We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vila Gale Porto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vila Gale Porto to your Saves list
Vila Gale Porto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Fernao de Magalhaes, 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I stayed at Vila Gale for two nights and it was a really nice fancy place for a vacation in the city. It is about 15mns walk to the city center and near the metro station. The people there were very nice and the place was clean and very upscale. The only downside is at the time of my stay, they were construction going on and it was very disturbing sleeping in. you also have a pay a seperate small fee to enter the spa and use the facility, but since the hotel was not too expensive, it was worth paying the fee to use the spa. great service overall

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have amazing view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for your detailed description of our Hotel and its services. We are glad that you have had an enjoyable stay at our Vila Galé Porto Hotel. Regarding the construction, we really sorry to disturb you. It’s very difficult to manage this situation. We will finish this march the renovation of 80 rooms.
Best Regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    222
    99
    25
    4
See reviews for
104
161
25
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv, Ukraine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is elegant and is decorated in a cinema theme with photos and everything all around. I liked the hotel, it is centrally located, with a nice breakfasts served in a restaurant. I appreciated the most the pumpkin jam and tomatoes' marmalade :) along with usual european menu. I do recommend this hotel as an option to stay in Porto city.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. Porto is a fantastic place to visit and Vila Galé Porto Hotel a great place to stay! Thank you for yours options!

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Friendly service in a bit worn hotel. The rooms were of average size, with somewhat shabby furniture. For instance, the safe deposit box was broken (no lock). Cleaning could be improved as well. Beds were a bit hard for our taste. Breakfast buffet looked very good and had a large selection. However, both of us got stomach problems after eating there, so we only did it once! The location is quite ok, a bit of a walk to the old parts of the city though.
It was cheap, and I'm not overly picky, but I would probably choose another hotel next time around.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your contribution. We are glad that your overall experience was positive, but regrettably, not all our facilities met your expectations. Regarding the safe deposit, Clients should ask for the lock at reception. We are really sorry about your problems in the restaurant. We serve many Clients on a daily basis and we have no history about this situations.
Best regards.

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

nice and pleasant hotel, with proximaty to the center of the city very nice design and perfect breakfest which makes you feel very nice for the whole day, close to center, not far there is a restaurant - not the best one but nice to have a glass of wine and have a simple food ( by the way portions are rather big). Place is recommended

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrupoVilaGale, General Manager at Vila Gale Porto, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that the facilities and services were according to your expectations. For the next time you stay with us I hope you try our fantastic restaurant and bar.

Best regards,

bernardo ribeiro de mesquita
gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a comfortable, roomy hotel and strikes me as well maintained .The desk staff is very nice and tolerant and I want to thank them for their graciousness when I accidentally knocked the power out in my room at 4 in the morning(that was an adventure).The hotel is across the street from a supemarket which is good( although they have a check out lady there who could use some serious attitude adjustment.She seemed bound and determined to give people a hard time, unecessarily.Weird character).I should add the immediate neighborhood is kind of weird.There is a building foundation and part of a structural skeleton next door that looks like it was abandoned years ago.Many of the buildings right around the hotel are abandoned and there is another very strange building next door that appears to be a courtyard surrounded by small residences.It was kind of interesting watching it from above.That said , you are right near the subway and if it's not raining, everything is in walking distance.I should add the hotel is delightfully quiet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Walking Distance to everything in Porto, otherwise if you prefer the Metro it is also close
Easy Metro to and from the airport (1.80 Euro Z4 Zone 4 + 0.5 to purchase travel card)
Hotel only has free wifi in the lobby, or 5Euro cost in the room
Offers Tours: we booked our hop on hop off red bus at the reception, only thing to note for the port tasting, 2/3 port houses are closed on Sunday. would have been nice to be informed by the hotel staff.
Breakfast was a good variety and the staff in the breakfast area prompt and kept the area clean, clearing dirty plates as soon as they were finished.
We were 4 friends on a weekend trip, in a junior suite.. not sure if the word suite is appropriate... expect 2 single beds pushed together in bed room, a sofa single and a pullout bed in the lounge room.
TV was decent in the lounge room, there is a pointless tv in the bedroom, way too small in size to bother watching.
the inroom safe requires a key from the front desk unlike regular code safes.
Free computer in the foyer was handy to check the metro's to the airport after asking the hotel staff and being told it came every 20 minutes but them not actaully knowing the exact timetabled arrival.
FYI Departures from the airport is 6 past the hour and 36.
Departures to the airport 26 past and 56, every 30 minutes. Check Porto timetables online.
Overall a decent hotel which is in a good location for those wanting to walk and explore Porto

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh Northern Ireland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

very friendly staff, very helpful with maps and directions, good language skills, hotel very good value, really clean and tidy, breakfast superb, plenty of choice freshness and quantity, just 2 minute walk to metro station which is on main line to airport and all main lines,free computer in lobby and printing (boarding passes )rooms large with very good bathrooms, no problems in and around the hotel area came and went late at nights with no problems.

Nigel armagh northern ireland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vila Gale Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vila Gale Porto

Address: Av. Fernao de Magalhaes, 7, Porto 4300-190, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Porto
#8 Business Hotel in Porto
#19 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Vila Gale Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel is situated in the heart of Oporto and close to one of its' main shopping district. The Hotel is 1.5 km away form the city centre (Praca da Republica) and only 50 m from the transportation network which can easily be reached on foot. Restaurants and bars can be found all around the Hotel area. The distance to the closest beach is 8km and the airport is 15 km from the hotel. Opened in 1999, the hotel offers a total of 292 rooms spread over 21 floors. Among the rooms we can find 20 superior rooms, 12 junior suites and 7 superior suites on the top floor. The Hotel offers a 24-hour reception desk, Free Wi-Fi in public areas, wheelchair access, exterior parking spaces for cars and buses, garage (for and additional fee), lifts and hotel safe. Among the common areas you will find a restaurant, two bars, a TV room and a games room. This hotel is perfect for business events due to its 13 event rooms with several disposition and multimedia options. There is also a laundry services and medical assistance. The comfortable rooms are equipped with air conditioning, electronic safety door look, direct telephone, safe, LCD TV with Cable and Pay TV, Wi-Fi Connection (for and additional cost), Minibar and 24 hour room service, private bathroom with telephone and hair dryer. The hotel has a Health Club, which can be accessed for an additional fee, equipped with an indoor swimming pool, Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room / Turkish bath, Gym and Spa where you may enjoy massages and treatments. Breakfast and Lunch can be select from a wide buffet. Lunch and dinner may alternatively be taken a la carte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vila Gale Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Gale Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vila Gale Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.