We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By local standards..really quite charming...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Infante Sagres

Save Saved
You added Hotel Infante Sagres to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Infante Sagres
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 89 hotels in Porto
new york ny
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“By local standards..really quite charming...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is overall just fine. It is a charming old hotel that has recently had a rather unusual renovation, it might not be to everyone's taste, but it is not awful. The rooms are clean and comfortable. A lot of the 1930s looking large slabs of marble are still in the bathrooms, all rather interesting. Not a boutique hotel by miami beach standards, but some thing out of the ordinary and very personal. The breakfast was fine the staff very accommodating. Clean and well cared for. I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    143
    57
    15
    7
See reviews for
49
178
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights and enjoyed every day, The rooms are small but charming, very clean.
They arranged private tours for us at the desk which were the best thing we could do. They recommended great restaurants which were also fabulous.
The breakfast was included and was also very good. A variety of cheeses, meats, hot and cold food, pastries and lots of beverages. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: We faced the street but there was not any noise at night. The elevator sometimes didn't work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night break in Porto. Having trawled the hotel sites for days, we hit upon the Infante de Sagres Hotel, what a find!
The moment you step through the door, you know you are in a special hotel. Sure it's not one of the well known multi-national homogenised chains, and thank goodness for that. The staff at check in we're friendly and efficient, not too pushy with suggestions of tours etc, but you knew if you needed any help with anything, they were at your service. The lobby is just stunning, fabulous modern chandelier, white seating area with funky cushions, to the right is a charming outdoor seating area, beautiful tiles on the wall and the relaxing sound of water running in the fountain, perfect for a pre dinner gin and tonic, mind you we were the only two availing of this, I think the staff thought we were mad, as they were commenting on how cool the weather was! We could have sat there all night! To the left of the lobby is the most amazing dining room, used for breakfast, I mean how often do you sit under large chandeliers eating eggs and toast? Breakfast choice was good, the usual buffet offering, but very varied and good.
Our room ( we reserved a deluxe) was reminiscent of a Morroccan boudoir, all red walls, gilt chest of drawers, big marble bathroom and nice art work on the walls, even in the bathroom! Sheets were white, clean and crisp and the bed was comfortable, what more could you want? Chocolates and turn down service was a nice touch.
We had reception recommend restaurants for dinner for two of the nights, and we were not disappointed, excellent choices on both nights, though not
cheap when compared to other establishments in the area. Both involved a taxi ride to the outskirts of the city, and the food was great on both occasions. Well done guys at reception, we would never have found them ourselves!
Some reviews say that this is not a 5 Star hotel, and maybe if you compare it to large chains and other countries, it is not. But our stay was amazing, it is certainly a 5 Star in its class of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for something a bit different in the Small & Luxurious category. It was also excellent value for money, approx €150 per night, including breakfast, how bad?
I hope to return again someday, Porto city is lovely and the Infante de Sagres is a gem!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the hotel in 2007. This time it was my daughter and I. The hotel has lovely old world charm and a great location. But the professionalism of the staff is lacking. The attention to detail for a Small Luxury Hotel is glaringly missing. We were in room 206 which was comfortable, but dark. The lack of amenities was noticeable. We ran out of tissues the first evening -- they were not replace until the 3rd day. Chocolates were left the first two nights, but not the last two nights. A bottle of complimentary water appeared in the room the third day, but never any other day. No umbrella was found in the closet and none were available at the front desk. No free WIFI. We arrived at breakfast at 9AM (breakfast continued until 10:30) and many items were gone and never re-filled. Would not stay here again, nor recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 206 is large, but dark -- lamps are very dim. Faces the square but fairly quiet. However wall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Location and rooms are excellent. However, maintenance and hygiene do not come up to 5*****. FREE WIFI NOT AVAILABLE!!! One has to go to the cafeteria across the street that is bothersome. It was unexpectedly raining in Porto and umbrellas were out! Poor for 5-stars.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in the centre of Porto.
It has stunning chandeliers, a lift with a leather sofa, an area on the 1st floor with antiques and modern art, an amazing stain glass window that goes up several floors by the stairs. We got a glass of port when we arrived to check in.
There is a beautiful outdoor terrace for drinks. There is also a 1st floor terrace with some sun loungers - a real suntrap.
The staff are very helpful and recommended a private car trip with guide up the Douro valley. As there was 4 of us this worked well and was a great day trip.
It was mothers day while we were there and all the ladies got a gift - what a lovely touch.
The rooms could do with updating but they have everything you need and you do not spend much time in them as there is so much to see and do in Porto.
This was our 2nd time in Porto and at this hotel - I would go again.
My only gripe was that the wifi is not free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

great downtown location, great history and excellent breakfast included. However, rooms are small and tired. Bar prices were also expensive but lots of local pubs across the street. Dissapointing actually, given its membership in the Small Luxury Hotels of the World group. Went with a group of 4 couples and we stayed in Rooms 107-110. They must be above the kitchen area because there were noises coming from within the hotel until the wee hours of the morning. Also, these rooms open onto a very popular laneway frequented by people coming out of the bars between midnight and 0100. Suggest you ask for a higher floor that face away from the side lane. The concierge/front desk was very helpful otherwise and gave us an excellent restaurant recommendation - Cafeina's, it was well worth the 8 euro cab ride. They also helped us arrange an excellent tour of Porto (one day) and the Duoro wine region (the next) for 8 of us provided by Nuno Oliveira, Limusinestour. Beautiful Mercedes limo bus and Nuno was professional, well versed, and spoke fluent English.

Room Tip: higher floor, facing away from side lane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Infante Sagres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Infante Sagres

Address: Praca D Filippa de Lancastre 62, Porto 4050-259, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Porto
#11 Family Hotel in Porto
#15 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#25 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Infante Sagres 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Infante Sagres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Infante Sagres Hotel
Infante Sagres Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Infante Sagres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.