We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living like a king” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo de Santa Catarina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castelo de Santa Catarina to your Saves list
Castelo de Santa Catarina
R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Holmestrand, Norway
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Living like a king”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This hotel is very beautiful both inside and outside in the garden. The location was a little out of the centre of the city, but absolutely within walking distance. The room was very beautiful and looked like we were in the 18th century. The service was excellent and so was the breakfast. The staff was very helpful with guiding us to an excellent restaurant for dinner in the evening, and it was really cheap to take a taxi back to the hotel from down town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    103
    30
    16
    5
See reviews for
40
189
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mexico city
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

we booked overnight for one night. The price was very good and the hotel really great!
the staff was super helpful and nice. we had a double room on the 3rd floor of the castle... what a view!!! the room was amazing! like a trip back in time. the bathroom was super charming.
everything was super clean and in excellent state.
the neighborhood is ok. not super nice, but we came back from dinner around 1am and no problem at all, the only thing is that is a bit of a walk coming from the port as it is all they way uphill hahaha but it is all worth it to be welcomed by the beautiful garden and then super cool room
I hope we go back to Porto soon and stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Wonderful hotel with delightful atmosphere. It was like stepping back in time, quiet and peaceful but within walking distance on the port. Free parking too, which was why we originally chose it but it surpassed our expectations with its gentle elegance and friendly, helpful staff.

Room Tip: The Royal suite is lovely - chandeliers and dressing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This will rate as One of the best hotels that we have stayed in. The hotel has restored its original features including an amazing breakfast room. It is set in its own gardens with plenty of shaded areas with stunning views of the city of Porto. Even in early July we always found plenty of private space to relax outside in the deckchairs. All the staff were very helpful. The breakfast was really good and there was always a good choice of fresh fruit available. We stayed in the top floor suite which had original furniture but with a very modern bathroom. As stated in other reviews there are a lot of steps, in a confined space, to walk up and down to this room but we had no problem. Marques metro is about a 3 mins uphill walk from the hotel and the centre of the City is about a 15 mins walk downhill. Also from outside Marques Metro you can catch bus 203 to Castelo de Queijo and the start of the boardwalk alongside the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Timis, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Everything was great at this location; starting with the staff (young, very helpful and friendly) and continuing with the free parking, amazing breakfast room, location of the hotel (really close to the center and situated not exactly close to the traffic) and the breathtaking design of the hotel. The building is in fact a small castle, 130 years old. The owners preserved it as it was in the past. My only comment: our room was really small but we observed that the others were ok.Maybe this is why we payed less..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

An interesting hotel with plenty of history and character, the young men on reception when we arrived were very helpful.. A little bit of a walk down to the river but taxis are cheap.The rooms in the actual old part are nicer with amazing views.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, NZ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We liked this place. Had the top floor room with chandeliers, and 84 stairs to reach it.
The gardens and furniture and decorations are a constant enjoyment, and the views excellent.

Staff are great, and the walk to town enjoyable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Porto
#13 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#19 Family Hotel in Porto
#23 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo de Santa Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.