We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super views from balcony” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oporto House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oporto House to your Saves list
Oporto House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Rua Conde de Vizela, 56, Porto 4050-639, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 105 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
298 helpful votes 298 helpful votes
“Super views from balcony”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Good location, if coming in by train from airport. Great view out from balcony over roof tops. (Room 3) Big, comfortable, attractive room. Breakfast good.

Steep hill and map given by hotel not very clear. Cash only (but that is typical in Portugal). Small but adequate bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for room 3 with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    68
    25
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
102
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I want to go back not only because I loved the place but also because of Henrique and Julia. They were wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!! I had good laughs with them, sooooo friendly and helpful!!!!!!!!! The room was very beautiful and comfortable, very clean, very close to all the best of Porto that is an amazing city. My stay at OPORTO HOUSE was unforgetable!!!!!!! There was a balcony in my room to relax and enjoy the view. Good breakfast, great bed!!!!!! Loved the decoration.

Room Tip: I loved the room in the back with a view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had two rooms, one was quite nice, the kind you will see advertised on their website. Another room at the top floor which we had was awful. The celing was so low and slanted, you could not stand up by the bed, you needed to crawl on all fours or bend while walking. you could olny walk upright in a small part of the room. Also a word of warning, the stairs are narrow, steep and no lift which makes bringing the luggage to any room a dangerous exercise.
I would recommend the good rooms to people on a city break with not a lot of luggage.

The plus side is the staff were nice and helpful, and the breakfast was good, and the good rooms were nice,

Room Tip: first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Not even a 10 minutes walk from Metro station Sao Bento. Beware, Porto is built on several hills, so the walk to the hotel goes up and down.
Friendly receptionists, who were all very willing to explain anything you like to know about Porto, as far as they knew, off course ;-)
Reception is staffed 24 hours a day, and you always have to ring before entering. That's very good regarding safety!

Let's be honest, this is a rather cheap hotel or is it a B&B? I would give it a 2 star rating. It looked very appealing on their website, with those big stone walls. Our room nr 7, was recently refurbished, but lacked a wardrobe (there was only a hanger, which suddenly collapsed, although with only a few clothes hanging on it), and a extra power socket somewhere in a wall to hook up all the modern electronic gear that one carries these days ;-) The armature above the washbasin, was not yet installed.
Bed rather small and rather hard.
No airco, but that was known in advance.
Breakfast, 4€, was always served with freshly pressed orange juice, 2 sandwiches, 2 slices of cheese and 2 slices of cooked ham. On the first day they added a slice of pineapple and a slice of chocolate cake. The next day a slice of melon and a slice of lemon cake. So, the next day you start to expect something different again. But no, still melon and lemon cake, and the day after that, back to pineapple and chocolate. Ppffftt.
Ah well, it was all a little basic, but is was clean and fitted all our needs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We arrived just before midnight and was received very warmly. We were place in a twin room which was actually like an attic. Nonetheless, there was no problem with headroom and the room felt very large and yet cosy. What we enjoyed the most was probably the breakfast with an extremely fresh and sweet cup of orange juice and the most lovely home baked scones we have ever had. The hotel was also very well priced, we spent about 45 Euros including breakfast, a fantastic deal. One thing we felt could be improved was some hooks to hang clothes in the toilet. Additionally, the toilet door could be better secured instead of just with a hook. The owner listened to our feedback and was both apologetic and very accepting, which was good to see. Overall, a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We arrived in Porto in pouring rain & soaked& in the dark. A very nice guy pointed us in right direction which turned out to be very close to station & town centre. The staff were terrific & couldn't do enough for us, dried our clothes for us. We left there to begin a 250km walk on the Portuguese Camino. The staff were more than happy to give us phone numbers in case of emergencies. We had the worst rain for 40 years but made it to Santiago de Compostela.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

booking.com choice in old town booked the night before. Oportohouse is in a block with many shuttered business warehouses, quite hard to find by car in old town, (get a very high resolution map or GPS), with 2 tiny ambiguous places to stop only temporarily near entry to check in. This is a desolate setting and dark entry, but open the door to clean modern wooden floors of lobby and a large, welcoming sitting TV common room. Parking in nearby parking ramp 15E for 24 hrs (in and out access allowed in the 24 hrs) allowed easy exploring next day on foot. We rented two 2nd floor double rooms. The "standard", smaller double (#7) was brighter with a balcony away from street and intermittent traffic noises, which allows night door/window open. The larger double (#8) didn't look larger and was less nicely decorated. Very friendly staff at desk 24/7, excellent English, free WiFi but second floor modem not strong enough for service so had to go to lobby to use. 23E is price with no breakfast. BF can be ordered for a cost of approx 5 E/person, but around corner is lovely bakery/coffee shop alternative. House is 1/2 block from pleasant shopping street just 3 blocks from old train station. Walk down the hill 9-10 blocks to river for fabulous fish restaurants. Beds, bathroom, linens all marvelously clean and fresh, but be prepared for the old gray, slightly stained-looking but clean (wet rag rub test) carpet. No TV in room, but cable TV in common area in "lobby" had lots of English choices. No elevator.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the noisy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oporto House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oporto House

Address: Rua Conde de Vizela, 56, Porto 4050-639, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oporto House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Oporto House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oporto House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.