We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for little money!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added iStay Hotel Porto Centro to your Saves list
iStay Hotel Porto Centro
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rua Alexandre Herculano, 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great for little money!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The hotel room we had was nice, clean and big. It was located in the first floor, where wifi was working, but was quite slow (especially in the evening). I didnt miss anything, room was new and clean. It is a perfect choice for a short stay. A shower curtain should be replaced, because it looks awful. If you have your window open, it could be really noisy. Hotel is located near the main shopping street and next to the bus station, but a bit far from Ribeira. It is a good place for its value!

Room Tip: First floor has a wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
95
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annecy, France
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When I booked on booking.com, there was an option for a room with a river view, which I selected, and it said there is free wifi throughout the hotel. Before checking in, I even called the hotel and asked if there is free wifi in the rooms, and I was told yes. But they lied. There are no river views from any of the rooms in the hotel. And when I arrived at the hotel, I was told that the wifi could only be accessed on the ground level (lobby) or in the basement. There is a room set up in the basement with some tables and vending machines, but it is very dark and dreary and not very pleasant to sit in to use the wifi. And the hotel blocks a lot of websites.

The room was fine. It had very minimal furnishings/provisions which was also fine. I.e., no fridge, safe, electric kettle, glasses/cups, toiletries, etc. But the one thing that was very annoying was that there was no table in the room. There was one cheap plastic chair in the room. It would have been great to have a cheap plastic table with it!

The most disgusting thing though is the shower curtain! There is mold at the bottom. But what is even grosser is that whenever I showered, I could smell urine. I can only assume it’s because people have urinated in the shower and some urine has remained on the curtain, and whenever the curtain becomes wet, the smell of urine becomes apparent. The hotel really needs to change all the shower curtains and come up with a better solution.

The hotel is not that close to any of the main tourist attractions. And the street that the hotel is on is not very nice. There is also a bus depot or something like that on the street which is not very appealing. The area feels a bit seedy.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here with my wife for one night only. For such a small duration as i required it was the cheapest possible hotel located in the heart of the city. It is like any other Low cost Hotel where you have to pay for anything else like wifi, glasses, parking, early checkin and late checkout on pro rata basis, even storing your luggage after checkout etc etc.

Anyway, the location was the best, at walking distance to the center of the city, breakfast joints nearby, near to hop-on bus stop, staff was really nice, friendly & spoke good English.

I will recommend this hotel, if you are looking for a clean, hygienic, cheap option in the city and not looking for anything else other than a place to sleep in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruse, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I am giving 2 not 3 points of the overal rating just because the room was missing some basic components such as glasses (even plastic ones would be ok just to put your tooth-paste brushes in them), wardrobe (even though there were hangers). The rating is actually 2.5 to be honest.
The sheets are not changed - you have to pay for this service additionally.
There were a few courners with moss near the window and on the the bathroom curtain, I really think they should replace the curtain. On the other hand the rest of the bathroom was clean.
The room itself and the sheets were clean, the bed was comfortable and the location is perfect in the city center. The staff was helpful and was answering all our questions.
For the good budget price I'd say it's worthy and for the 3 night stay there we were satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Hotel is located near main station and Cathedral. Check in and check out is very easy and quick. Price wise very very cheap.
Room was very basic but clean. Wifi was not included in room price. Good for 1 night stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Clean, quiet, well-located. Online rates from re-sellers same as from easyHotel site. Be careful as "double" means double i.e. one big bed that can not be split into two twins. Otherwise be prepared to get intimate with your travel companion!

I like this concept of paying only for what you need/use. Be prepared for extras however if you need extra towels or room cleaning.

If you're not a heavy internet user, make use of the free wifi at Cafe Lobito a few doors down while having your breakfast or lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The location is amazing. Nearby the downtown area and available to walk by to all atractions by bubway or train. The staff was amazing. The room mas big enough to a couple with luggage of 30 days traveling... The wifi is free of charge different of all easyHotel's. Certainly will stay ther in my next visit to Porto.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to iStay Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano, 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — iStay Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your iStay Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iStay Hotel Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.