We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dom Henrique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Dom Henrique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dom Henrique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Guedes De Azevedo 179, Porto 4049-009, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 89 hotels in Porto
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in Hotel Dom Henrique in late April 2013.

What we liked:
- good location, not closest to
the river but nice 15 minute walk to the river, very close to Metro line coming from the airport
- nice and tasty breakfast
- nice view if you're on the right side of the hotel
- nice bar on top floor, however very expensive
- nice and helpful staff
- clean room, however old fashioned and would need some modernisation
- nice and clean bathroom

What we disliked:
- we got option with "free" wi-fi and got a code that couldn't be used at two devises at the same time. Every time we wanted to use it we had to put a long code to the device, slow connection
- no tea/coffee facilities in the room

Generally, we would recommend the hotel. Good value for money. Also, as an alternative to overpriced hotel restaurant, there is an excellent buffet in a bar "Cunha" 2 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    135
    71
    16
    5
See reviews for
42
95
15
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bishops stortford
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here on the first night before we joined a Douro cruise. It was a replacement hotel but we got lucky because of the wonderful 17th floor resturant with fabulous views, great food and excellent service. The hotel was just off the centre so it was a little bit of a walk into town but not too bad. It was comfortable, clean and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. That meal and view will remain in the memory.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were commencing a River trip with a night prior to embarkation in the Hotel. It is not in the Centre of Oporto but is well placed.
The Hotel ambiance is excellent and the Resturant on the 17th Floor is exceptional. The quality of the food and excellent service made for a wonderful start to our holiday. The staff throughout could not have been more helpful. I thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get above 4th Floor to enjoy views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We arrived from the Trindade metro station in the cold and rain, walking past an unremittingly grim multi storey car park, into the the foyer of the Dom Henrique skyscraper and the initial impression was not good. The building's architectural style was redolent of 1960's Soviet Union, the furniture seemed dated, the bedroom was similarly stuck in a timewarp that wasn't appealing. And the view was out to the aforementioned car-park.

and yet......... Once we made the adjustment, we saw what was really going on with the building. It makes no apology for its period, and the furniture is of the period, as are the sculptures and paintings dotted around the hotel. It is as it always has been, and there is a uniqueness that sets it apart. Everything is as it was intended to be at the outset, nothing has been sacrificed in the interests of "progress". Even the chairs in the breakfast area were of the period.

At the top there is a 17th floor rooftop restaurant and bar, looking over the city. And the food is of a high quality and reasonably priced. Our only quibble is that we were caught for a cover charge for entertainment one evening, but I think it was a genuine error that we were not told about it.

The location is good (use the Bolhao metro station, not Trindade !) , the river and the main attractions are within easy walking distance yet it is away from the tourist concentrations.

We will stay there again next time we visit Porto.

Room Tip: The rooms are different sizes - those on the ends of the corridors are largest. Furthest away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is very well located and the services are average. The view from the room at 8th floor was very good, but from the bar at the 17th floor it was stunning! You should'nt miss it! The romantic package is a good deal, but is average.

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view to the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very clean spotless room, polite and very helpful staff, they evern helped to seach restaurants because I was looking for Halal food. The are souvenir shops and small supermarkets nearby. Make sure you ask the hotel frontdesk to call the taxi. Taxi in streets tends to increase the fare and refuse to use meter sometimes.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, in the beginning of April, with an organized group, invited by REAL COMPANHIA VELHA to visit their cellar and vineyards in Douro. If you are in the area do not miss this fantastic scenery.
Check-in was quite fast and cannot comment much about the reception as we did not need them very much. The rooms are very spacious, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom has everything you need and hot water comes running out immediately and with a lot of pressure. On the minus side is the furniture that is a bit dated and the hair dryer is a little bit old and could be stronger. However it does it’s job.
The bar on the 17th floor is really a must see and you should not miss it, as the view is fabulous, as well as the bar service – courteous and professional. Fantastic band playing on Friday night – Moustache Sax. Keyboard, guitar and 3 fantastic voices, who play a mix of blues and folk – I am fan!!!
We had also a dinner organized on Saturday in the hotel’s restaurant. Very nice service, but the food was a bit bland. Cannot comment on the price, as we were invited.
Breakfast was nice with much variety of breads, juices, cold cuts, only 1 sort of cheese though. In all: OK
Very centrally located, this hotel is perfect is you want to explore Porto.
I forgot a blouse in the room and they also founded, but charged me 5€ to send it back (I live in Portugal). I work in the hotel business and we do not charge the guests, when we have to return them forgotten items…. But there you go!
I enjoyed my stay here and can recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dom Henrique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dom Henrique Hotel

Address: Rua Guedes De Azevedo 179, Porto 4049-009, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dom Henrique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Dom Henrique-Downtown, located in the traditional centre of Porto, 300 metters from the Metro station TRINDADE with direct connection to the Airport and Campanhã train station, is the point of departure for the discovery of the city, its inhabitants and architecture. Steps away from Rua Santa Catarina, the main shopping zone of the city, the Hotel is at the proximity of the Theatres, several monuments including the ancient City area recognised by UNESCO as World Heritage, the Douro River Cruises boarding quay and 5 minutes away from the lively bars area of Rua da Galeria de Paris. The city view from the “17º RESTAURANT & BAR”, on the top floors, is unique and a must to all visitors of the Hotel. You can also appreciate the tilled wall, created by Júlio Resende, a renowned artist, in Restaurant “ALÉM-MAR”, on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Dom Henrique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Dom Henrique
Dom Henrique Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dom Henrique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.