We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and cosy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Save Saved
You added Vila Gale Porto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vila Gale Porto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Fernao De Magalhaes, 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 89 hotels in Porto
wicklow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and cosy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I stayed here at the begining of October for 4 nights. The hotel is very nice, clean and tidy. We arrived as a group of 19 but were dealt with in a very timely and friendly fashion. I found the staff here to be friendly, polite and helpful. Rooms were very clean and tidy and were of a decent size. Bathroom was well stocked and was clean and tidy also. It doesnt have much of a day time bar, but does have one on the 2nd floor which opens at 6pm. My one moan about the room would be that you have to pay daily for the use of the safe in your room. I feel this is a bit of over kill and should be provided free of charge. I went to breakfast each morning and found the food to be off a good standard and lots of it. Plenty of choice to suit most people. It is a good 15-20 minute walk into town and is not the most straight forward walk to undertake. A taxi will cost you approx €10 from hotel to town. I enjoyed my stay here and aside from the safe issue, I have no complaints. Just one thing, even though it is listed as a four star hotel, I feel it is more of a three star, so just be aware of this in case your are expecting really top class luxuary.

Room Tip: From talking to the other members in a group, all rooms were good. But if you can, get a room high u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. Our location, rooms, breakfast and Staff are fantastic. We have a fantastic product and a very professional and helpful team. VG Porto is a fantastic 4 stars Hotel in Porto! We just reshap the rooms, restaurant, reception.

best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    210
    84
    24
    4
See reviews for
81
131
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pitesti, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A very good hotel,near metro station 24 augusto,extremely helpful staff,clean rooms,the bathroom with heating,was perfect in a reining day.The food -breakfast very good.a good value for money.in Porto very good price for taxi and food in restaurants .i reccomand you pesce griato i was in oct 09 10 2013 -14 10 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Our quality/price is one of the best in Porto!!

best regards

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

THis is a lovely hotel with extremely helpful staff. The rooms are big nice and clean; the bathroom is excellent with heating and shower, hot water..etc. Room service was perfect, they even organise your clothes books for you.. very nice... The food including buffet-breakfast was one of the best hotel food I have had. Only issues were the internet in the rooms were not free but cheap to purchase however it did not work properly; its alternative, the internet in the lobby was very fast and free. There are no iron and coffee maker in the rooms. If you need these while your visit i highly suggest this hotel. The people work there are very welcoming and make you feel comfortable. I especially want to thank you the gentleman who helped me on my last day. Because of my panic i forgot to ask his name but i am sure he will remember me. He safely put me in the taxi while I was so panicky about catching my flight on a rainy Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our VG Hotel. We try on a daily bases to exceed expectations.

best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This is a lovely big hotel located within walking distance of the main tourist area. Very close to metro if required . It is good value for money though you will pay extra for things like your safe. The room was big, clean and the bathroom very modern, well equipped and with plenty of hot water and good water pressure. Breakfast buffet is very good and the room is large with lots of seating. Their evening buffet was adequate though a little expensive. Staff was very helpful. I’d certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Our location is a must and our staff is always to serve and to please the customer. Our price/quallity is one of the best in Porto!

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

After reading other reviews I had some concerns but now that my stay at this hotel is over, I really don't understand some of the issues. For starters, the 4 elevators work perfectly, don' t understand the complaints about waiting a long time for them. Cleanliness: spotless, both in the room and public areas. Anyway, the best thing about this hotel is the exceptional service provided either at the reception, restaurant or bar. Great staff: courteous, friendly, efficient and polite. Note to the management: take good care of them. They're a great asset to your hotel.
Area of improvement : free internet in the rooms.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Hotel. It is true that is true that our employees are our diamond and that´s why we have a team very stable and very efficient.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Stayed at this hotel 3 days, not a 4 star hotel. Rather a 3 star. Nice looking modern building but interior starting to show wear. Location not so charming, would not stray out at night in the Neigbourhood. Breakfast buffet was very good.Staff charming

Room Tip: A good averah=ge hotel except for location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest.,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the feed back that we receive and welcome every opportunity to improve. We are very pleased with your comments about the rooms, the breakfast and Staff.
We inform you that we are undertaking a major overhaul of the rooms and we will renovated most of them by end of the year.

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barking, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

absolutely livelt clean spacious hotel. Has pleanty of light, calm serene atmosphere. Staff very friendly especially Katerina in the restaurant. Food is delicious. Tuna steak and seabass was yumm. The spa facilities were brilliant and good value for the service offered. The jacuzzi is big and spacious, pool clean. Loads to eat in terms of snacks. Only 7 mins to old town where all the bars and restaurants are. Would highly recomment Meet bar (say hello to great bar men Frankie Ricardo and Ricardo) and Bank (brilliant dancers). Clubs open at 4am in the new town. As we went 1 week out of season we didnt venture out there as we were advised it would be very quiet. However; Old town was buzzing. Overall had an amazing stay and holiday. Felt safe. Left rooms open no issue.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VilaGaleHoteis, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was very positive and that Porto is a brilliant city!!!

He hope to see you soon...

Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Av. Fernao De Magalhaes, 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#22 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the city centre of Oporto, only a 10-minute walk away from the bustling, shopping street of Rua de Santa Catarina, and with prime access to the airport, the Vila Gale Porto hotel is the ideal choice for those who wish to know the North of Portugal more closely. The hotel offers 292 bedrooms, most notably the superior rooms with a privileged service, and multi-purpose halls with the perfect conditions for holding events and meetings. During your visit to Oporto, take the opportunity to stroll by the riverside area, get to know the popular Port Wine Cellars, visit Serralves and Casa da Musica. Vila Gale Porto has a total of 292 bedrooms. Among them, we highlight 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the 18th floor ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.