We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best St. John Day I've had in years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ODE Porto Wine House

ODE Porto Wine House
Largo do Terreiro 7 | Zona Historica da Ribeira, Porto 4050-603, Portugal
+351 913 200 010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 1,020 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $34 - $45
Cuisines: Contemporary, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: WELCOME. BIENVENUE. WILCOMEN. BIENVENIDOS. BENVENUTTI. After two years of hard work, you´ll find a homey and unique 19th century place, just in front of River Douro. Quiet, welcoming and rustic. Where wine and food are the excuse to forget the world, and to enjoy the moment. Tasting wines and eating excellent Portuguese food, in a relaxing environment, with selected music.Our aim is to make you feel at home. An open kitchen where we love what we do to whom we do. About 100 Portuguese wines (15 by the glass). A Wine and Grocery store where one can buy the best artisan jams and biscuits, as well as the wines in the list. Far from confusion, protected and exposed, we do an ODE to the Wine, to the city, and to the consumer.
Esposende, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best St. John Day I've had in years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stumbled across this restaurant while taking a stroll by the Douro River and since I heard it had many good reviews, we decided to book a table for the holiday I mentioned up there.
When the night came, and we found ourselves there, I had very high expectations. Boy, were they fulfilled!
Since it's an important holiday in Porto, they prepared a schedule for the night: first, an established menu, including a couvert, two entrees, the main course and dessert (if I recall correctly) along with a variety of wines and also drinks at the beginning.
We entered the restaurant, and promptly the owner and the employees gave us a very warm welcome, along with some drinks.
The one who I believe to be the owner was always extremely nice, telling us at all times to call him if something is wrong, coming to our table to ask if everything is alright and chit-chat sometimes, yet without being annoying. The olive oil and bread were of very high quality.
The first entree was their version of the traditional "Caldo Verde" which was absolutely amazing, and the second was more of an interesting modern one: tinned tuna with "broa" and orange sauce.
The main course was beef with spinach and potatoes (if memory doesn't trick me) and Yum! My beef was cooked to perfection and the spinach were delicious! The dessert was a trilogy of portuguese desserts and My, could have I not eaten another 10 of those.
The only down of this meal was finding one uncooked kernel in one of our starters. A small mistake, we believe, considering the meal we had.
We went to see the festivities and when we came back, around 11:20pm, we were guided, along with other guests, to a building to see the fireworks. The owner was, once again, very nice: I injured my knee one month prior and was still walking with crutches, and he was always very careful.
The fireworks were a perfect ending to this amazing night!
We will definitely come back to taste another amazing meal, experience great service and enjoy a beautiful view of the "Douro River". Do come and try it yourselves!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    123
    35
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bremen, Germany
1 review
“Incredible and unique experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

What an incredible and unique experience! I had heard of ODE Porto Wine House's great reputation before arriving to Porto so while my husband and I were in the area, we stopped by to see if there was any chance we could get a table that night. We were warmly greeted by a man at the door who was able to squeeze us in despite being almost fully booked that evening. From the service to the food to the ambiance, the experience was magical, from start to finish. The people at ODE Porto Wine House embrace and welcome you into their restaurant as if it was a home.

After enjoying a deliciously long meal, the owner sat down with us to thank us for coming. He genuinely seemed interested in creating a connection and gaining insight into our perspective on the whole experience. It was the perfect touch to a perfect meal!

A trip to Porto wouldn't be complete without a meal at ODE Porto Wine House. I highly, highly recommend!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A most enjoyable evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Having read the reviews we decided to try and book this restaurant. We were fortunate to be given a window table upstairs so we could enjoy the hustle and bustle of Porto whist enjoying a wonderful meal. The food, service and ambience were second to none. There really is nothing to criticise. The owner takes great pride in his restaurant and is obviously passionate about food. The pace is leisurely so you can savour each course. If you want fast food this isn't the place for you but if you enjoy good quality food and great atmosphere this is a must. We will be returning to Porto and the ODE Porto Wine House.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best ending to our hooneymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

To say the least this will be an annual stop when we are going back home. The concierge at our hotel suggested 3 restaurants to us, each with a different atmosphere. We liked ODE the best from looking them up on TripAdvisor and we gave him our order of preference for booking. As it was only a few hours away clearly ODE was fully booked, but when he said it was our honeymoon, not only did they make room for us, but they gave us the special table overlooking everyone else. our reservations were at 9, and we didn't leave until almost 2am, and we had to check out at 5:30 am to be at the airport for 6! but it was well worth the sleepiness! yes it is pricey compared to other places but i will pay that over and over again as it was just an incredible experience and everything tasted amazing! for the commentators saying it took to long, well then this is the wrong place for you....if you want to sit down take a break and actually enjoy your food and experience then this is a must go!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dinner at ODE wine house and here's why...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

After being turned away by a variety of establishments, showing no regards for our tender, a sign of Porto's booming touristic industry, we came across this warm and cosy restaurant. The kind lady at the door mentioned the lack of availability but did her utmost to host us. Sat by the make shift table by the window, the owner greeted and welcomed us. Azeitão, salpicão, and a few glasses of wine later, we were having one of our most memorable nights in a while. The owner checked in with us at intervals to show he hadn't forgotten about us, and we were moved upstairs and sat by the window with a beautiful view of the monastery and the bridge. The wood beams and mellow lighting helped turn up the romance. We ordered the curry lamb and bacalhau and needless to say they were to die for, and coming from an Indian food connoisseur and a bacalhau fanatic, that is a serious compliment. We finished with a fine glass of port and headed home, but not without exchanging an interesting conversation with the chef and the owner. All the ingredients are Portuguese, from the butter to the herbs, and the dishes have its roots in Portugal or an ex-Portuguese colony. All in all, it is a MUST go to restaurant. Thank you for a memorable evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ODE Porto Wine House also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to ODE Porto Wine House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ODE Porto Wine House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.