We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for great food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confeitaria do Bolhao

Confeitaria do Bolhao
Rua Formosa 339, Porto 40002, Portugal
+35 1223 395220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #119 of 1,020 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Came here twice for breakfast. Both times had an omelete sandwhich with ham and cheese euros with a bica (espresso) for just under 2 euros. I filled us plenty for long walking days in Porto. We always took patries to go which were all amazing. Cant ask for a better value!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    83
    10
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Egg Tarts. Yum.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a old-school, local place with a sense of history that's so missing in many homogenous, modern cities these days. The bakery display cases were chock full of wonderful looking pastries. But really, we were just here for the egg tarts. We tried egg tarts at different locations throughout Porto; do Bolhao was our favourite. We came back three times for the delicious egg tarts with the flaky crusts and the creamy, sweet egg filing. Come in the morning when the egg tarts are still warm!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Quintessential Porto cafe experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We came here for breakfast three days in a row when we stayed in Porto. Fantastic bakery treats, coffee and juice! Full of locals which gave it a warm, lively atmosphere. Friendly, efficient service too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Thiefs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

They charge 1,50 euros for an empty plate, when you need one more. Shame on them.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Minier, Aveyron, France
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Want somewhere to eat in Porto that won't break the bank? Want coffee and cake, then stay upstairs. Want a great local lunch, then head into the basement. Bread and a hearty soup for less than 5 euros.
This is the place the locals go for lunch. Near to a lovely old market , not far from the center of town this is an absolute must for any visitor.
Colourful surroundings, great service, clean and tidy, decent facilities. I always head here when in Porto. It is hard to imagine better! Go for it.....

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confeitaria do Bolhao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Confeitaria do Bolhao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confeitaria do Bolhao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.