We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN PORTO!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Armazem do Sal

Armazem do Sal
Rua Cima Muro 42-r/c, Porto 4050-199, Porto 4050-199, Portugal
220 442 770
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #604 of 767 restaurants in Porto
Price range: $14 - $21
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Situated not right on the street level but one above, with a tiny terraced space for several tables to eat al fresco. Clean and simple yet looking chic. People were most polite and nice. Though not on the menu, we have asked for some grilled sardines (they had roast sardines), and they pleasantly obliged, and cooked up the BEST grilled sardines as well as salmon and sea bass. A restaurant certainly NOT to be missed or overlooked simply because it is not on your eye level from the riverfront. A true gem, 120% recommendable. If interested I have a few photos of the venue and dishes.
1 review
“THE WORST EXPERIENCE IN PORTO!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Do not go there! We entered to have a glass of wine (we asked if we can have a drink only, without any food, they said yes). The wine was ok, nothing special, but it cost 5euro a glass (you can find places for 2e in Porto). And then it turned out that they added to our bill ADDITIONAL "music FEES"...5e per person! That was 30 euros for 3 glasses of wine! When we asked about it, they said that there is a "minimum consumption required" of 25 euros (they showed us a paper that was hidden somewhere at the entrance). We started to argue with them, they guy was very unpleasant and repulsive. He threatened us that he would call the police. When we told him to do so, obviously he didn't but he started to talk to some guys that were outside (his friends? bodyguards?) that stood at the entrance (so that we wouldn't leave, I assume). We paid and left.
This is a restaurant that is on the upper level, and has a terrace with purple lights.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

33% Recommend
    16
    7
    12
    10
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Everett, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unpleasant Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

After a wonderful 10 days in Portugal, we finally had a bad dining experience. Up to this point, the people and the food have been outstanding. Then came dinner Sunday night. We were greeted at the restaurant cordially and the wait staff at first appeared to be accommodating to seating us outside with a view of the Douro River. Our actual waiter however appeared either tired or annoyed and was quite abrupt when taking our order. When questioned about the difference between the Chef and the cococabana salad, he simply replied the ingredients are as listed below in the description. Well, cococabana in Portugal means that your salad is covered in sweetened coconut flakes, which when not expected as it was not in the ingredients listed, is quite surprising to find on your chef salad. We asked the waiter to come over and review the dishes and when the salad was not acceptable, he simply replied that this is what we ordered and walked away. My husband ordered a steak in port wine sauce and the steak was so tough and drowned in sauce, it also wasn't edible. The waiter did not attempt to amend the situation so we paid the bill and left with no intention to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Location and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Away from the crowds at quay level of Cais de Ribeira and just a few steps up, you'll find a very good restaurant. Armazémda do Sal has a few tables outside on the upper level overlooking the river Douro. Also, you have a wonderful view of the Ponte Luis I. But there is more than just location. The staff is very attentive and friendly and the food is definitely good. In addition, they have good wines. We had a delicious Vinho Verde Muralhas de Monção 2011. The combination view, away from the hustle and good food, makes Armazémda do Sal a perfect place for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We picked this restaurant only because of the location and the fact that there was a table outside on the terrace available. It is on the port with great views but on the upper level and so away from the hustle and bustle of the road level. I expected that the food would be only average at best in such a touristy location. I was mistaken. I ordered the calamari, one of my favorite dishes, and it was absolutely fantastic. The calamari tasted very fresh and not at all rubbery, it was deliciously seasoned and in addition the vegetables and salad served with it were equally good. The service was fast, attentive and efficient, there was a musician playing on the terrace, the weather was perfect and so it was a great dining experience overall. However, luckily one of us had cash because they told us they don't accept credit cards!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Nice location overlooking the river but the positive ends there. The food was not good, cold, way too salty and not a good representation of Portuguese food. The service was incredibly slow considering it was winter and not at all busy. Would not return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Armazem do Sal also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Armazem do Sal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Armazem do Sal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.