We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, Clean & Inexpensive!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel B&B Porto Centro to your Saves list
Hotel B&B Porto Centro
Praca da Batalha no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Porto
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Basic, Clean & Inexpensive!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a very basic hotel. The rooms are very small, the television is tiny, the bathroom is very small also.

However it is all lovely and clean, fresh and well kept. The prices are extremely competitive and the upkeep of the hotel is second to none. The shower was a rainfall type with superb water pressure.

Lacking a minibar, no extra pillows and the bed was very soft, so bare that in mind if you have back problems.

The central location combined with price and clean rooms make it a great budget stay.

Try the little barbecue restaurant across the street if you are staying here, next to the Mercure Hotel, I have reviewed it also. It is fantastic.

Room Tip: All rooms are standard class and basic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear babsontour,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
Comments like the ones you were so kind to post certainly motivate us to always try to do better, although within the budget segment, where we are certain of offerering "a great place for a great price"!
We are particularly happy for your kind words about our location, cleanliness and budget!!
It's a wonderful combination for a city trip, isn't it?
We hope to be able to host you again soon, here or in Évora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

958 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    445
    83
    11
    7
See reviews for
126
517
40
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We recently stayed four night at Hotel B&B Porto based on reviews from trip advisor that price of the rooms. The location is great. It is a short walk from the E line metro station and convient to all of the tourist sights. The rooms are also clean with comfortable beds. My only complaint is the fact that the rooms do not have a hair dryer available. The front desk does have a few, but when I asked there were none available. I travel frequently and have never encountered a hotel that did not provide hair dryers. I also found the breakfast on the sparse side. Some type of egg would be great. Otherwise, a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Susan4226,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the hair dryer, I must agree that we actually do not display it inside our rooms but have some to borrow to our guests. Although it may be very useful, especially for long hairs, we decided not to included in our Essentials.
Also thank you for your observation concerning our breakfast.
Nevertheless, it seems that you understood our goal that is to provide a great place, at a central location, with free wi-fi, for a great price!
And we look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future, here or in Évora, the second Portuguese city, UNESCO heritage, where we will open a second property this Summer.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights at the Hotel B&B Porto Centro. This is a beautiful Art Deco building which formerly housed a theatre. Although it's only rated as a 2 star hotel, accommodations are a great value for the money. The rooms are clean and the decorations, minimalist. There is a lounge on the first floor; wifi is free. The hallways are quite dark, like a movie theatre; but, it's easy to find your room as each door is lit. There were two things which, if changed, would make the stay more enjoyable: the pillows and pillowcases were very uncomfortable. The pillowcases were of poor quality and had pilling. The parking garage was horrendous to get into, unless you drive a tiny car like a Smart car! We were in a Peugeot 308 and there was less than 6" of space on either side of the car as we drove in (and we had both mirrors turned in). The staff were quite friendly, however. The hotel is within walking distance to all the major attractions.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear SRQC,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We are very happy your stay with us was enjoyable and that our cinema theme was able to please you. The hotel is indeed very well situated right in the heart of the city centre, classified as World Heritage by the UNESCO and within walking distance from main monuments, restaurants, bars and shopping streets.
Nevertheless, we regret to hear that you had some difficulties with our parking garage and that you did not enjoyed our pillows.
We hope it won't prevent you from visiting us again soon, here in Porto or in Evora in our next hotel.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venezia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

I've had the chance to spend 3 days in Porto during a trip to Portugal with my boyfriend and we're glad we visited this amazing city and stayed in this hotel. We were looking for a clean, well located and basically cheap place and we don't regret our choice.
We came by train from Lisbon at the Sao Bento railway station, it was a short walk to the hotel, it is indeed, if not that we had 2 big suitcases and the way was very steep - maybe there's a shortcut to avoid the grind but we didn't know - so we recommend spending a few euro and take a cab.
We were given a warm welcome, our room was essential, cosy, but I regret having requested an higher floor when booking as if on the one hand we got a fourth floor (the building has also a fifth but it is in the rear), on the other it overlooked nothing, I mean, only if we overly leaned we kinda of imagined the square (Praça da Batalha) in front of us. We were behind the hotel façade, and maybe this is the only point against our experience there.
Pros: ideally located, breakfast was healthy and got plenty of choice, friendly staff that assisted us with directions and a cab reservation for 3 am on our last day, comfortable bed, free wi-fi, they brought us extra pillows and a hairdryer, great price.
Cons: on our first morning, there was a power outage, so we had no water and electricity for like 3 hours, the view from the room, the shower stall that you could not close so bathroom floor got wet after each shower, and one thing that is not due to the hotel: the area doesn't look safe after 8 pm, maybe it's because we visited in winter and weather was hostile.

I'd go back to this hotel, though. Thank you everyone for a really nice stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Bee1216,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
It is always very rewarding to receive such nice comments.
We are very happy to learn how much you enjoyed Oporto and your stay with us.
We are very sorry for the power outage and for the inconvenient that it may have caused you.
Please, next time you come to visit us, do not hesitate to email us in advance so that we can choose you a room view overlooking our nice garden.
And if you can come in Summer we are sure you will find the downtown area a whole lot more appealing.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon, here or in our next hotel in Evora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

You won't believe the curb view of this hotel. They restored a marvellous Art-Deco front of a building which housed a theatre. We found Portugal very conscious of preserving heritage architecture, although there are a good number of buildings waiting their turn. This front hides a modern hotel, opened in 2011. Very eco-friendly, right down to the dimly-lit corridors to your room. Everything you need for modest prices and impecably clean. We only stayed one night so can't speak for service. We didn't eat breakfast there as we enjoyed walking a few meters to a café in the square just outside but the location is great in the old part of the city. You can't miss with this hotel if you are looking for good accommodation, not luxurious, but with its own charm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Sheila C,
Thank you for your review. We are always very pleased to receive such positive comments.
You really seem to have understood our concept! We are also delighted to learn that you have appreciated our rehabilitation of the emblematic movie theatre.
We hope to be able to host you again soon, here or in our second hotel in Evora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Generally this hotel was quite good. The location was decent, though not quite as good as some of the other reviews implied - however, by no means a bad location. Just a bit farther than expected. The hallways leading to the rooms are VERY dark, which was a bit strange. The room was basically fine, though the TV was a bit comical (13"). The shower really needs a curtain or sliding door, as it makes a mess of the floor. The pillows were also quite small and only two for the whole double bed - easily fixed by asking the front desk for more, but it would have been better if they were already there. Finally, we had a power outage on our last morning, though I suspect that was the town and not the hotel's fault. The staff was quite good throughout our visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear MrFurious96,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.
We very much value our guests' contributions towards the improvement of our service. Comments like the ones you were so kind to post certainly motivate us to always try to do better.
We're sorry for the power failure which has in fact affected the hotel and surroundings.
We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you again soon, here or in Evora, a portuguese city that is classified by UNESCO, since 1986.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

A great job done in converting the old cinema in a central hotel. Easily reachable from the airport by metro...get down at Bolhao and walk right down Rua Santa Catarina...great staff on check in and check out...only minus plus is that around the square where the hotel is situated some down and outs who sleep outside...on the plus side good selection of chafes serving delicious Portugese cakes to die for

Room Tip: Buy the 3 day transport card ....it saves u lots of energy going up the steep hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisela B, Diretor de vendas at Hotel B&B Porto Centro, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear csant,
Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
We've appreciated your comments on the hotel, especially for enhancing our location, accessibility from the airport, and our staff professionalism.
Also we are particularly happy for your kind words about the rehabilitation of the movie theatre.
We look forward to seeing you again in a not too distant future, here or in Evora.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel B&B Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel B&B Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha no. 32/34, Porto 4000-101, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Hotels welcome you in the city center of Oporto at Hotel B&B Porto Centro.Despite its majestic facade which announces a luxurious and expensive hotel, this is a space based on the B&B econo-chic® concept where comfort and location are privileged, with the best price guaranteed. Services: Breakfast Buffet & Private ParkingWhether you travel on vacation or on business, B&B Hotels are an economically smart choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and T4B so you can book your Hotel B&B Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel B&B Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.