We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Porto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Moov Hotel Porto Centro to your Saves list
Moov Hotel Porto Centro
Praca da Batalha, no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Porto
St. Albert, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Porto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed in Porto for 3 nights in February of 2014. The hotel room is quite standard, large queen size comfortable bed, clean and quiet. The location is great, walking distance with luggage from the bus station, and walking distance to all the attractions that we enjoyed visiting.
The clerk at check in was excellent and very helpful providing a map and explaining points of interest to visit. Her recommendations were excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear GiseleS58

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such positive comments.
We couldn't agree more that the Hotel’s location is great. On this area, our guests are able to visit most of the places of interest that are at a walking distance.
We are particularly happy for your kind words about our useful staff's tips.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    503
    92
    13
    7
See reviews for
138
585
42
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

i'd booked this hotel based on the reviews here and I wasn't disappointed. We took the metro from the airport and from Sao Bento it's a five minute walk to the hotel. Reception area gives a great first impression, we had a bit of a wait at check in but was efficient enough. There are building works going on at the back of the hotel and as a light sleeper asked for a quiet room. We got a 4th floor room with a very small window.

Room was small, but it was perfectly adequate for what we wanted (sleeping) and well maintained. It had a small flatscreen TV, hanging space for clothes. Bathroom had shower with a huge rain head and wash gel included. I slept well on the bed, but the pillows were a bit flat and saggy.

There's a nice "lounge" mezzanine just above reception, with comfy sofas, TV and vending machine (and wifi) we watched the football here.

We didn't try the breakfast as there are tons of options in the area.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, it's a bargain. The location is great, you are right in the centre of things, it's clean, good value for money and no frills.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear Adieuwa,
Thank you very much for posting your detailed review on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy to learn that you did not get disappointed and that you enjoyed our facilities (the comfy lounge room, the main entrance). We are also very glad that you did understood that in these type of budget hotel, the room space must be optimized.
We also thank you for enhancing our location and our staff efficiency at check-in, our good eco-friendly showers and overall the good value for money you found while staying with us.
Nevertheless, we are sorry to learn the building works nearby prevented you from the perfect resting.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Great little hotel. Rooms were spacious enough, and very clean. The rain shower head was super great. Hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Great central location. Short walk from metro, and easy walk down the hill into old town, or across the bridge into the port houses. The bed was ok, and the pillow left a bit to be desired, but fairly typical for European hotels. We didn't do the breakfast as we could get cheaper and better breakfasts just around the corner (travellers cafe, I recommend). Would definitely stay here again. We you get a 4th floor room, you get a little balcony - no view but fresh air just the same.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Po2000,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We regret to hear that the pillow was not so enjoyable as the overall experience with us. We appreciate your comments on the hotel, especially for enhancing our "great affordable price", our central location and our staff professionalism, as well as the room and its rain shower.
The little balcony you've got is indeed very nice and relaxing after a journey discovering the best places in Porto.
We thank you for recommeding us to your friends, and look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future. Also invite you to know our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora .
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This hotel was a real find. It cost us 42 euro per night in March, 2014. Location is good and the hotel is a place that opened in 2011 after renovating an old theater building. Rooms are not big, but very well equiped, very nice, and everthing works perfectly. Our room was very quiet and wifi worked perfectly. Staff was nice and efficient. I reserved through the the hotel website which worked well. Porto is a great place to visit and very interesting and charming.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and they gave us one in the back. It was perfectly quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear orengonflower.

Thank you very much for posting your nice comments on TripAdvisor.
We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments on our guests' experiences.
We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed Oporto and our hotel and also thank you for enhancing the great price, great location, great room and a perfect functioning of the free wi-fi.
We do indeed love our city and recommend the visit!!
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

By far the best thing about this hotel is the location and, unless you're looking for luxury, it's worth staying here for that alone. All the main tourist attractions and a metro station are within walking distance.
The hotel itself is average. I'm the type of person who doesn't take advantage of many hotel services because I prefer to be out and about enjoying the city. A hotel to me is a place to put my head down and, with very comfortable beds, this place serves the purpose well.
Travelling with friends we booked a couple of twin rooms. Surely the two beds should be a few feet apart. If booking a twin room why would you want the beds stuck together? The bedside cabinets leave no room to seperate the beds so the only way to do it is to completely re-organise the room. I've always wondered why so many hotels set up a twin room in this way.
Other than a terrible view and a slight stain on the bed cover the room was comfortable. Not much storage space but the shower was superb. We didn't try the breakfast as there were so many other options in the area.
If visiting Porto again I would book this hotel for location alone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Paul G,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We do indeed agree that our hotel is very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
We regret to hear that you did not enjoyed so much the room and the city view from your room, and we are especially very sorry for the slight stain on the bed cover. We will take into consideration. Comments like the ones you made certainly motivate us to do better.
Also thank you for highlighting the super eco shower!
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora.
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Great stay overall. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The breakfast (not included approx. 6 euros) is really fresh and there is a lot of choices. There was no wifi problems. The room had plenty of space. The best part is the location and the price. It is near almost every attraction !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Moov Hotel Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Fredkass,
We are very glad you enjoyed our hotel so much and that we succeeded in making your stay so pleasant. Also thank your for enhancing our location, our staff professionalism and our fresh and complete breakfast for only 5,95.
We hope that you've enjoyed Oporto and look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or at our new hotel in the center of the UNESCO city of Évora .
Best regards,
Gisela Barros
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I booked the hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor, still the hotel came as a pleasant surprise.... for once, I found a room that was large enough to stretch out and do my yoga excercises . Many hotels have just about enough space for your bag and the bed !! Large spacious room, clean toilet, lots of plug points to charge all my gadgets- everything was just the way I liked it . Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, eager to help...No frills, but efficiently maintained and good central location. The internet worked perfectly and I felt very much at home staying here. Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moov Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moov Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha, no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal (Formerly Hotel B&B Porto Centro)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mythical Cinema Aguia D'Ouro opens doors to a new hotel experience in downtown Oporto. In the emblematic building built in 1839, you will now find a renewed, sophisticated and welcoming space where the spirit of cinema is still alive. With the recovery of the Art Deco facade Moov Hotel Porto Centro (downtown OPorto) restores the soul and spirit of cinema to the inspiring Invicta City with the presence of several visual references. In the heart of the city, the hotel is very well located, near several underground stations which are connected to the Francisco Sa Carneiro airport and by the main accesses to downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Moov Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moov Hotel Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.