We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for an inexpensive, good-quality lunch in Porto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Churrasqueira Do Infante

Churrasqueira Do Infante
Rua De Mouzinho Da Silveira, 20/24, Porto 4050-414 , Portugal
222000885
Improve this listing
Ranked #141 of 911 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Paris, France
Top Contributor
311 reviews 311 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Great choice for an inexpensive, good-quality lunch in Porto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

There are a lot of restaurants in Porto, but I think this one has the best 'price/quality' ratio. I recommend going for lunch as it is crowded, noisy and tables are very close together, but for a minimal price, you get a really good meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    54
    9
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Wonderful no frills family tavern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Though the owner/waiter did not speak a word of English he was delightfully happy to explain everything by saying "ah this very good" and "very nice this".

There is not much to say about the atmosphere of the place because it's a basic tavern you would find anywhere in southern europe.

We had 3 vegetable soups (just as good as my mom's) 3 meat dishes after the recommendation (basically a lot of ecstatic exclamations of the waiter when we poined in the menu). and house wine (caraffe and delicious)

Good wholesome cooking, very filling and rediculously cheap!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Good, Inexpensive Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great spot for an inexpensive lunch. We each ordered an entree w/ side for 3.50. The food was good and satisfying. If you're on a budget, go here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Just doesn't deliever!! Avoid.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

After a long day we happened accross this restaurant. Wish now we kept walking. We were both quite hungry and devoured the bread and the sardine paste. We opened but left what appeared to be a cheap cheese spread. We shared a salad which on the whole was okay just overdressed in oil and vinegar. I like a dressed salad but this was overkill. Both our mains were seved with skinny greasy french fries. Pauls cod was nice to taste but on the overcooked side. My veal escalops were so tough a knife wouldnt cut through. I returned them and got the turkey which only tasted of olive oil. No seasoning and certainly had no flavour of its over and no sauce etc.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This place ticked some boxes but not all. We visited on a Sunday evening, our first night in the city and found it clean, friendly, fairly busy and cheap.

Unfortunately however they do not appear to know how to cook fish, or at least fish steaks. We ordered salmon and cherne (white grouper) and both were greatly over-cooked. Also the potatoes were dry instead of being in oil and garlic as you would expect. The wine and salad were both acceptable.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Churrasqueira Do Infante also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Churrasqueira Do Infante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Churrasqueira Do Infante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.