchen with washing machine and clothesline. Very responsive via email with questions before and with any questions during. Also, gave great advice when asked. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends. I hope your business thrives.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We were greeted warmly at the door by wonderful staff. The room was very well organized, well equipped, and charming. Very impressive and well thought out. Don't hesitate to stay here when visiting Porto!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to PortoSense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PortoSense

Address: Rua dos Mercadores, 3, Porto 4050-375, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PortoSense apartments are ideal for a romantic getaway, family holiday, group of friends or simply a work trip.We offer privacy, space and comfort with the added-value of feeling as if you were in your own home.In Praça da Ribeira, a stone-throw away from the River Douro, you can feel the History: in the fourteenth Century the naval construction filled this port and these narrow streets with movement. It is one of the most visited places by tourists.The recently renovated PortoSense building is easily recognized by the magnificent fountain from the eighteenth century which stands outside it, built in the 1780’s and decorated with Portugal’s Coat of Arms. Cook your own meals in an intimate and relaxed environment, or go out and enjoy the huge variety of restaurants, bars, tapas and typical taverns which you will find nearby by walking through the Cais da Ribeira, up to the Mercado das Flores, Infante, in the direction of the city centre, into Avenida dos Aliados, Praça S. Domingos, Rua Galerias de Paris, where you can be surprised with live music and a very fun nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your PortoSense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PortoSense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.