We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garden House Hostel Porto

Save Saved
You added Garden House Hostel Porto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Garden House Hostel Porto
Rua de Santa Catarina 501, Porto 4000-452, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

I loved this hostel: The location couldn't be better, the staff couldn't be nicer and the place couldn't be more comfy and clean. Wouldn't recommend anywhere else in Porto for a backpacker!

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    13
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
1
11
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano, Lombardia, Italy
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

the place is very nice clean and tidy, but the staff (maybe it's bad luck) wasn't nor friendly nor kind and failed to give me the wake up call for the plane. Lost the flight and had to buy another ticket. On top they started to treat me unrespectfully only repeating that it wasn't their responsability to wake up people and refusing to give me accomodation for the next night. Shame for the place is good, but friendly staff is priceless..

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Definitely a top choice for Porto in the hostel category. The staff are exceptional, and the beds are the most comfortable I've ever encountered in a hostel. The kitchen is well-stocked with cooking gear, and the common areas are comfortable, clean, and well-kept. They offer three computers with free internet access. The price in May for the 8-bed women's dorm - an incredible 13 euros.

The only shortcomings are that the showers and toilets are co-ed, and I prefer separate by gender; and noise travels here like mad, due to how the building is constructed. But the staff do a good job of keeping the quiet hours, midnight to 0800 hours. Thanks for a GREAT stay...see you next time I'm in Porto! ~ Nancy from San Francisco

Room Tip: If you have the choice, choose the 8-bed dorm over the 4-bed, as the room is gigantic and everyone h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We had a realy great time in Garden House Hostel. The staff is so helpful and nice, they even let us to have breakfast afterhours as we couldn´t wake up at time :))) A building is awesome, rooms are comfortable with really pacious lockers for your stuff. Moreover it is situated right in a center of the city and just few minutes walking from a metro station. I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Garden House Hostel Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden House Hostel Porto

Address: Rua de Santa Catarina 501, Porto 4000-452, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Garden House Hostel Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden House Hostel Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.