We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and classy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camafeu

Camafeu
Praca Carlos Alberto, 83, Porto 4050-158, Portugal
+351 937 493 557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 918 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $30 - $37
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Eclectic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the first floor of a historical site in Porto's downtown, recently opened a small quiet restaurant, called Camafeu. Go back to the times where you had a meal at your grandparent's place, where the decor was romantic but eclectic and where you can indulge yourself on mouth-watering but not-pretentious food.At dinner time, you are invited to stay for a late drink and enjoy, through the big windows, the scenery of the square bellow (Praca Carlos Alberto, named after our late King). We invite you to try the tender Sirloin steak or the Duck with figg jam, or the Prawn porridge among other fabulous appetizers and main-courses. Everybody will love our home-made desserts. Don't forget to ask for the famous Portuguese wine from the Douro region, either it's Port, White or Red.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cosy and classy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The restaurant is very inconspicuous - you have to go through the front door and up some stairs before you come into a tea-room style dining area that could be a bit twee but just about escapes it. The atmosphere is hushed but relaxed, and the staff were all polite and helpful. I had an amazing salmon terrine with garlic bread to start, a monkfish stew with prawns and black rice, and a chocolate fondant with coconut and chilli ice cream (beware, this has some real heat). Innovative Portuguese food with a nice vibe.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Proprietário at Camafeu, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to make a review about our restaurant. We feel really pleased that you have enjoyed your time in Camafeu. It good to feel that we are making it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    85
    10
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

It's like being invited into your posh grandma's dining room for tea! Lovely setting in a dining room with a chandelier overlooking the square. Great food with an adventurous menu. I had octopus and my husband had veal fillet. All very tasty. We had 3 courses with a white port to start and a bottle of wine all for 75 euros. Great value and superb service. Will be back.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Woww delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We did a two week roadtrip in Portugal and have been to many places, but this was by far the best restaurant we have been to!! If you are looking for a nice and special but not too expensive restaurant this is the place to go! It is not easy to find but look for the blue door. Once inside you get the living room feeling with a unique touch. The food is excellent and of high quality. If this wasn't our last night we would definitely eat here again!

For starters we had the scallops and salmon tartar, it was just lovely!! As main course the duck and veal, it was really amazing! The chocolat fondant was delicious. We paid 65€ including a bottle of wine, a bottle of water and both an aperitive!

We had a lovely evening and would highly recommend this unique restaurant! Whenever you are in Porto you must visit this hidden gem!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

A very discreet little restaurant so you could easily walk past it. Tonight was our second visit to this restaurant during our holiday and we were not disappointed. The food was amazing yet again and the staff make you feel so welcome. My favourite is still the baked octopus. Totally delicious. Suggest you book a table in advance as limited tables. Hope you enjoy the experience as much as we did

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg,
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Truly a "hidden gem"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

So happy to have found this beautiful little boutique style restaurant on the second floor overlooking a pretty square below. The service was discreet and friendly and of course the food is excellent. ( Recommend the Portuguese cheese gratin with honey, and the pig cheek with favas and vanilla mashed potato.)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camafeu also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Camafeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camafeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.