We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a modern, well designed room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Oporto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Eurostars Oporto to your Saves list
Eurostars Oporto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Mestre Guilherme Camarinha, 212, Porto, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great value for a modern, well designed room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The Eurostars Oporto is a surprisingly modern and smart hotel in the suburbs of Porto. It was great value and it was only a short metro ride into town.

The rooms were generous in size, great natural themed decor and came with a small kitchen area. I would not call this an apartment hotel, rather a well equipped hotel room. The bed was large, the shower and bathroom cleverly configured in separate areas and I had a small balcony facing the front.

The local area has a number of cheap eateries, so I did not use the hotel restaurant and bar. Wifi worked well and the fridge had plenty of additional space.

The area was quiet at night so no problems with noise. Air conditioning worked well.

I had trouble using the room door lock - but that was quickly solved by the friendly staff. Car parking is hard to find during the day, so for a small fee you can park in the basement.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back would probably be a bit quieter, but overall the area does not have a lot of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    136
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
185
15
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachland, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed at the Eurostars Oporto for five nights in July 2014. It's a business class hotel, not close to downtown, but (I gather) with good access for those with cars. I chose it because I have mobility issues, and use the metro and buses a lot, so I like to be very close to a metro stop, and the Eurostars Oporto is certainly close to a metro stop.

From the train station you need to transfer at Trindade on the the D line, but that's no problem. The Porto metro is a thing of beauty. Modern stations, with lifts and escalators, clear signage, and very modern trains. The hotel is in the middle of nowhere, between a hospital and a large number of apartment buildings, but the trip downtown only takes a few minutes on the metro.

Overall, I can recommend it with some reservations. The room was excellent, as was the bathroom. The front desk people were polite and friendly. The room had an electronic safe, good (but not especially large) TV, and a terrace (more on that later). There are two modern lifts (although one stopped working while we were there and they didn't seem in a rush to fix it). It also has a fridge and you can get supplies at the I.P.O. metro stop, which you can actually walk to, it's so close. The free wi-fi worked great.

I didn't eat there (breakfast seemed very expensive) but there are a large number of cafes across the street that are excellent, and very inexpensive. In fact we made it a point not to eat supper downtown and to have late supper near the hotel after we returned from a day of sightseeing.

I would stay there again, because it met my needs: very close to a metro stop, good eateries very close, good value for money, and excellent room and bathroom.

Now the reservations:

First, it's supposed to be an aparthotel. There is a fridge (which doubles as a minibar), microwave and stove in the kitchenette (this is the double room, not the apartment). Unless you pay extra the cooking pots and pans and crockery are locked away, making self catering much more difficult. I really only ever use the fridge in hotel rooms (this fridge had a freezer compartment so you could make ice cubes), but if you want to self cater, be aware.

Second, the rooms have balconies (or terraces), that have no furniture on them! No chairs, no tables, nothing! In the evening, when the sun is off the front of the hotel, it would be nice to sit out, and have a glass of wine in the cool of the evening without having to drag chairs from the room on to the terrace!

Third, and this is a minor inconvenience, Porto has a zone metro system. The base metro ticket is Z2, which lets you cross from one zone to an adjacent zone. The center of Porto is zone C1, across the river is adjacent zone S8 and the ever so nice Foz district is adjacent zone C2. If you are downtown in C1, the base Z2 ticket will let you travel pretty anywhere you want to go. The hotel is in zone C6, so a Z2 ticket will take you downtown but if you want to go from the hotel across the river or to Foz in one trip, you need a Z3 ticket. A little inconvenient, but I got the hang of it. If you buy a 24 hour metro ticket you kind of need to decide how many zones you will cross in any one trip during those 24 hours. In Lisbon on the other hand, a 24 hour ticket gets you everywhere the metro, buses, and trams go, without worrying about zones. The zone issue aside, Porto has about the best, most modern, public buses and metro trains I have ever seen.

If you want to save money, but like the idea of being in that general area and very close to the metro station you might want to consider the Ibis at the I.P.O. metro station (which I noticed when I was shopping, but I've never stayed there). It is super convenient and a lot cheaper, but it's an Ibis. If you've stayed at one you know what I mean. If I were to return to Porto I'd stay at the Eurostars again but I really wish they'd put furniture on the terrace.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Eurostars Oporto for one week in mid April 2014. It has spacious rooms with modern equipment. The hotel is located in a quiet street away from the city center and is conveniently near a metro stop. The staff are helpful and pleasant. The breakfast is well served. I recommend it for anyone staying in Northern Portugal.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Small but cosy hotel. Location is good and not far from downtown Lisbon.
Service was great and very welcoming. Helped me organise various tours with ease.
Breakfast was very good. Many options. Nice courtyard.
Rooms were small. Fells more like a business hotel rather than to accommodate families.
Their credit card system was down to finalize my balance. However, they did not keep me waiting as i would have missed my flight. They were happy to charge me later and invoice me.
Will come again.

Room Tip: No view to dont worry about the room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oulu, Finland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was our choice because we arrived from the airport and next day continued our trip to north. If there's no need to visit at Porto's city center, this is a considerable option. It's about 20 minutes on a taxi from the airport. The location is quiet and peaceful, but there's not many restaurants or cafes around. Room was very clean and spacious. Service and the atmosphere were business-like: fluent but not very personal.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Reading previous reviews, I was a little concerned the location might not be that good. Wrong --- no need to have worried, metro virtually on your door step, 10 minutes ride and right in the heart of Porto. Extremely easy to use the metro and buying the travel card also allows you to jump on and off the buses. Rooms in the hotel very good, excellent shower and extremely quiet location, with plenty of cafes to have breakfast or light lunch.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Great stay: we were blown away at the quality for the price. Everything looked brand new. The service was friendly and helpful. Nice parking underneath. The room was spacious with a nice TV and air conditioning. The location is about a 15 minute drive from downtown but in a nice area. We were there for 3 nights and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Oporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Oporto

Address: Rua do Mestre Guilherme Camarinha, 212, Porto, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#7 Best Value Hotel in Porto
#7 Family Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#14 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Oporto 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Oporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Oporto Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Oporto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.