We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

PORTO DOURO CANAL BOAT HIRE

boat scheme
Porto
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
landcruis...
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“peaceful and relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Hired a boat for 5 days in May. if solitude and scenery are what you are after then this holiday is perfect. The boat base in Ferradosa is just lovely and 3 hours train trip from Oporto. The boat had room enough for two persons, but would struggle to fit more apart from 2 small kids in. However perfect for what we wanted. The scenery is just stunning and going through the locks on the river was a surprising highlight.
Apart from stop in Pinhao, would recommend taking your own food as the restaurants on the river are not up to much - vegetarians beware in Portugal! However, would recommend the very friendly Veladouro restaurant - good food but fab wine.Also take the tourbus into the Quinta dos Caravalhas estate - really good way to spend an afternoon.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ChrisFior...
Inverness
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a weeks holiday on board one of Jose’s Macgregor 26’ yacht and felt I had to give account of our experience.
I think the best way to do this is to give a moment by moment account of events.
We flew into Porto and got the train to Ferradosa. Very cheap and a very pleasant journey of about two and a half hours.
Jose meet us at the station and took us for a meal at the local village restaurant up in the hills.
The meal was very nice, and very good value for money.
On our return to the marina Jose suggested we stay in one of his Chalets until the morning when we could transfer to the boat in daylight.
The chalet was very nice and comfortable.
In the morning Jose came and took us back to the village to do some shopping in the supermarket.
We then transferred to the yacht and made our way east.
The scenery here is breathtakingly beautiful and the tranquillity bewitching.
We made our way to a berthing known locally as “fish soup bay” beside a railway bridge built by Eiffel.
Again a very beautiful spot, and only a short walk to a lovely restaurant where the lady proprietor laid on a superb evening meal with local wine for only 20 euros!!
Unfortunately in the late evening a recurrent medical condition decided to manifest itself and being short crewed I felt it would be better to head back to the marina and use the boat as a floating caravan.
On the way back we stopped for the evening at another berthing and had yet another excellent meal, and the following morning arrived back at Ferradosa.
I explained to Jose of my predicament and said that we were happy to use the yacht as a floating caravan, but Jose would hear nothing of this, and put use up in another of his excellent chalets, FREE OF CHARGE!
During the next few days my health deteriorated and I found myself in great pain, and was very grateful for the comforts of this lovely chalet.
Jose came back and took use to the supermarket, but not before taking us on a little side excursion trip to a local mountain top monastery with “out of this world” views to the east and west.
Alas all too soon the holiday was over and we made our way back to Porto to catch our flight back to the UK.
In summery what can I say about Jose’s wonderful marina, and his excellent boats?
In short we are booking-up to go back again in May
Chris Fiorentini.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ann o
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Far from the madding crowd, perfect for a family holiday.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We had a lovely relaxing stay in the chalet overlooking the water. The children adored it. It was a perfect family holiday far from the madding crowd It was wonderful to wake up to the peace and quiet and the stunning views each morning. The chalet upstairs was comfortable. Our favourite past time was sitting watching the world go by on
the river. Hope to visit soon again. Ann, John and family. Ireland

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the welcome and the views
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
ralph m
Buxton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Good boats , excellent hospitality and fabulous scenery.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We booked a boat, Macgregor 26, for 11 nights for cruising the Douro. Arrival by train from Oporto is easy and not expensive - around €70 return for the 4 of us. Jose arranged for us to take the boat equipped just with a motor downstream for 3 days ( almost to Regua) then return to base at Ferradosa and take the sailing boat ( also with motor ) upstream 70km to the Spanish border.
Ferradosa has no shops so Jose took us to the supermarket at the town on the hill.
Care was taken to make sure we had enough victuals for the trip as there are few opportunities to replenish food stocks - Pinhao being the best downstream and a small shop at Barco de Alva at the Spanish border.
There are just enough restaurants (tasty and good value) along the river to avoid the need to dine aboard but it is worth having a fall back plan if the day’s objective is not reached. Found some good places to tie up to a jetty overnight - always very quiet and we were normally the only inhabited boat. A few open day boats, and some large cruise ships, use the river but hours could pass and we saw nothing but grapes gently ripening on the terraced vineyards above us.
Sailing east with a following wind for 2 days brought us to the Spanish border where we stayed for 2 nights swimming and trying out the cafes. Campsite at Foz de Sabor provides ablution facilities, café, beach and water based entertainment. The westerly wind continued so we had to motor most of the way back to base.
The effect of the high temperatures in the afternoon can easily be cured with a swim - the water is generally free from algae. Twitchers will enjoy the eagles - we saw 3 pairs at close range one day, we were in their company for several hours as we ghosted east upstream.
Obstacles include a lock in each direction, Jose will book these in advance so this gives some structure to the trip , but they need to be paid for at €10/lock retrospectively. The only bridge that cannot be negotiated with the mast up is at Ferradosa so Jose takes care of that operation. Don't forget to have some cash for the gasoline at the end of the trip and take your evidence of competence. Try to fit in an excursion to the Coa Museum to learn about the rock carvings dating back 30,000 years. We finished off the holiday with 3 nights in Oporto but that is another story..........

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Relaxing and varied way to explore the Douro.
Liked least: Some jetties had few facilities , but all were free of charge.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words...

Cheers to the little english pirates!!!

Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mike W
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

we enjoyed the week on the river alberto was very nice and helpful
this may not be for everybody but experienced sailrs(river) would enjoy this it can be chalanging but overall really enjoyed it

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
StephenGS...
Newquay, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Douro River an Unforgettable Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from an amazing holiday on the Douro river Portugal.You will see the real Portugal.
Really looked after by Jose who carefully told us all the little things that make a holiday
great and took us to a wonderful local restaurant.
We also went in to lots of small family run restaurants only a few meters from our nights moorings.
Not far to stagger back to after sampling the local home made Port.
The portions in the restaurants were big enough for 2 yet really cheap 7/ 8 Euros.
The river was unbelievably beautiful, vineyards, mountains and narrow gorges.
If you love sailing and boating you will love the Douro river.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Unbelievable scenery
Liked least: river needs more places to moor up but still very good.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2012
Hi Spencer
Meet nice people like Gil you is the best part of my work

;)
Cheers
Jose
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pablo R
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Maravillosa estancia , en un marco incomparable, muy recomendable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

En un paraje increible,paseos en barco, estan muy bien los barcos que tienen para recorer el Douro y sus riberas, llenas de encanto, embarcaderos libres y buenos restaurantes, donde degustar buenos platos y a buen precio y si te gusta el senderismo , hay buenas y variadas rutas.Alberto te orientara sobre como y donde. Ideal para practicar , si eres un poco novato en navegacion, necesitas el PER para poder levar estos barcos..

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$146
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Jose T
351 938014068
Speaks English, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Italian, German
Listed since : Dec 2011
Response Rate: 65 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 78 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing