We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting portugese in a nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camafeu

Camafeu
Praca Carlos Alberto, 83, Porto 4050-158, Portugal
+351 937 493 557
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 911 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $31 - $37
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Eclectic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: On the first floor of a historical site in Porto's downtown, recently opened a small quiet restaurant, called Camafeu. Go back to the times where you had a meal at your grandparent's place, where the decor was romantic but eclectic and where you can indulge yourself on mouth-watering but not-pretentious food.At dinner time, you are invited to stay for a late drink and enjoy, through the big windows, the scenery of the square bellow (Praca Carlos Alberto, named after our late King). We invite you to try the tender Sirloin steak or the Duck with figg jam, or the Prawn porridge among other fabulous appetizers and main-courses. Everybody will love our home-made desserts. Don't forget to ask for the famous Portuguese wine from the Douro region, either it's Port, White or Red.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
172 reviews 172 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Interesting portugese in a nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Attentive service, great wine and good food. Scallops with apple and marinated salmon starters both delcious. Pork with pineapple and chicken with a potato rosti both good though not outstanding. Think 2 Euros for a small bread roll is a bit steep though.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    84
    10
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very romantic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It was our last night in Porto, after spending the whole day at the beach in Matosinhos, we were eager for a good meal. It was almost 22h when we walked in Camafeu without a reservation. They were expecting a large group so we were told to wait in the small room whilst they got our table ready.

Within 15 min we had our table ready, and couldn't be more pleased with the romantic atmosphere, the décor, low lights and windows open to the lovely plaza outside. We had the bread and butters for starter; it was as simple and good as food goes, but it would have been perfect to have had a bread selection instead of just one bread roll for each. For the main meal I had the Cod with the chickpea purée, a reinvention of one of the most traditional portuguese dishes, it was delicious. My partner was also very happy with the Chicken with 'alheira' and reduced Port. We took our time enjoying the meal and a good bottle of wine and step outside to the balcony a couple of times to enjoy the night breeze. We shared a tangerine sorbet for dessert, which was very refreshing and welcomed after the big meal.

There was only one waitress, who was lovely, but even though the dining room is small, having a large group as they had at the time, did mean we had to wait for a few minutes to get her attention at times.

We left after midnight, very full and satisfied. It was our last and best meal in Porto.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good quality for money, very good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I spent last night at the Camafeu and we liked it. We arrived at 7.30pm and we were surprised to see the door closed. We should have booked at 9pm, because there was only one other couple with us in the restaurant the whole dinner. The waitress was very helpful and smiling. We had scallops and stuffed mushrooms as a starter and curry prawns and salmon as a main course. The food was good, the salmon was a bit too salty unfortunately. We were a bit disappointed we could not drink wine or Spumante by the glass, so we ended up drinking a whole Spumante bottle. That was a shame. The music in the restaurant was a bit loud and very eclectic: from French chansonnier Brassens to heavy metal. I didn't mind but maybe a more neutral choice would be wiser.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best meal in Porto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Our group of 6 visited Camafeu on a Saturday evening in June 2012. It was generally agreed that this was the best meal we had in Porto.....and we had several (next best was Ode Porto Wine House). Choice is a bit limited but still more than adequate. Wine list was again a bit limited but the quality on offer and the price were both very attractive. All in all it worked out about £50 per couple including 3 courses of high quality wine and 3 bottles of wine, all excellent.

Service also great and nice views of the square from the dining room.

In my view this is a great place to eat in Porto and by far the best value for quality food and wine....expect to pay double at the other, more 'well known' places.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wonderful staff made eating at this restaurantq a delight. The food was also delicious and the cozy nature of the setting reminded me of restaurants in New York or DC where you feel like you are eating in someone's home. Great for couples especially!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anitasimoes, Proprietário at Camafeu, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi,

We work each day so that our customers feel exactly like you state in your review.

We hope you can visit us again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Camafeu also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Camafeu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camafeu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.