We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not 5 stars but 4 1/2 and excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Infante Sagres to your Saves list
Hotel Infante Sagres
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Porto
France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Maybe not 5 stars but 4 1/2 and excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have to agree with other reviewers that the hotel is probably not 5 stars but it is definitely worth 4 and maybe a bit more.

The personnel where pleasant, helpful and it is indeed perfectly located. The service was correct. We had to ask for more towels once because the maid had, apparently, not understood that we where three people in one of the rooms but apart from that everything was very good.

The restaurant that we went to on the recommendation from the hotel staff was excellent.

We staid 7 nights and it was a enjoyable experience. The location is of course a huge plus. There was some nice from the street but nothing that stopped us from sleeping well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    171
    68
    18
    9
See reviews for
57
207
11
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a very nice stay in this hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean, the staff is very friendly and helpful. A highlight is the very classy and noble interior (e.g. the candelabra) and the beautiful dinning room. A wonderful ambiance!
The breakfast is delicious and has a fine selection.
The central location of this hotel is perfect for a city trip. Also a lot of bars and restaurants are very close and easily to reach.

We would return at any time again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of everything, but the staff takes care of you from the first moment you check in, and treat you warmly yet professionally. The amenities were great, the decor inviting, but the staff is what makes this place special.
For you "foodies" out there, this hotel is located across the street from several excellent and friendly restaurants serving fantastic traditional Portuguese dishes.
We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with windows facing the courtyard. It was very pleasant and quiet. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Well, Bedale, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

On arrival we found that our booking was not on the system but the staff dealt with it superbly and we were soon in our room. Throughout our stay, the reception staff were excellent including when I was robbed when queuing for Tram 1 and then returned to the hotel to deal with stolen credit cards etc. The barman on duty for most of our stay was also extremely interesting spending a lot if time taking care over the preparation of our drinks, even if it took some time it was worth it. Breakfast in the architecturally different dining room was also outstanding, the only drawback was that sometimes dishes were not automatically refilled.
The main disappointments were the room and lack of free wifi. We had a superior room which meant we were overlooking the courtyard rather than a street - a big plus. However, there was only one easy chair, very little hanging space for clothes (the safe was placed in the middle of the wardrobe so clothes were squashed on either side.) The air conditioning dripped onto the floor ( there were no instructions for operating this and no other hotel information in the room) . The TV had very few channels and no sport! Main drawback was lack of free wifi we had to go across the street to a cafe to get this.
Overall, although the staff were good, the facilities do not rate 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Upon check in we're upgraded to the presidential suite... excited as we were the disappointment hit us hard when we entered the room... the room doesn't smell fresh, the heavy carpets and curtains are up for a mega cleaning or perhaps replacement... we opened all windows to get some fresh air inside, but that is not ideal with high temperature outside.

bed was queen size, a bit small for such a huge room...decorations are for my taste a bit too many, quality is very good though...

The bathroom was very smelly, you can expect that with carpet in the bathroom. If you place a carpet in the bathroom and close to a toilet it should be shampooed at least once a month...

First night we had dinner in the hotels book restaurant round the corner of the hotel, food was average nothing special, staff not friendly.. would not go there again.

Location of the hotel is perfect, we booked a private tour guide with car from the reception which is highly recommendable if you'd like to see some more than just the regular tourist things and the center of Porto.

Breakfast was very average, not much choice and quality just ok. But it is nice that you can sit outside on the patio for having breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa de las Americas, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

pros: central location, staff very helpful and curteous, housekeeping good

cons: rooms need to be updated, lighting is not sufficient, especially in the bathroom (bathroom walls were painted black, this did not help the low lighting situation), view from second floor room not good (a small side street), noise level high (bar in side street below window - seemed to be opened and well attended by loud people all night...!)

Room Tip: try as high floor as possible, rooms facing innner courtyard may be less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Infante Sagres hotel is old and charming. It is very well located in Porto's center, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
It has a sign of 5 stars rating on the outside wall, and it is part of a small network of first class hotels in the world.
All great. If you look for charming old hotel, this is a great place.
If you are a business traveler, who still needs to make international calls from your room, have an efficient Wi-Fi from anywhere in the hotel,and basically want to operate from your room, this is not the place.
The old world charm is good up to a point, but there are parts of the hotel that show age and neglect. If you need an event, or a meeting place, there are better eqcuiped hotels.
So the bottom line is this: for leisure, good, for business, not so much.

Room Tip: Get a room facing inside, on a high floor. Make sure to operate the old elevator carefully, you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Business Hotel in Porto
#16 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#21 Family Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Infante Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.