We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Infante Sagres to your Saves list
Hotel Infante Sagres
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 96 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stay five nights,excellent location,excellent design inside,gut value for money.
The staff was very helfull.Drink a porto at patio and enjoy your stay.
The room was ok.,but not so clean.

....................................................................................

Room Tip: if you smoke than choose the fifth floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    229
    88
    23
    14
See reviews for
82
285
17
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers that the hotel is probably not 5 stars but it is definitely worth 4 and maybe a bit more.

The personnel where pleasant, helpful and it is indeed perfectly located. The service was correct. We had to ask for more towels once because the maid had, apparently, not understood that we where three people in one of the rooms but apart from that everything was very good.

The restaurant that we went to on the recommendation from the hotel staff was excellent.

We staid 7 nights and it was a enjoyable experience. The location is of course a huge plus. There was some nice from the street but nothing that stopped us from sleeping well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. A highlight is the very classy and noble interior (e.g. the candelabra) and the beautiful dinning room. A wonderful ambiance!
The breakfast is delicious and has a fine selection.
The central location of this hotel is perfect for a city trip. Also a lot of bars and restaurants are very close and easily to reach.

We would return at any time again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of everything, but the staff takes care of you from the first moment you check in, and treat you warmly yet professionally. The amenities were great, the decor inviting, but the staff is what makes this place special.
For you "foodies" out there, this hotel is located across the street from several excellent and friendly restaurants serving fantastic traditional Portuguese dishes.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with windows facing the courtyard. It was very pleasant and quiet. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On arrival we found that our booking was not on the system but the staff dealt with it superbly and we were soon in our room. Throughout our stay, the reception staff were excellent including when I was robbed when queuing for Tram 1 and then returned to the hotel to deal with stolen credit cards etc. The barman on duty for most of our stay was also extremely interesting spending a lot if time taking care over the preparation of our drinks, even if it took some time it was worth it. Breakfast in the architecturally different dining room was also outstanding, the only drawback was that sometimes dishes were not automatically refilled.
The main disappointments were the room and lack of free wifi. We had a superior room which meant we were overlooking the courtyard rather than a street - a big plus. However, there was only one easy chair, very little hanging space for clothes (the safe was placed in the middle of the wardrobe so clothes were squashed on either side.) The air conditioning dripped onto the floor ( there were no instructions for operating this and no other hotel information in the room) . The TV had very few channels and no sport! Main drawback was lack of free wifi we had to go across the street to a cafe to get this.
Overall, although the staff were good, the facilities do not rate 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon check in we're upgraded to the presidential suite... excited as we were the disappointment hit us hard when we entered the room... the room doesn't smell fresh, the heavy carpets and curtains are up for a mega cleaning or perhaps replacement... we opened all windows to get some fresh air inside, but that is not ideal with high temperature outside.

bed was queen size, a bit small for such a huge room...decorations are for my taste a bit too many, quality is very good though...

The bathroom was very smelly, you can expect that with carpet in the bathroom. If you place a carpet in the bathroom and close to a toilet it should be shampooed at least once a month...

First night we had dinner in the hotels book restaurant round the corner of the hotel, food was average nothing special, staff not friendly.. would not go there again.

Location of the hotel is perfect, we booked a private tour guide with car from the reception which is highly recommendable if you'd like to see some more than just the regular tourist things and the center of Porto.

Breakfast was very average, not much choice and quality just ok. But it is nice that you can sit outside on the patio for having breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

pros: central location, staff very helpful and curteous, housekeeping good

cons: rooms need to be updated, lighting is not sufficient, especially in the bathroom (bathroom walls were painted black, this did not help the low lighting situation), view from second floor room not good (a small side street), noise level high (bar in side street below window - seemed to be opened and well attended by loud people all night...!)

Room Tip: try as high floor as possible, rooms facing innner courtyard may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Teatro Porto
Hotel Teatro Porto
#11 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pestana Porto Hotel
Pestana Porto Hotel
#10 of 96 in Porto
4.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.2 mi away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel
0.3 mi away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#22 of 96 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
0.5 mi away
Carris Porto Ribeira
Carris Porto Ribeira
#25 of 96 in Porto
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#12 Family Hotel in Porto
#20 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Infante Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.