We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Style Hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Infante Sagres to your Saves list
Hotel Infante Sagres
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 98 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Classic Style Hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 3 nights here in June - the staff were very helpful on reception and advise us of the various city tour options there were to make the most of our stay. The bedroom was very spacious and clean with a lovely en-suite bathroom (with bath). The breakfasts were first class as was the meal we had on our first night in the restaurant.

We had no bad things to say about our stay. We hope the gift of my hat which I left behind has found a useful home. If we come again to Porto we will stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjamesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Chestertown, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Drove from Condeixa to Porto earlier than planned and arrived without a hotel reservation. We parked the car in the Ribeira section of town. We were blown away by the scenic beauty and meandered along the waterfront for a few hours. We decided to go "midtown" and visit Livraria Lello and Irmao, in English, the Lello Bookshop. At checkout, I asked the owner for hotel suggestions. On his business card, he wrote out the hotel Infante Sagres, situated a few short blocks away. It was a great recommendation. Despite looking a touch dour on the outside, upon entering, the place came alive. The staff was attentive, professional and courteous. We discussed room availability in English, a great surprise, and took a room at a great price for the location we desired. Having left my car in a garage on the waterfront, hotel staff arranged for a taxi to take me down and remain so I could follow him back to the hotel without getting lost. Being there less than 24 hours, all time counts. The rooms were on the small side but neat, clean and classically designed. We had a minor problem with cranking up the AC but cool weather outside neutralized the issue. While we had dinner and watched the USA-Belgium elsewhere, we came back to the hotel for the second half. The bartender rearranged chairs for about 20 fans and took orders. The hospitality was genuine. In the morning, we are breakfast in one of the most elegant dining rooms to be found and the selection was broad and the quality high. The three story stained glass window flanked our stairway so as went to and fro our hotel, we saw this colorful creation in splendid stages of color and brightness. We had a too short a stay in Porto but would return in a heartbeat. I would suggest this place to friends as well. Not perfect but close enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

A place worth spending a couple of days on! Located conveniently in Porto, close to everything! A fantastic atmosphere, with a stunning breakfast hall! Friendly and helpful personnel! Rooms comfortable and well kept!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG_GT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This five star hotel was amazing value for a far too shorter trip to Porto. You definitely need at least 3 nights to fully appreciate this stunning city.

The hotel was ideally situated for the metro Aliados less than 100 metres away, making it easy to access the airport. Also for lovers of the usual city bus tour, all tour buses stopped across the road from the hotel.

The hotel from the outside may easily fool you into thinking it is a 60's office block, but step inside and be prepared to be be blown away by the brilliant decor. I haven't added photos as they would be just the same as everyone else who had loaded their own. The photos do not lie. All furnishings are of a high standard.

Staff couldn't do enough to help you with directions to all the sights. Must dos are the Yellow Bus tour if only to get your orientation, a 48 hour ticket for 22 euros includes a port wine tasting experience and a 50 minute trip along the Rio Douro under the six bridges. I can't recommend this enough. Also if you appreciate contemporary art then a must visit is Serralves, easily accessed by bus 201 across the road, plus your yellow bus tour ticket is valid on all buses.

Breakfast was adequate with a good range of hot and cold varieties to suit all palates.

Several good restaurants locally, or plenty to choose from along the river front.

I can't wait to return to Porto for longer next time and shall return to the Hotel Infante Sagres

Room Tip: Although some reviewers have said about it being noisy we were there the night before a national hol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DKNIGHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shefford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had a short (48 hour) break in Porto and this hotel was perfect. About 100 metres from a metro station, so easy to reach from the airport. The room was beautiful, well equipped with a spacious bathroom. Everything was spotless. Breakfast was good, with a range of hot and cold foods. Staff were friendly and attentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This 5 star hotel situated in the historical centre close to all the important sites. Old-fashioned but still charming and full of atmosphere. Our 'room' was a luxury suite on the 5th floor overlooking the square, a large quiet spacious suite made us feel like millionaires ! Staff were all charming and helpful. A welcoming glass of port set the theme for a wonderful stay. Breakfast was sumptious, really good.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade on the top floor !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangiandObene406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed there for 2 nights recently. The foyer of the hotel is really pretty, cosey and very dramatic. We had a suite and it was a dramatic blend of old and new. The bed is very comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant which was reasonable and the tastiest food I have had on my trip.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariaannful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
2.0 mi away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#14 of 98 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 mi away
Pestana Porto Hotel
Pestana Porto Hotel
#11 of 98 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,031 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#11 Business Hotel in Porto
#23 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing