We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An eclectic treat .......” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castelo de Santa Catarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Castelo de Santa Catarina to your Saves list
Castelo de Santa Catarina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An eclectic treat .......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Easy to find with satnav, but a bit of a walk down into town. An architectural oddity, and old fashioned furnishings/decor. We stayed in a tower room....great view, not for those who don't like heights or cannot do steep stairs (no lift). Probably not great for children unless using one of the outside chalet rooms. Clean, a Victorian era bathroom made for the quirky style.
Breakfast good, plenty of choice. Outside, some gardens and plenty of secure parking as the area of town looks a bit scruffy (as does much of Porto these days).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    114
    32
    16
    5
See reviews for
43
200
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

A unique place, probably unknown to most locals (as myself!) I went there attracted by the idea of having a hidden castle inside my own city. The place has indeed its charm. Of course there is no luxury, but the price is a suitable one. I recommend it - even if you live in Porto and want to find something new - although it's been there for ages!!!

Room Tip: Try to get the one on the top! Alternatively, the large 2 bedroom suite on the garden is also nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel was located on one of the main streets but far from the crowd.We found the Hotel very easyly by car and parking on the grounds of Hotel was safe.Staff was friendly and helpfull. We stayed in Castello room. Although not easy to climb, the view was worth it.The room was clean and timely decorated.Bathroom was comfortable.The tiles,chandeliers,furniture,garden all were great....Breakfast room was so beautifull....Also the breakfast. We walked to the old town and Riberia and came back by taxi and paid 5 euro. We thoroughly enjoyed with our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Difficult to find, but a great location for a visit to Porto. An easy walk down into the town (and easy taxi ride back!). Very helpful staff, wonderful breakfast buffet, clean fully appointed rooms, easy parking space. The building, rooms, and garden are all fascinating and unique, furnished with antiques, sculptures, and Portuguese blue tile on the exterior. We had the family suite which worked very well for us. It felt as though we were whisked via a time machine to experience this unique mansion. And yet, well maintained while preserving the old-world feel (but having wifi as well!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

the hotel located in Porto not far from the historic center (15-20 minutes walking ) in enchanting building built as old castle decorated in a blue Portuguese ajolejosh. on the main building were we stay there are 7 rooms in different sizes. around the well kept garden they have more new rooms. The lobby and main dining room, full with antique pieces of furnitures lamps and pictures. coffee and fresh juice on the garden .good breakfast.
free parking and free internet.
.

Room Tip: garden room are new and most of them larger. in main building every room is different
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great location to hop around the town, my parents and I were staying for 1 night. Direction instruction to the place was clear, make easier by recognising the torre. It is a boutique hotel, unique, friendly staff, and we were given the family suite beside the reception. Clean, spacious, timely decorated and retained the old design. The garden is a gem, get immersed in its beauty and well-kept items. It probably functioned as a mansion for once-rich patron and owner. Breakfast room is in the main dining hall of the old mansion, a pleasure to dine in, buffet style. Wifi only worked properly during the daytime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I understand when I go to Europe that I have to put up with cigarette smoke. But what was unbearable about my room was it was on the ground floor right next to reception. Everyone smoked at that exact spot and since there is no ac you have to have the windows open. I am very sensitive to it and had to constantly close and reopen the windows all night long. The room besides that was great. Furniture was cool and the tiles unique. Great service. Good location for me as it had parking and was north Porto so I didn't have to drive into Porto very far. Parked the car the whole time we were in Porto. I would highly recommend this hotel. By if you are sensitive or allergic to cigarette smoke make sure you have a room away from the front desk.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castelo de Santa Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelo de Santa Catarina

Address: R. Santa Catarina 1347, Porto 4000-457, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#16 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Castelo de Santa Catarina 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Castelo de Santa Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelo De Santa Catarina Hotel Porto
Castelo De Santa Catarina Porto
Castelo Santa Catarina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castelo de Santa Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.