We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only scores this highly due to great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Porto Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Porto Centro to your Saves list
Mercure Porto Centro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca da Batalha 116, Porto 4049-028, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get up to 40% off
Ranked #26 of 89 Hotels in Porto
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Only scores this highly due to great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

There isn't much to commend this hotel to anyone beyond (at least in theory) a great central location, a reasonably attractive lobby and pleasant staff. Ceilings are low in the rooms and our room didn't have much natural light. Breakfast is verging on being awful; all the things you would expect were there but it's of 2 - 3 star standard; the quality of the food is just way below what it should be. And the lobby bar offers a single variety of red wine by the glass; in a City full of wine! WiFi did not work anywhere except the lobby and only then when you repeatedly entered the password. I had the staff on the desk try and sort it and I tried different passwords to no avail. The square outside the hotel has some odd characters milling around; it doesn't feel dangerous, it reminded me slightly of a large train or bus station atmosphere; I was asked for money near the hotel on several occasions over two days. Finally, the hotel was busy with coach tour groups giving the lobby a budget feel a lot of the time, not to mention long lines at the front desk. My advice to you about Porto is this: Porto is not a big City (at least the bits you want to see in a long weekend) and the entire old City is very walkable from just about any other part of it. Don't obsess about location and chose this hotel only on that basis; we didn't see any inconveniently located hotels.

Room Tip: Suites are big but boxy - the superior rooms are actually nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    619
    188
    28
    23
See reviews for
189
534
70
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westchester, NY
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Comfortable hotel at the top of the hill in Porto, but not too far from the waterfront if you don't mind the walk uphill. It is also not far from the funicular should you decide not to walk.

The hotel itself is nothing to write home about on the outside, but inside it was quite nice. The rooms were plenty big by European standards and our room had a safe. The bed was a bit uncomfortable and the "hurricane blinds" did not open, which made the room a little dark. A nearby disco also blared music until late at night, but was not noticeable with windows closed.

All in all a nice place. I would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Mercure Porto Centro was located within walking distance from the bus station but it was also in a very good,safe section of town. Around the corner were many nice shops, cafes, and a convenient tour bus stop. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful or nicer. They made restaurant reservations for us and made good suggestions. Our bathroom had a large pink marble sink and a god shower. Our room was pleasant,clean, and from our window we had a terrific view. We could not have chosen a better location because we could walk to many places. At night taxis were readily available when we wanted to go to a restaurant somewhat far away. We stayed two nights here and I would definitely return to this hotel at a future date.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights for business. Liked the location a lot. Would definitely stay here again.

Pros:
Very accessible to all parts of the city.
Easy walk from metro station for 2,50 euro metro ride from airport
Accommodating and helpful staff; got early check-in
Very near S. Bento train and metro station
Easy access to Gaia and port wine cellars
Rooms were nice size, and amenities included bathrobes, plenty of shampoos, fruit plate
In house restaurant and bar and 24/7 room service
Front desk helpful with directions
Flat screen TV had multiple English channels (which is often a rarity)

Cons:
Breakfast buffet overpriced at 11 euros, as items not replenished often enough, and small number of items on buffet
Sometime Could hear people in room next door

As you can see, the pros outweigh the cons
Tip: If you come from the airport via metro, get off at the Bolhao station and follow,the signs to
Exit on Santa Catarina. Go south (DOWN the hill) about 10 minutes to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medellin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Porto is an ancient town surrounded by many tourist attractions, this hotel to see it from the outside does not represent its facilities, which are very appropriate to its location near tourist sites makes this advisable. It has Wi-Fi, no parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Good location close to central Porto, everything within walking distance. Rooms are clean, though a bit dated. Lazily ordered room service knowing it would be nothing amazing, but it was horrible and as always overpriced. Private off-street parking is a plus. Staff were friendly enough. It is slightly overpriced for what you get as there are other great hotels in area that are much nicer and cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We booked this hotel based on previous reviewers comments on location but we found it to be away from the centre. Yes, there is a steep hill to the hotel which is not a problem, we just expected it to be closer to the town. The area surrounding the hotel is not the most desirable with graffiti tagging and quite a few homeless people on the street. We didn’t eat in the hotel so cannot comment but we had a drink in the bar one afternoon which was very quiet. As we had a room on the second floor we didn’t get the chance to experience the rooftop views on the fifth floor, surely all guests should have access to this as I didn’t see it as part of the room benefits on booking? The rooms were a good size and comfortable although the beds were hard and there was a mini bar and kettle in the room. The house keeping was ok although the door to our room had been left open when we returned one evening. I raised this with reception who said they would inform management but no one ever contacted us to explain.

Porto is a pretty city but is undergoing a lot of development at the moment. We did the two day sightseeing bus tour mainly due to the terrible rain that we experienced during our stay and took a ride to the beach but it must have been out of season as there wasn’t much there to see. We also went on a tour of the Port cellars which we enjoyed very much, really interesting to see.

If we were to return to Porto we would look for a different hotel closer to the centre in a nicer location.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Porto Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Porto Centro

Address: Praca da Batalha 116, Porto 4049-028, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Porto
#17 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#18 Business Hotel in Porto
#22 Family Hotel in Porto
#23 Romantic Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Porto Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the hotel Mercure Porto Centro. This 4 star hotel is located in the city centre, in the historic heart of Porto, beside the Sao Joao Theatre. Just 17 km away from the international airport, the hotel is within easy reach of several forms of transport. The hotel has been fully refurbished and decorated with an understated theatrical theme. Book a room for your business or leisure trip. Visit Ribeira, Clerigos Tower and the famous Majestic Cafe in Santa Catarina street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Porto Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Accor Porto Centro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Porto Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.