We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Porto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Porto to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Porto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. da Boavista, 1466, Porto 4100-144, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Top Contributor
339 reviews 339 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
306 helpful votes 306 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Not too far from the airport and still walkable (turn left out the hotel's front door and just keep walking) to the round-about park-like area (like the hub for spokes in a wheel). So many restaurants, markets, and great historic looking buildings (with those great Portugese tiles) reward the walker. After a long plane flight, the walk is just what a traveler needs to revive the senses.

Our room was very comfy, roomy, and nicely appointed. Some of the neighboring structures are historical buildings that can be toured. Across the street in front of the hotel (turn left) and about a 1/2 block or so away, is a full service grocery store (cash only, no credit cards, and bring your own bag to avoid being charged for a bag). The hotel itself is a very tall building on a small corner lot. Bus transportation runs regularly as an option to get to the round-about where there are so many good eating options.

Our travel group enjoyed a surprisingly pleasant dinner at the hotel and were very impressed with the quality and presentation of the meal and the wine pairings. It is billed as a 5-star hotel and it did not disappoint us. It was not as grand as some hotels but it deserves its ranking.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    240
    39
    10
    4
See reviews for
120
332
23
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed 3 nights before going on a Duro riverboat. The hotel was excellent with a very comfortable room. Easy to get to both the coast or the centre of Porto. Taxi ride to central Porto would be only 6 or 7 euros. I also went to a beautiful garden Serralves just 20 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We had two nights here following a river cruise on the Douro. On entering the hotel looks impressive and the reception staff were welcoming and efficient. We had a large well appointed room at the front of the hotel which was surprisingly quiet. The bed was comfortable and the airconditioning efficient. The bathroom was a good size and again well appointed. However the shower was a little odd in that there was a fixed overhead unit which lacked power and a handheld unit which worked off the same controls. The towels were nicely soft.
The breakfast was adequate though we would have liked to have seen a better range of juices and cereals including muesli. We had one meal at the bar in the evening and one of the Caesar salads lacked chicken which was disappointing for the cost. However the hotel is not well located if you want to explore Oporto. While it is on the route for the Tourist bus service it is 15 minutes from the city centre by service bus when the traffic is not busy or a 7 or 8 euro taxi ride. The nearest Metro station is a good walk away. The surrounding area lacks restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were not sure when our taxi pulled up. Being situated next to the Sheraton, we compared and thought we made a mistake. But inside the facilities were a pleasant surprise. The rooms were nicely appointed and spacious, the same for the bathroom. The restaurant facilities were good quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

A very stylish, modern hotel. My room was very well appointed with the most comfortable of beds and pillows, opening windows and a view (10th floor). All of the staff I interacted with were very professional and efficient. Lovely choice of food for the buffet breakfast and a supermarket just over the road.
The hotel is a little out of the main city area, old town etc and it cost us around €7 cab fare each way. But this meant that the hotel is in a quiet area, which is a big plus.
Stayed 2 nights and could have stayed more - lovely hotel in a very interesting old city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A really lovely hotel which if not 5-star deserves to be.
Centrally situated but parking is not a problem.
The rooms are quite expensive but the food was reasonably priced and enjoyable.
Very pleasant staff

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for three nights in June. the hotel was very beautiful, lovely and nice decorated. Our room was spacious and comfortable. We had a very warm welcoming with Portuguese red wine. The location is not close to the city center, by taxi we payed 6 euro. Breakfast was OK, not too bad, but unfortunately I found hair in my scramble egg :-(
The staff was very very friendly and helpful, I don't know the doorman's name, however I would like to thank him for his support when I lost my wallet in a taxi. He called all the taxi companies in Porto and eventually I found my wallet with his help :-)
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Crowne Plaza Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Porto

Address: Av. da Boavista, 1466, Porto 4100-144, Portugal (Formerly Tiara Park Atlantic Porto)
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#6 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crowne Plaza Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tiara Park Atlantic Porto Hotel Porto
Tiara Park Atlantic Hotel Porto
Porto Tiara Park Atlantic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.