We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Portugal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Save Saved
You added Dixo's Oporto Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dixo's Oporto Hostel
Rua Mouzinho de Silveira 72, Porto 4050-372, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 97 Specialty lodging in Porto
Hüttau, Salzburg, Austria
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Portugal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Really friendly and helpful staff who speak good English and can recommend good places to eat and go. Close to the river too and very clean and welcoming with a beautiful roof top terrace. We stayed here for 2 nights and then returned for another 2 before we went home! Joana and Pedro, the owners, took us out and showed us a really good time in the amazing city of Porto. A must stay if you're passing through!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    8
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
15
26
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, Spain
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have travelled to Oporto for a long weeekend and stayed in Dixo's hostel which in my book is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed at. First of all for its great location and a fabulous roof top terrace, where our generous hosts organized a great BBQ dinner for all the quests, which was absolutely amazing. The hostel is very clean and the whole vibe of this place is relaxed, friendly, you kind of feel like at home and the reason for this are two awesome people running this fab place Joana and Pedro. They are always there to help, answer all your questions and organize a fun night out with the locals. When I go back to Oporto, I know I will go directly back to this hostel. Thank you for a great weekend and see you again soon!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed at Dixo´s twice, and i felt at home.
The only issue was that there is not age policy at the hostel. There was this old guy for a week, and heard from another guests (above all, girls) that they felt unconfortable sleeping in the same dorm with an old man.
Apart from that, I can just say positive things.
super staff, confy beds, great breakky
Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hostel has everything you need when you’re travelling alone. Most important of all the staff members are the most welcoming people I met in Portugal. They always want to help you with anything you need and sometimes they arrange tours round the city or for dinner or lunch. The girls there cook the best soup that was served for free one evening. The security is very good and you get both a key card for the dorm and a personal key for your own locker. The breakfast is also very good and there is both cereals and rough bread with cheese or jam. I really really liked staying here and I will definitely pop by again another time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

the location is amazing and people there are very cool and helpful... keep going guys... breakfast is very good and it is served on the last floor with a beautiful view to Gaia and a lit bit to the river...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We have been to this cute hostel in october because we came just by chance to Porto to stay there over the weekend.
We walked down to the ribeira and suddenly there it was, the Dixo`s Oporto Hostel.
We stumbled in and asked for two beds and we were lucky because they had it.
They gave us two beds in a dormroom, ok, the beds a probaly from Ikea bud we sleept very good in it.
A week thing was, in front of the hostel they repaired the street and so there was much dust and noises around, and this was really not so funny.
The hostel itself was a very nice place and the staff was friendly and helpful, too.
Our room had enough space and the outher rooms, too
The bathroom was also well equipt, the same way like the tv-room
Kitchen was also full with everything, micro wave, every kind of pots, just all you need for cooking.
Roommates were also very kind and quite funny.
City walks in the morning and the evening were also for free, the same way like the breakfast.
In the evening they offert also a pub and clubtour throught the partymile of Porto for small money and it was really "fun pure" !!!
So, now it`s up to you to decide to come around to the Dixo`s Oporto Hostel or not.
Make the right desition !!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espinho, Portugal
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hi folks, let me tell you something about the Dixoòporto Hostel.
We went to Porto on a rainy weekend in September because we heared some nice stories about this city.
The Dixo`s was not our first choice but the outher hostel was full and so we stambled in this nice hostel, down on the way to the ribeira.
This hostel is really one of the nice ones and we felt really well in this place.
Nice rooms with good beds, kitchen and TV-room, and also bathrooms but not really clean.
The staff were very nice and spoke several languages.
The only really bad thing was a reconstruction in front of the hostel, normaly no problem because we need only a bed for slleping in the nighttime but because of the rain we spent a lot of time in the hostel and the noise from outside was really not nice.
They offer also free citywalks in the morning and nighttours in the evening, not for free but for a fair ammount.
At the end I can say that Porto is a beautiful city for sure and everybody should visit it !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dixo's Oporto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dixo's Oporto Hostel

Address: Rua Mouzinho de Silveira 72, Porto 4050-372, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 97 Specialty lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Dixo's Oporto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dixo's Oporto Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.