We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth paying for the room upgrade...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Porto Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Porto Hotel to your Saves list
Pestana Porto Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca da Ribeira 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worth paying for the room upgrade...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

I originally booked a standard room, but was offered a river view room for an additional 30 euro per night. It was well worth the price for the gorgeous view and the light from three sets of French doors. The staff was attentive and welcomed us with a glass of port on arrival. They were also very helpful throughout the stay. Overall, the hotel is very good, though the breakfast could definitely be better.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that in general you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    277
    68
    20
    5
See reviews for
98
443
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The positives: warm welcome, with friendly helpful staff, and a drink to start off a good visit. Room on third floor, with stunning view of Luiz 1 bridge, the Douro, and right at the heart of the old city.
Good breakfast and pleasant bedroom. Impeccable staff service throughout our 3 night stay.
Some room for improvement? Two single beds rather than a double; inadequate toiletries. Would stay here again if visiting Porto.

Room Tip: Overlooking Douro, and the bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed three nights at the start of the month. It is in a super location at the centre of the old town so very convenient for the historical sights. It is also next to the weekend market and where there are lots of cafés and bars so expect to hear a bit of the hubbub that this creates.

For a chain hotel we were pleasantly surprised when there was a knock on the door with a welcome drink - a really nice touch that other hotels can learn from.

The room was compact but perfectly ok. Breakfast was also good.

There is a lot of regeneration happening in this part of Porto so there is some building noise around the hotel. Not a disaster but don't expect a long lie in!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your positive feedback about your experience at the Hotel and that you found our services to be good.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We regretted big-time staying at this hotel. Thank goodness, it was only for one night. The room has barely any amenities. Toiletries were minimum and we were given only 2 towels. There was no kettle to boil water which inconvenienced us terribly. When I return to Porto the next time, I will certainly avoid this hotel. There are plenty of other wise choices.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We are very disappointed that your stay did not match the expectations.
Once again, thank you for bringing this matter to our attention.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
537 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Cannot fault the Pestana Porto!
First of all, you could not get a better position, right on the riverbank. Step outside the door and you are in the midst of all the colour (and smells) of the Douro with dozens of cafes and bars (as well as souvenir sellers and beggars) seeking your attention. Step back inside and you have the peace and refinement of a first rate hotel.
We had a lovely room with a front balcony overlooking the river and the wineries on the far bank. Our room was a good size, very comfortable and very clean. The breakfast was excellent! A hot buffet and a good choice of cereals, cold meats, fruits etc. The staff were very helpful, dropping whatever else they were doing to attend to guests questions.
The Ribeira is full of history and contradiction. Narrow & winding streets take you to 300 year old churches and wonderful old buildings; some uninhabitable - others completely restored to their original beauty. And... street cafes every few metres where you´ll get a cold drink and a decent meal for 20 Euros.
One final thing: On arrival at the Pestana we were presented with a welcome (and refreshing) glass of chilled wine. These are the little éxtras´ that set some hotels apart.

Room Tip: You must have a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure welcoming you at the Pestana Porto Hotel and we are very pleased to learn that you found the Hotel and services to be good. We are also very satisfied with the fact that all the standards and processes during your stay were well conducted. Your positive feedback is most valuable for the continuation and improvement of our services.

We do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you want to be on the river in the center of Porto, there isn't a better location. Our room was fine. It had a nice view of the river. My only complaint about the room was that there was construction right next door. But the workers started work late - I think it was about 9 - and finished early, so that wasn't really a bother. My main complaint about the hotel was that we had reserved and pre-paid for a superior double river view room on February 19 and when we arrived on June 1 for a two night stay, the people at the hotel tried to give us a room that faced the front of the hotel (the street) with a window on the side where you could see the river around the corner. They did move us when I complained, but this shouldn't have occurred in the first place.

Room Tip: The superior double river view rooms are worth the extra money (but make sure you one if you paid fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your comments about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel. We are very pleased to receive your feedback and we thank you for bringing some aspects to our attention.
We hope that we will soon have the privilege to welcome you again.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel is clean and the staff very pleasant, but when we arrived it was located down a pedestrian street so had to park in a bus stop while one of us ran down to ask about parking. Would have been helpful if the information was provided in the booking.
Sadly the breakfast is in line with the US cheap hotels (think la Quinta). Every other location through out Portugal had lovely breakfasts so very disappointed with canned food.
The beds were incredibly hard, not standard European hard, more like sleeping on the floor.
Location overall was handy to the main tourist sites and easy location to great restaurants (not the waterfront ones).

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_PestanaPorto, Gerente at Pestana Porto Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your feedback about your stay at the Pestana Porto Hotel.
We are very disappointed to know that some aspects during your stay did meet the expectations

We do hope to have the privilege of welcoming you in a near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pestana Porto Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Porto Hotel

Address: Praca da Ribeira 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Porto Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Porto Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Porto Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.