We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a quick visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added iStay Hotel Porto Centro to your Saves list
iStay Hotel Porto Centro
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Rua Alexandre Herculano, 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok for a quick visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Easyhotel really delivers what the name says.

Easy check-in, simple, clean rooms with a decent location for a reasonable price.

Because it is part of a big company, there are a lot of rules: no check in before 3 o clock, to pay extra for television, for fresh towels, ...

Good to know is that the airco can only work 1 way for the whole building. Or cold air for all 50 rooms or hot air. They need a techniciean to change this. In summer or winter it is clear wath the airco should do. In between seasons (like March for us) it can get hot without possibility to get cold air.
The guys at the reception were extremely friendly though and tried to help with the settings as much as possible.

For 1 night while travelling it is certainly ok, but i wouldnt stay here for a week.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    72
    37
    11
    7
See reviews for
11
95
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

It's a nice hotel for short stays and for who don't spend many time at the room.
Location is nice, but, I believe that for the same low price is possible to find something better located.
Bus and taxi right in front.
For night life, you can go by foot, but it's not so near (i'm talking about the Galeria de Paris area).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

I had my reservations when I booked it, but it had a great location for the price in porto.

When I got there I was quite impressed decent decor, with pod shower and the twin room no 6.1 was spacious with a great view across the valley which wasn't expected.

The big let down was the noise from the street as it's above the bus station in porto and it never stops all day and late into the night.

It's a in a great location which for the price makes this still a good buy but it isn't luxurious in any way shape or form. It's like a posh backpacking hotel so go with caution.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I would call the rooms in this hotel Spartan: my room had a bed in it, a plastic chair, plastic rack and the smallest plastic night table. There is an extra charge for TV remote, room cleaning and a new set of towels, etc. It was clean, though, and a two-minute walk to shopping, about 10 min walk to two metro stations, and in close proximity to the historic city center. It served its purpose during my three-night stay and I would stay there again. I would not recommend this if you're looking for comfort or little luxuries.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to iStay Hotel Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about iStay Hotel Porto Centro

Address: Rua Alexandre Herculano, 296, Porto 4000-053, Portugal (Formerly easyHotel Porto)
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 111 Specialty Lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — iStay Hotel Porto Centro 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your iStay Hotel Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage iStay Hotel Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.