We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home*” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A Casa Formosa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A Casa Formosa to your Saves list
A Casa Formosa
Rua Formosa, 433 2 Andar, Porto 4000-253, Portugal   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 105 Porto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home*”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I love Casa Formosa! Beautiful, clean and at a great location. I stayed for almost 3 weeks and it really became my home away from home. Joao and Sarah are super nice and sweet, always helpful and fun to be around if you travel by yourself :)
If I ever go back, this is the place I would stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
32
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Visiting Porto would not have been half as amazing as it was if it had not been for Joao and Sarah. They are lovely people, and spent time making sure all of our needs were met. Everything from a delicious breakfast eaten on their outdoor terrace, to plenty of suggestions on what to see/do/eat/drink, they are the ideal hosts. The apartment was also very nice, big spacious room with our own doors onto the balcony overlooking the street, super-clean bathrooms (2 of them), a full, modern kitchen, 2 outdoor terraces, and a dining room. I can't wait to come back to Porto and stay with them again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soenderborg, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This is a great place in center of Porto. I was only spending one night in town but it was no problem leaving my luggage in the room till my train was leaving the next day which I really appreciated.

My room was big, the internet was fast and the breakfast was spot on. I got good recommendations for things to do in the city so I will have to come back with my girlfriend and stay in Casa Formosa.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

João and Sarah are wonderful hosts and they made us feel at home!! Our bedroom was very big and clean, with soft and quality bed linen and towels. The entire appartment was actually very spacious and decorated in a beautiful retro, modern style. And every morning there was a rich breakfast waiting for us !

We hope we'll be back as soon as possible!! Absolutly recommended!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A Casa Formosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Casa Formosa

Address: Rua Formosa, 433 2 Andar, Porto 4000-253, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Casa Formosa. Big, sunny rooms right in the middle of the heart of Oporto waiting for you to enjoy. Fully furnished kitchen for you to feel at home. Two bathrooms in the house, both with shower to shared use. Sunny wide interior terrace. On your doorstep you will find plenty of shops, restaurants, cafes, and some of the best bakeries in town within walking distance. Feel home, here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your A Casa Formosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Casa Formosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.