We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gallery Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gallery Hostel to your Saves list
Gallery Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Rua Miguel Bombarda, 222, Porto, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Porto Walking Tour
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Santiago, Region Metropolitana, Chile
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Hostel in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My favourite hostel in the world, Gallery Hostel is a must for those staying in Porto. Staff, location, FOOD, atmosphere... nothing disappointed me about this hostel. Would probably go back to Porto just to revisit!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    17
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
59
57
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Hey everybody! This place is amasing! There is no doubts you' ll be treated as a friend once ya are in! Nice staff are for your convenience 24 hours! Different kind of offers! Great breakfast is included! Take Free walking tours with on of the guy from reception ( Know for sure Ines is good)! Rooms and bathroom are clean and cozy! Also you will find the hostel as such a good place to spend some evening! Stayed there for 2 nights! Its perfect place to meet different people! If you are making a solo trip like I did you will never feel loneliness! Special thanks to Jose! ;)
Regards,
Alexandra

Room Tip: If you chose 6- bed dorm you wont be disappointed! Everyone has enough space and bathroom is shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ribeirão Preto, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is an incredible hostel. I spent good time in Gallery Hostel.
The room is clean, cozy, comfortable and recently renovated.
The atmosphere is great. They offer a nice breakfast and you can also have a dinner with them.
Ask for a private room, the toillets are so nice and spacious.
They provide a bike for touring the strrets of Porto and they offer a nice walking tour with crew.
Good value!

Room Tip: Go to walking tour with Ricardo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I'm not sure I'd rank the Gallery Hostel amongst the other hostel I know. Its boutique and had dorms, and amazing ones! Nice beds and amenities.
I stayed there 5 nights, on a solo trip to Porto. It was a great place to meet people and the walking tours are a great introduction to the city. The dinners (€10, 3 courses and wine) are delicious and the occasion to chat with the staff and the fellow guests (and plan the rest of the night). Through the hostel I booked my trip to the Douro valley, which was amazing.
If you go to Porto I highly recommend this place, you'll feel at home.
I know they have private rooms but haven't seen them (but heard great things from other guests).

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had booked 2 nights at the Gallery Hostel in Porto. However after 4 sleepless nights in a hostel in Lisbon, I decided to go to Porto 1 day earlier. The staff were very accommodating as I also decided to upgrade from a dorm room to a private room. I did take a look at the dorm rooms and they were very nice, clean and spacious. But because of need for some privacy and some decent sleep, I decided to take the private attic room (definitely not for tall people as you will hit your head on everything!). It is a gorgeous room, very spacious, very clean, has heating and cooling and is well appointed. For the cost of Euro 50.00 per night it made it a better option than a hotel. It also allows for socialising and meeting new people in a hostel environment as opposed to being alone in a hotel. The staff on arrival were so helpful and friendly that I decided to stay in the first night and join them for the BBQ night. At a cost of Euro 10 it was great value as fabulous food, wine and company. The staff gave me a great suggestion for some live music just around the corner (note that it does not start till around midnight). Then on return at about 3am we had a lovely port wine at the little bar in the hostel. The hostel is in a beautiful old building and has various areas such as the Library, a little bar, the kitchen area, a gorgeous smoking outside room and a TV/games room. Everything in this hostel is of the best standard. The walking tour that the hostel provides every morning was delightful, informative and really gave you an understanding of Porto history etc Would highly recommend a stay here as it is also in a fantastic location for all you want to see and do in the lovely city of Porto..

Room Tip: If not wanting a dorm room consider an upgrade to one of their private rooms at the back of the host...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I was welcomed by an incredibly helpful, smiling, and authentically kind staff. They have a wonderful breakfast with scrambled eggs, a FREE city tour (although they deserve a tip!), free internet and access to computers, and very comfortable rooms. I stayed in a private for my first two nights in the Crystal palace room which was great. When I decided to extend for a day I moved to a 6 person dorm room. The beds were new and comfortable and you had a secure locker to store your valuables. The bar downstairs was cofortable and reasonable and they even had a relaxing room for the weary traveler that has been on the road with cinema and comfy chairs. It is also a short walk to the shopping area as well as the bar street!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great staff and localization. They provide excellent dinners for a good price! There are families, young people, and they all interact with each other in the breakfast and dinners (we all sit in a big table together)! The neighborhood is wonderful. There is art everywhere and some great restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gallery Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gallery Hostel

Address: Rua Miguel Bombarda, 222, Porto, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gallery Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gallery Hostel is set in a privileged area of Oporto, known for its art galleries and modern shops, at a walking distance from the main points of interest in the city centre such as museums, monuments, gardens, restaurants and bars. Located in Rua Miguel Bombarda, the Hostel is established in an historical building with more than 100 years old, which just went through a renewal in order to respond to our guest’s needs and expectations. With high standards of comfort and carefully decorated, you will find a familiar and cosy atmosphere, complemented by a multilingual and professional team. Composed by several types of rooms, the Gallery Hostel is divided in two sections. You can choose between staying in the main building in a 6 or 4 people bedroom, or in one of our Garden Suites, always offering a privileged privacy. In the main building, each room is named after the most renowned artists of Oporto such as Sophia Mello Breyner, Almeida Garrett, Julio Resende, Silva Porto, Siza Vieira and Souto Moura. Also creating an original feeling of the city and enhancing local culture, the Garden Suites are named after the main Oporto city parks (Cordoaria, Botânico, Serralves and Palácio de Cristal). Our services and common areas have also been developed in order to satisfy any need the guest might have. You can choose listening to music and drink Portuguese wine in our Lounge Bar, watch a DVD in our Movie Theatre or play a game, surf on internet or read a book in our Library, have a chat or chill out in our interior gardens, enjoy a meal in our open kitchen and breakfast area, between others. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gallery Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gallery Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.