We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel da Bolsa to your Saves list
Hotel da Bolsa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

Perfect location to visit Porto. Very big room (with two bathroom) with fantastic views to the Douro river (5th floor).

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    118
    39
    10
    2
See reviews for
45
102
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
usa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Only had 1 full day in Porto and was extremely happy that I booked this hotel. It’s right in the middle of all the sights that I wanted to see. With only a 5 minute walk to the riverfront, and a 15 minute walk to Vila Nova de Gaia (where there are more restaurants and port houses) it was a perfect location.

The staff is friendly enough and gave us great recommendations for dinner. We got one of the handicap rooms, which was great since my husband is very tall and doesn’t enjoy showers in cramped places. The rooms are clean and there is a safe (not that I figured out how to use it… despite directions). Breakfast was good and there was plenty to select from.

Wi-Fi in the lounge was free and the bar was comfy and has a decent selection of drinks.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We spent two nights at the Hotel da Bolsa.

The front desk staff was helpful and friendly, and check-in was easy.

Our rate was 90 Euro per night for a standard room for two people, and it included the breakfast buffet.

The hotel is centrally located in old town, about two blocks from the river, and we found it to be within easy walking distance to major attractions.

We were in room 303 which had two twin beds. The room was clean and adequate for two people. Good air conditioning. We could hear street noise. It did not bother us, but we were here on a Monday and Tuesday. It might be noisier on the weekend, so be aware. The shower had poor water pressure but plenty of hot water.

We were unable to connect to "free" internet in the room because the signal too weak to be of use. However, it worked fine in the lobby.

Excellent continental breakfast buffet with: coffee, tea, fresh orange juice, a variety of cereals, breads, and meats along with cheese and yogurt.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Just spent three nights at the Hotel da Bolsa on a city break. The hotel is situated in the old town of Porto with fantastic views to the river, Dom Luis I bridge, Cathedral and Stock Exchange etc. Our room was not the largest and you had to lift up the toilet seat to shut the bathroom door, but it was spotlessly clean with great views. Our room wasn't huge but as we were only using it as a base it was fine. The buffet breakfast was impressive with everything but cooked breakfast. The croissants were particularly lovely. Each evening we would come in from dinner and have a night cap in the bar. The barman was very friendly and the drink prices were surprisingly low for a hotel bar. All in all a good place to stay for a visit to Porto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view on the upper floors. We had a side view of the river, but could al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

Our first visit to this hotel three years ago left such good memories in our mind that we were only too happy to return. Good, professional management with happy, smiling and courteous staff who treat and respect you like a welcomed customer. We like the location; just 5 minutes walk from the underground metro station and the mainline station of Sao Bento. Three minutes walk from the Ribeira (old port) with its wide choice of restaurants and cafés. Excellent buffet breakfast included in the room rate. They now have a juice machine and you can squeeze fresh local oranges for your juice. Nice comfortable public lounges and a good, well run bar. For the price, difficult to find fault. We hope we can visit the hotel, Porto and more of Portugal again in another three years.

Room Tip: From the rooms on the higher floors, you get a nice view of Porto and the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights with a 9 month baby in room 502. Fantastic view. Clean room. Toilet decent size and clean, only the tap water had a strong iron smell in it. Television had mainly Portuguese channels with one English news channel.

Hotel reception Luis very courteous. Breakfast buffet excellent with large choice of cereal, bread, cheese, cured meats, cake, fruit, yoghurts, fresh fruit, juices and hot tea, coffee. Breakfast ladies dolce and Paula very helpful in entertaining and looking after baby while we had breakfast.
Lots of restaurants close by, a bakery and a pharmacy.
Only complaint is that the entrance to the hotel is not pram or wheelchair friendly with 2 large sets of steps. Otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, second visit. Well positioned between the river and the town, in the heart of the historic, run down old quarter. Its a world heritage site, but unless many billions are spent on it, it'll soon be too late to save. So many buildings are in a dire state and are deteriorating rapidly. There was heavy rain when we were there and I have never seen so many buildings without basic guttering/downpipes.
The room has been renovated inside, making the rooms warm and attractive. However, they are pretty small. We returned on the basis of the room we had a few years back, which, it transpired was unusually large. We were shown our room this time and it was small. We asked for a bigger one, and, to their credit. they gave us a corner room with 3 windows, including views of the river. ( In other countries it would have been described as a Junior Suite)
Breakfast was good and the staff were courteous and professional. It also has a bar, which was handy on our first day as the rain was monsoonal and getting out was impossible.

Room Tip: Aim for 306 (see my review)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Bolsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.