We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small room good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grande Hotel Do Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grande Hotel Do Porto to your Saves list
Grande Hotel Do Porto
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #22 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Small room good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This hotel is in a good (not great) location relative to the tourist areas, but is close to transit and some of the attractions. It has great old and high ceilinged public spaces, but my room was so small that it was tight even for one person. Had I wanted to put down a yoga mat, there would not have been the floor space for it. Service at the hotel was great, though, and the breakfast was served in a beautiful sunny room. The room I stayed in was quiet and comfortable except for its size. I think I may have overpaid through a website "combo" air-hotel deal. Other friends who stayed here had better accommodations and paid less.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    345
    130
    30
    10
See reviews for
148
337
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Argentan, France
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We book a room for two nights at Grand Hotel Porto. (July 16th and July 17th).
We were three adults.
When check in the woman in charge of the check in was very rigid without nice behaviour.
She forgot that we were customers.
She gave us a room on the basement. These rooms should be closed and not able to be sold !
She gave a new room Number 100. This room has a very hugly view and very noisy.
The room of the breakfast is very noisy and seems like a factory and not like a restaurant.
The staff in charge to removing the dirty paltes did this job in front od the customers who were having their breakfast.
The staff at the front desk (a man with white hair and glasses) was not nice and we asked some information he answered not friendly and not kindly at all.
If it is possible to avoid this hotel please do it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel is on an excellent central street with many options for eating and sightseeing, felt very safe. Basic, clean room, new bathroom, the room at the back was quiet for sleeping. Excellent breakfast in a large French decor room. Very polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great hotel in a very good location. Straight from the airport you can get on the metro and its 5mins walk from Bolhao station. From the hotel you can walk to anywhere, bars, restaurants and attractions all just a few minutes walk.

The hotel is very central and you can even walk during late nights safely, although is a busy shopping road during the night is very quiet and peacefull.

The breakfast is good and can be enjoyed in a beautiful area as the rest of the hotel.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and was always ready to help.

I highly recommend this hotel to anybody travelling to Porto and I will definitely go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Fabulous hotel. The reception, restaurant, bar, quiet areas are all very grande and immaculate. The bedrooms are small and very basic but superbly clean and quite considering that this hotel is in the heart of Porto itself and on one of the main shopping streets. Very convenient for the metro, buses and trams. We found every member of staff helpful and attentive. They all spoke excellent English. We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first night as we arrived pretty late. It was so good that we ate their every night. The evening menu is not vast but has plenty to choose from (including those who are vegetarian) The cuisine is similar to ' Nouveau Cuisine' but don't let this put you off. We were absolutely full after every meal and they were very tasty. The restaurant manager and his staff were very attentive and helpful and also would try and cook you something else if you did not like the menus. The cost was unbelievably good value for money and a bottle of house red at dinner was only 6 euros. An average three course meal with wine and coffee for two people was about £35. If i had one minor negative comment it would be that there is a smoking room opposite the bar and that on one occasion there were a few smokers in there and the smoke did drift into the bar a little. That said we could have moved to another area or lounge and the staff would have served us there. The buffet breakfast certainly filled you up for the day and if you wanted lunch then there is a buffet lunch that is pretty awesome. All in all a perfect hotel for a city break and won't break the bank.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were pleased to stay some nights in this hotel. It's in the middle of the downtown, it's very convenient (near the metro station) and very quiet. The room was small but extremely clean and cosy. The breakfast was served in a big and spacious elegant room.
Positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Enjoyed a recent one-week stay at this hotel. The staff were enormously helpful in accommodating a last minute change in room arrangements during a very busy time, in calling for taxis, etc. Rooms were comfortable and clean, breakfast was good--all in all a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Grande Hotel Do Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grande Hotel Do Porto

Address: Rua Santa Catarina 197, Porto 4000-450, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Porto
#17 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grande Hotel Do Porto 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grande Hotel Do Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Grande Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grande Hotel Do Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.