We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location BUT” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B&B Porto Centro to your Saves list
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Praca da Batalha no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Perfect location BUT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location is perfect. Room was clean and we were able to check in at 12... BUT
1. We had no view, our room were facing the wall of another building.
2. In the building next to hotel reconstruction is happening so the noise were disturbing starting from 8am finishing around 8pm.
3. Room has no safety box.
4. Hotel blocked money on my account before my arrival and upon arrival I paid again in reception. As I have debit card pre-authorisation appeared to be a charge. So I paid twice. Of course they unblock pre authorisation but it a long waiting time to get it back toy account.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Madam,

We much appreciate nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that you appreciated the location and the room cleanliness.

We understand the annoyance of the noise you felt in relation to works by the hotel but unfortunately we can not control it. Our Hotel is overbooked so we could not provide all guests rooms with best views. Regarding the safe, it is a budget hotel that is why some luxuries such as safe, are not covered by our policy.
We regret the delay in release of pre payment authorization and hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the Hotel B&B Évora, rated on TripAdvisor as one of the 25 most economical hotels in the country.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    445
    83
    11
    7
See reviews for
126
518
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bellville, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed here for just less than a week in June, and this hotel provided everything that I might need for my trip - a place to rest after many full days of walking around Porto. The room was clean, beds were nicely made, and bathroom tidy. If you are traveling on a budget, I would definitely recommend this hotel: it is close to the tourist area of Porto (only separated by a steep climb) and there is an path to get to the top of the bridge which has some wonderful views of the city.
The only reason I cannot give this hotel a 5 star rating is because of the noise in the room itself. As the room was along the back wall of the hotel, we could hear both the massive construction project from 8:00 am every morning next door along with a screaming family who could only be heard from the bathroom. Sometimes, as well, there were homeless beggars late at night standing in front of the hotel accosting people trying to enter the hotel. Nothing can be done about the noise, and I understand that, but the hotel should work on keeping its front door safe for its customers. The part of town it is in is hardly a bad one.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear J F,

We much appreciate the nice comments on your stay with us. We were very pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations with our philosophy: comfort at the best price!

There is nothing we can do about the construction works taking place on the building next to the hotel. Our only hope is that they end as soon as possible.

Regarding the homeless beggars in the neighbourhoo, we have met with the local authorities several times to solve this situation, but without success.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is well located for tourism, clean, and good value for its category. .Interior is modern minimalist. Reception staff were very good, spoke good english and were very willing to help. Downsides?
Some street people have taken up residence in the doorways of a neighbouring building which some may find offputting though they seem harmless and caused no bother when we were there.
Breakfast is adequate but self service with little space to manoevre.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room when booking you should get one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mariana R, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Hikerire,

We much appreciate the nice comments regarding your stay with us. We were very pleased to read how much you appreciated our facilities and location.

Regarding the homeless people in the neighbourhood, we are trying to solve this situation together with the local authorities, but without success so far.

We hope to have the pleasure of your visit very soon, here or in the historic center of Évora, also classified as World Heritage by UNESCO.

Best regards,
Hotel B&B Porto Centro**
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I stayed here for several nights on a business trip to Porto (my hosts arranged the hotel). It's a basic, clean, modern budget hotel. I slept well. The location was excellent - at the beginning of the major commercial/shopping street, a short walk from the train station (admittedly, uphill from station to hotel), a short walk to the funicular down to the river. Breakfast was simple, but the basics were all there. The front desk staff all seemed to be completely comfortable and fluent in English, Spanish, and French (in addition, of course, to Portuguese). Maybe Italian and German, too, I just didn't hear as much of those languages. They were extremely helpful.

From a business point of view, it had two limitations: The desk space was small and the chair was a basic plastic one -- fine for short sitting, but not so comfortable for long working periods. And I found the free Internet a bit wonky -- sometimes I got a good connection, other times I had to retry or move to a different location in the hotel. I had some trouble with international Skype connections. If I brought my family to Porto I would be glad to stay here again (and most of the other guests seems to be tourists), but if I'm here on business I might try some place else.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear PCST,

First of all, let me just thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay, especially for enhancing our location and our staff professionalism.
A practical accommodation, without luxuries but above all comfortable and economic, is what distinguishes us, and that might be what is expected in leisure or on business, as we daily find.
However, we are very sorry to learn that the wi-fi connection did not worked as it should.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This hotel was great, especially considering the price. The rooms are small but clean, with comfortable beds. The hotel is in a pretty good location in the center of the city, near one of the main shopping drags in Porto. The one downside is that the Bathroom was pretty bare bones. I was hoping for at least a hair dryer but there wasn't one in the room. The room gets a little stuffy after you shower since the room's pretty small, so we would try to leave the window open when we left to let the room air out a little bit. We were on a higher floor so this was an option, although I'm not sure if you could do this safely if you're on a lower floor (thus the 4/5 stars). The hotel front desk was pretty busy when we checked in and we had to wait for a bit, and the front desk wasn't all that helpful when it came to recommendations of questions, so I would suggest you know what you want to do beforehand or visit a tourist office in the city. In terms of a place to sleep, its great but not for much more than that.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Nina,

First of all, thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
B&B is clearly positioned at the budget segment as we provide a practical, cosy and comfortable stay, at affordable prices in an excellent location. So we give priority to what is strictly necessary (that's why we provide hair dryers on request).
However, comments like the ones you were so kind to post (e.g, regarding the helpfulness of our team), certainly motivate us to always try to do better.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to inform us of any inconveniences, so we can try and do our best to make your stay as pleasant as it should be.
Best regards
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Rochelle, France
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

the Hotel B&B Porto Centro, situated where once was the Movie Theatre “Águia D’ Ouro” is well located in the center of Porto. Close to shopping areas, restaurants, river DOURO, public transport .... Rooms are well soundproofed and bedding is comfortable.
Wi-Fi connection is available free of charge in every room and throughout the Hotel.
Private parking allows autotravellers to securely park overnight at 7 euros.
Breakfast buffet at 5,95€ is served from 7:30 to 10:30 am and offers a good selection of dishes.
One piece of advice : have some good walking shoes to discover the pleasures of this city !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear KrisGlo,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to learn that your stay with us was so positive.
The central location of the hotel, within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights, is indeed very good.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Like other reviewers I was a little concerned by the low price for this hotel. But we are the type of travelers who don't expect to spend a lot of time at our accommodations so have no need for the "amenities" offered by more upscale hotels. This hotel chain's "Econo-chic" concept fit our needs perfectly: a clean room, comfortable beds, good sound proofing (I have good hearing and would have thought we were the only guests in this full hotel), etc.

Another recent reviewer said "somewhat dreary..off beaten path", but I don't know where s/he got that! The hotel is decor is modern and the location can't be beat. The Sao Bento train (and North-South metro) station is a (long) block away, trams and buses literally pass by the front door, The funicular to the Ribiera is a couple of blocks away, an East-West metro station (which you can take to the Casa da Musica) is about 3 blocks away if you don't want to bother with transferring.

It's a 1 km walk to the Ribiera, from which you can cross the lower level of the Ponte Luis I to get to the port wine tours/tasting rooms on the other side of the river, about the same to get to the historic stock exchange building, or even shorter walk to the Se (cathedral). The Aviendia dos Aliados (600 meters) and surrounding area has many nice restaurants.

Actually, the location of this hotel was more important to me than the great value price.

The breakfast was serviceable but certainly not exciting. If you want to give up the convenience of eating in the hotel you could certainly find other cafes in the neighborhood for breakfast.

Room Tip: I expect most rooms are quite similar... if a view or little balcony matters to you then ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear BruceHz,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel and our "econochic" concept so much and that we succeeded in making your stay so pleasant.
The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B&B Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotels welcome you in the city center of Oporto at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.Despite its majestic facade which announces a luxurious and expensive hotel, this is a space based on the B&B econo-chic® concept where comfort and location are privileged, with the best price guaranteed. Services: Breakfast Buffet & Private ParkingWhether you travel on vacation or on business, B&B Hotels are an economically smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Hotel B&B Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B&B Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.