We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in Porto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo de Santa Catarina

Save Saved
You added Castelo de Santa Catarina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castelo de Santa Catarina
R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“A Haven in Porto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

A most unusual hotel just off the centre of Porto. Easy access to town walking downhill and metro - 100 metres from the hotel (or taxi - not expensive) back.
Set in large gardens with plenty of outside seating, this hotel makes a great base from which to explore Porto. Added to this, there is free on-site parking and a good buffet breakfast served in the old, oak lined dining room. There is also a private chapel on site which the charming owner kindly showed us.
We received a warm welcome at reception and thankfully our two bags were taken up (up being the operative word) to our room in the tower on level 3. A word to those less fit - ask for a garden room if you are unable to climb the stairs - we counted 60 up to our Room 132 which is in the main tower. We understand from a talk with the owner that although they would like to install a lift, this is impossible as the building is 'listed' so they are restricted with changes they are able to make. It did not detract from the charm of the room - slightly on the small side but clean and perfectly comfortable. A large bathroom with the original metal window frames, toiletries and a good hair dryer - all add to the uniqueness of this hotel.
As described, the breakfast is good, with an array of fresh fruit, juice, cereals, scrambled eggs and ham, cheese, sliced tomato etc. An extensive selection of breads, pastries and decent coffee will set you up for the day.
We really liked this hotel and would recommend it highly. We enjoyed Porto immensely and will return and definitely stay here. It's certainly different and a bargain.

Room Tip: The owner told us that he is planning to upgrade the garden rooms as they are a little 'tired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    90
    27
    14
    5
See reviews for
37
172
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

this was built by a brazilian millionaire at the turn of the 19th century the furnishings will show he spared nothing, he didnt live in it, it was built for his friends to party in it has lovely gardens for a hotel near the center of porto its a 10 minuite walk to the main shopping street in porto but 15 mins back as its uphill, staff are great , breakfast very good, no lifts though, good parking off the street we ha d a royal suite both rooms having huge chandaleirs and elaborate furniture .

Room Tip: spend a little extra for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. The staff was very helpful upon arrival. We stayed in the tower which had a wonderful view and our room was very regal. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Marques station and it was an easy trip to the city center. There are lots of steps, but keep in mind you are in a castle, and they do have rooms on the ground floor. Again, we were in the grand suite and had 4 tough flights up, but totally worth it. The shower alone was incredible.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We recently spent 10 days in this beautiful hotel and experienced a place that gives individual attention and very high standards. The staff were all friendly and very knowledgable and spoke excellent English. This coupled with the back drop of a unique building and beautiful garden made our holiday a very pleasant experience. We stayed in the garden room, which contrary to other reviews was warm, comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was filling and good. The main shopping centre was a twenty minute walk away, but a metro station is barely 5 minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel was one the high lights of our 40th anniversary trip. We booked in advance after reading the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. We reserved a room in the tower and it was excellent. This hotel has loads of ambiance, the floors, wood work, furnishings take you back to the nineteenth century but with all the luxury of the 21st century. Our room in the tower had only a full size bed but it had a new mattress and box spring. The bathroom was all new and in excellent condition. We had a beautiful view from our 3 floor window. The only word of caution we have is - as this a very old building they do not have a lift or elevator and if you don't like stairs staying in the tower could be a challenge. The stairs did not bother us even with our large luggage.

The staff at Castelo de Santa Catarina was excellent. They provided us with excellent directions for touring and seeing the sights in Porto. We purchased our tickets for the "Red Tour Bus" at the hotel and we highly recommend the tour. The hotel is located at the top of the hill and street Santa Catarina. If you like to walk, and we do, you can easily access the Old City, main shopping area from this hotel. Note the continental breakfast was excellent. Again the staff was excellent. Stay in the tower if you can. We will stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

a quirky and charming 'folly' with great gardens. Only problem is the fornt stairs are difficult to navigate with heavy bags. We had help inside to carry the bags to the third floor, but not to get into the garden in the first place. Staff were helpful and breakfast was wonderful.

Room Tip: ask for fisrt floor in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights at Castelo mid-february. We had a great time, even if the off-season might of helped, we had, for 140 euros breakfast included, a great n massive room in the middle of the gardens, so no neighbors ! The context, style and nature of the place made us forget we were in a city(and a little bit in a museum), beautiful pictures came out of it along with beautiful memories. We walked 15min to the center and the staff were really hepfull with directions and with everything else. All in all, we felt very welcomed and had a great time. Highly recomended !

Room Tip: Try to get these unique rooms in the middle of the gardens, they are huge n have no neighbors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Porto
#11 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#17 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo de Santa Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.