We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rooms and surprising good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eurostars Oporto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Eurostars Oporto to your Saves list
Eurostars Oporto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Mestre Guilherme Camarinha, 212, Porto, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Good rooms and surprising good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here twice, at the beginning and end of our recent trip to Porto and Galicia. Although it seems slightly out of the way, it's an easy journey from the airport on the metro - take line E (purple) to Trindade, then change to line D (yellow) to Hospital Sao Joao, the end of the line. From there, it's a quick walk across the road to the hotel.

The hotel itself is a modern building, clean and functional. The room doors are difficult to open without careful instruction! The rooms themselves are a reasonable size, with a separate shower room and toilet. The much advertised 'full kitchen facilities' aren't great. There is a microwave, a fridge, some cutlery, but nothing else. I wouldn't go there expecting to do any self-catering. The rooms are very comfortable and very clean. The staff were helpful, but we didn't really have much interaction with them.

It's easy to get into town, using the Metro, and there's a handy shopping centre at nearby IPO (the stop just before the hotel, but only a 5 minute walk), which has a Froiz supermarket. There are plenty of restaurants and cafes by the hotel, so you do have choices if you don't want to eat in the centre of Porto. Our favourite was the lovely cafe and cake shop just in front of the hotel - most excellent cakes. There is also a great burger place called 'Tropical Burger', which does the largest burgers known to mankind.

So, this is a good hotel, in a handy location, with plenty of eating choices around. The rates are excellent, so this is worth looking at.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the front are good, with balconies overlooking the reasonably quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    143
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
192
16
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a last minute decision. We decided to drive from Spain and were pleasantly surprised when we arrived.

The hotel itself fees like a renovated appartment building. It was very modern, nice and clean. Good value for the price.
What we enjoyed the most was the convenience of the location. We had a rental car but we barely used it.
The hotel is whithin walking distance from the train terminal. The train is fast and cheap.
We did not eat dinner at the restaurant, however, breakfast was great. Good selection and the juices are fresh.

The only thing missing was a gym or work out facility in the hotel.

Rooms were quiet every night. No specific views from the rooms since this is in a residential area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo - Brazil
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Eurostars Oporto is situated outside the downtown, but there is a metro station 100m and a supermarket 300m from the hotel. The staff is gentile, and the room has a good size. The breakfast is just normal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent hotel. The new. Large rooms. Great bathroom. There is a kitchen with all the amenities. Good breakfast. Underground parking for an additional fee. Very good location, close to the subway, close to the exit of the city. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've chosen this hotel mainly bacause of the very good reviews. Hotel is nice and tidy, tastefully decorated and even if it's not in the city centre can be easily reached by metro so its location doesn't seem to bother.
However, what surprised me most and I has no price tag was staff attitude. I can't even say that they were properly behaved, yes they would do whatever were asked for but I didn't see a smallest sign of the smile ( was talking to 3 different reception staff) and have never heard a gretting while entering the hotel or leaving it. It is not what you do in 4 star hotel because of its rating but it's just a matter of good manners. I had the feeling that their work there was some kind of punishment. I believe that one's attitude is one of the main tools in the hoteliers industry, it costs nothing but changes a lot.
Also for people who have real problems with sleeping please be careful some rooms might be noisy (we had two different) - in the first one I could hear the water flowing all night and it the other the kitchen area was loud... don't know what it was.
Hadn't have a breakfast booked but there's a nice pastry place 2 minutes walk from the hotel.
If not for the staff attitude I would mark this hotel as 4 or even 5.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lappeenranta, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Checked the hotel from tripadvisor, and noted all the good reviews. However the hotel was very basic. It had a kitchen, but not any plates or similar. So the kitchen was useless. The room was quite cold and the air conditioning was noisy. The toilet was always cold.

However a great location, just a couple of minutes from the metro stop. We didn't have any breakfast at the hotel. We found a small shopping mall just 5min from the hotel, near the IPO metro station. There are some great breakfast places, where you could have a breakfast for 5€.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bexhill on sea
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

very average. more for business than leisure. room good size , kitchen area included but was useless as there were no utensils or crockery. why is it there? space would have been better used to enlarge bathroom to include a bath instead of just a shower. room quite gloomy due to very dark wood furniture and wooden floor meant hearing footsteps all the time from other rooms. toiletries were sparse only a bar of soap and some shower gel. no shampoo. food at breakfast not replenished very quickly if at all so get to eat early if you want choice or you will have to wait. lastly the views are attrocious, out front a road and apartment blocks, out back waste ground with rubbish and a wonderful site of an electricity pylon yards from the room particularly 315. two good things though, most staff were friendly and very helpful and it is only 5 minutes away from Porto's great metro service which is inexpensive, clean and frequent.

Room Tip: don't take room 315 or it's neighbours
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eurostars Oporto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eurostars Oporto

Address: Rua do Mestre Guilherme Camarinha, 212, Porto, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#7 Best Value Hotel in Porto
#8 Family Hotel in Porto
#14 Business Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Eurostars Oporto 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eurostars Oporto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Oporto Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eurostars Oporto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.