We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky and fun !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Hotel de Paris

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Grande Hotel de Paris to your Saves list
Grande Hotel de Paris
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua da Fabrica, 27-29, Porto 4050-247, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Goring by Sea, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Quirky and fun !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Just had a 3 night stay at this hotel in Porto. No reason to complain about anything. The room was comfortable and perfectly adequate although we never did figure out the plug in the wash basin !
It is very centrally situated although the road it is in does look a little like a back street. Very convenient for the Metro (2 minute walk from Aliados station) and for the town buses. Central station is about 5 minutes (max) and the river front about 10 minutes walk. The hotel itself is great fun with it's antiques and old decor. Breakfast was very good with plenty on offer. We would definitely recommend this to any one looking for a short stay.

Do try the open topped buses which we thought were excellent value for getting around to see the sights, especially with the river trip added in.
We also found a little restaurant a couple of streets away... "Tasquinha dos Sabores" which we
used 2 nights running. The service and ambience were super and the food was simple and
local and delicious.... highly recommended !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    243
    59
    26
    11
See reviews for
60
271
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We recently stayed here for three nights and found this to be a charming old hotel, with beautiful antiques on every landing and comfortable rooms, which although not huge, we're excellent value for the price paid. The staff were all extremely charming and helpful - reception always remembered your room no without being told! Location is great - very central within easy walking distance of everything. Would agree with other reviewers that it may be better to choose a rear facing room....we had a room at the front and although initially quite entertaining, the live band playing down the street until the early hours on Saturday night was quite noisy and could have kept you awake!
Highlight of the stay has to be the breakfast! Have rarely seem such a spread/choice in any hotel - absolutely superb! All in all a lovely place to stay in a very interesting city - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid street noise form local bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We arrived late in the evening, after a welcome check in we were taken to our room, a bit dated , but with good beds, nice bathroom and very clean.Next morning after the best breakfast we had during our trip to Portugal we had a look around the hotel, it is indeed a museum and a very nice one at that.
The staff at the front desk were very good, they remembered your roomnumber, so each time we came back the had our key ready.
Two very small items for improvement: for breakfast a glas of real orange juice would be welcome , not that diluted stuff.
And we couldn't get WiFi in our room.

I can certainly recommend this hotel to any-one who likes to be pampered and loves a bit of history

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back, the front can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bovey Tracey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

We loved staying here. We were lucky and got a room at the back, I think it would be worth paying the extra to guarantee this as I understand from other tourists we met that the front street (although looking quiet) can be noisy at night. There is really old lift that is a fun way to get to your room. Our room was delightful with a tiny balcony and a great view overlooking the Porto rooftops including a great view of the cathedral and the church tower. We were interested to see seagulls circling the floodlights in the City at night.
The staff were helpful and location perfect. Sao Bentao train station is 5 min away and the town hall even closer. Its a pleasant walk to either the waterfront or the bridge. The breakfast was ok. Seemed to be sunny delight instead of juice! And I found it hard here like other places to find good coffee with milk ( not uht). But there was enough to enjoy at breakfast that these minor points aren't significant. Nice you can sit in the garden too, Would completely recommend.

Room Tip: At the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

A stay at the Grand Hotel de Paris is an experience in itself. We enjoyed our three nights there very much, appreciating the ambience of the Belle Epoch and the magnificent breakfast each morning.

The location is very convenient for those arriving by air as you can catch either the Terravision shuttle (5 euro p.p one way) which drops you at Aliados just 200 metres from the hotel OR take the metro which, with one easy change at Trinidade, takes you to Aliados Metro also very near to the hotel. The metro is cheaper! There are elevators and lifts for people with suitcases.
We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel.

The Reception staff are very welcoming and made us feel at home. They were helpful when we had queries and their English was very good which always makes it easier for us monolinguals.

Our room was charming and comfortable. Wi Fi in the room was strong. Tv had several international channels. Beds were great. Everything was spotless.

Breakfast is served in a very beautiful room with a lovely garden if you wish to eat or relax outside in warmer weather
Excellent Value for money overall and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

One of those places where you weigh up the good with the average. Good: location, access to restaurants and attractions, good sized room, internet that worked, nice restaurant area for breakfast, pleasant staff, wine bar across the street. Not so Good: getting bags up stairs, lack of a bar area, outside noise (we were there on a weekend), no parking on site (and Porto is not an easy city to navigate).

Value for money? Yes, just remember this place wasn't built this century.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The lobby and ground floor are lovely, with beautiful period antiques. I love old style, authentic hotels. There is a tiny, nice bar. A beautiful garden is tucked away; a lovely place to sit and relax or have a cocktail. Location is good. But - our room was tiny, dark, and very dingy. Shabby bedspreads, and if you offer a television from 1960, you may as well take it out. Street noise wasn't too bad for us, but may bother some people. The breakfast was in a nice dining room, but everything was cold - even the things that are supposed to be hot. There were plenty of staff, but mostly seemed to stand at attention and look straight ahead rather than do anything. After so many lovely old properties in Portugal, this was a real let down.

Room Tip: Stay away from the first floor FOR SURE. The upper ones may be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grande Hotel de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel de Paris

Address: Rua da Fabrica, 27-29, Porto 4050-247, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#25 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel de Paris 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Porto. The charming Grande Hotel de Paris has a long and rich experience which has been preserved since 1877. In addition to being an historical witness, the Grande Hotel de Paris provides excellent comfort, ensuring a great quality-price-location value. The hotel is decorated with restored antiques and guests can relax in the garden or at the Bar, enjoy the multilingual Library or the Exhibition Hall. The front desk is open 24 hours, where Wi-Fi is free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grande Hotel de Paris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grande Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Hotel de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.