We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a stay in Porto.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel da Bolsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel da Bolsa to your Saves list
Hotel da Bolsa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good choice for a stay in Porto.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Older hotel, but nice big room and newly renovated(?) bathroom. Excellent location close to Ribeira, river, bridge dom Luiz, Gaia, shoppingstreet etc. Also close to the first stop of the hop-on-hop-off buses(which are excellent also). Pastelaria and farmacia in same street.

Streetview from our room, absolutely no noise because of isolated windows. Windows could be opened.
Breakfast: GOOD cofee, hot milk. Sweets and white bread. Ham, cheese and fresh orangejuice. :-)

Free(30 min) internet-computer in the lobby, helpful and englishspeaking staff. Bar with big tv(usually on sports channel) on ground floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    137
    46
    11
    2
See reviews for
50
123
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

After checking into a VERY dirty and disappointing hotel (recommended by Rick Steves, which was even more disappointing), my mother and I decided right away to try and check back out! We found Hotel da Bolsa while wandering around Porto to find a place for dinner. I knew it would be a long shot to walk in and ask about availability for 5 days, but the young guys at the front desk were extremely gracious and took pity on us, showed us their last room available, and we immediately snapped it up at a very inexpensive price. Our room was decorated in a very chic and modern fashion, spotlessly clean, had a safe, two wardrobes, a flat screen tv, and TWO huge bathrooms- which was such a plus considering my mom and I were traveling together and take our sweet time getting ready! Our room looked out over the opposite riverbank as well, with the port houses and beautiful monastery perched on the hill. It was a joy to wake up and look out over the city every day or take in the sunset over the river, truly gorgeous! The location is spectacular, right by the Ribeira waterfront and several fabulous restaurants. Every single time we entered and exited the hotel the front desk staff was cheerful and wishing us a good day/night, it was wonderful. I really couldn't recommend this hotel more. I WILL be staying there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

Hotel Bolsa is located very close to the Ribeira and the Port-wine lodges in Vila de Gala. our room had a great view of the Ribeira but was very noisy at night due to the night scene however, the room is fairly soundproof and the AC helps to mask the noise. The bathroom was not planned well and not for two people at the same time. Breakfast food was great but the service was very lacking. We had to clear a table for use and many dishes were not refilled.

Room Tip: Get to the breakfast room earlier or expect not to find a table or any items to eat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My parents stayed at this hotel for 10 days while me and my wife stayed at her sisters house in Oporto. The room was an ordinary sized double room, very clean and with excellent air condition. The breakfast was included in the price and was were good. The hotel is situated in the very middle of the old town in Oporto near to all the must see things yet not noisy at all. My parents overall impression of the hotel is a big "we'll be back for more next year".

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Hotel was spotlessly clean and adequate sized bedrooms.Bath was tiny so used the shower over it.

The continental style breakfast which was included in the price was very good .

I cannot overstate how helpful and friendly the people on reception were.

The only down side was the noise, both from vehicles and late night revellers.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

We stopped over in Porto for a couple of days. The Hotel Bolsa was in a perfect central location. No frills, but excellent staff (very helpful) and parking place for 10€/day, which is close and convenient. Toilet quite small, and I couldn't get the Wi-Fi working (free), but that could as well been my fault. Anyway, there is a free internet point at the reception as well. definitely worth the money

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We tried to stay at the Douro Guest house B&B on our trip to Porto, but since it was full the wonderful owners referred us to the da Bolsa. They called them for us and got us 2 rooms for 100 Euros (breakfast included), which we found was a good deal for a hotel this well located. Parking was 10 Euros at the main parking of the historical district, where we were already parked anyways (beware, daily price of that parking is normally 35 Euros).

Upon arrival, the check-in went smoothly. Everything looked clean, and the staff was nice. Internet was available for free at the reception. I'm not aware if the wi-fi was free, since we had forgotten our computer back in Spain. The rooms were nice, large, and the view of the city was amazing. The breakfast was decent, with a good choice of fresh rolls and drinks. What we loved the most was the location, perfect to visit beautiful Porto on foot.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel da Bolsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel da Bolsa

Address: Rua Ferreira Borges 101, Porto 4050-253, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#26 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel da Bolsa 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel da Bolsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Bolsa Hotel
Da Bolsa Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel da Bolsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.