We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor's Port

Taylor's Port
Rua do Choupelo 250, Porto 4400-088 Vila Nova de Gaia, Portugal
351 22 374 2800
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 86 Activities in Porto
Type: Wineries, Food & Drink
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Taylor’s, accepted by most wine authorities to be the greatest of all port shippers, invites you to a pleasant and informative tour of its famous lodges at Vila Nova de Gaia. During the tour the visitor will be given the opportunity to learn about the fascinating history of Port wine, as well as that of the House of Taylor Fladgate making it one of the oldest Port companies.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities
Brighton UK
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to Taylors port lodge. At 3 euros each you get a very informative and enjoyable tour lasting about 30 mins and 3 reasonably sized glasses of decent port.
We visited on a nice sunny day so could enjoy the port in the lovely gardens with a distant view of the Douro.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    202
    32
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful place but be very careful about costs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We thought we were being very organised by pre-booking a private tour and port tasting of Taylors Port Cellars, the first stop for us on our honeymoon but we got a shock when the bill arrived.

The guide who showed us round was very knowledgable and the tour was great. The port tasting took place in a lovely reception room looking out onto the gardens, and as we'd told them it was our honeymoon weeks beforehand they did something a little different for us and provided us with chocolate pairing with the port. They also gave us a large chocolate with the word 'Love' iced onto it. We were really impressed and thought this was lovely of them to do, until we got the bill!! We can't believe that after being given the (very expensive, and not particularly tasty) chocolate along with the impression it was a gift, we then had to pay for it. Such a shame they ruined the experience.

They also outlined to us before we went how much the port tasting would cost, and when we came to pay we were told that they had decided to give us a more expensive port on the day and we would have to pay that price. They were very friendly about the whole thing just not very open and up front. Thank god they didn't open one of the really rare ports with us thinking we knew what we were paying for!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saintes, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We turned up and only had to wait half an hour for the tour in French. We sat in the lovely lounge bar watching the peacocks in the garden and had our first tasting.
The tour guide was very knowledgeable and answered a lot of questions. I was fascinated that the cuives had come from Bordeaux and had been matured with Bordeaux wine.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ONTARIO
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Very informative tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I don't know much about Port. Now I can say I know a bit more. We enjoyed the tour at the Taylor's Cellar in Gaia. 3 euros gives you the tour as well as Port tasting of 3 different Port at the end of the tour. The gentleman that did the tour was very well informed and made it very interesting. He was very patient with any questions. Worth the time to go and listen and see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“High Season Crowd, but no staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited Porto on a beautiful November weekend. According to our hotel rate, it was "shoulder season". Taylor's Port was our first stop for port tasting, and by far the worst. I have had their port in many other places, and it is good, but we didn't have the patience to get a good tasting here. When we got there, there were a few people and about three staff members. We paid for a tasting and waited for the port to arrive. The first glass came in about 10 minutes and was quickly poured with a very basic description. While we waited for that first port, a couple of groups arrived, but no more staff. We sat and watched the new people get tastings while we waited for our second sample. It seemed clear that groups get priority. It was a bit of a task to get their attention, but we asked the staff a couple of times about our next glass. We gave up after 30 minutes and I went to the cashier and told her that we would leave and make it easier for them, since they obviously did not have enough people or training to deal with the crowd. She was nice enough to refund the full tasting price. We were disappointed, but thankfully the rest of our tastings that day went well and in some of the places we had a virtually private tasting. Our advice – try the smaller ones off the beaten track. You can find Taylor’s almost anywhere.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taylor's Port also viewed

Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 
Vila Nova de Gaia, Porto District
 

Been to Taylor's Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor's Port, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.