We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice burgers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BUGO Art Burgers

BUGO Art Burgers
Rua Miguel Bombarda, 598, Porto 4050-379 Porto, Portugal
00351226062179
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 908 Restaurants in Porto
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Mediterranean, Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Bugo Art Burgers is located at Miguel Bombarda Street, the Art Galleries’ Street of Oporto city. Its main goal is to challenge the predefined concept of a hamburger place.Having the Burger as its main theme, the menu was inspired by international gastronomy combined with the essence of Portuguese cuisine. Textures, flavors and sensations make BUGO a restaurant of experiences.BUGO offers a different and varied menu that surprises. Where else could you taste a hamburger with chopsticks?
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

BUGO Art Burger is a nice place to have an original and healthy burger. We are 2 and both ate a burger from €9 (common) and had a glass of whine (€2,5). We were there at 21.30 and they didn't have chips nor the bread for the burger anymore which was very dissapointing. Reminder, don't forget to order your burger medium or well done, it's not a steak!! (which we like rare)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    105
    25
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

One of the best meals I've had in Europe, and ever.
Had lunch here twice in a 3 day stay in Porto. It is away from the main touristy area, located in the Art district, but worth it! Vegetarian options, great prices, the staff was friendly, and overall a great dining experience. DO NOT PASS THIS PLACE UP!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely one of the best burgers ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This small restaurant offers beautifull burgers in Porto. If you think this kind of Mc Donalds, you´re wrong. They have around 10 different kind of burgers, which all of them you can choose with meat or chicken. They also have 3 vegeterian burgers, and the best thing ever is that if you do not wanna take your burger with bun, you can take 2 sides instead (f.ex. salad and fries). If you go to porto this is one the places to visit. Burgers cost around 10€.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Burgers ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Amazing place! Discovered by accident and we had a great experience. Lovely staff, friendly, helpful and English speaking. It was quite busy the second time we went and had to wait almost 30 minutes for a table. The first time we went for dinner and then repeat it at lunch time. The black Angus burger is divine! The wine by the glass choices are surprising. They have special menus for lunch for a very fair price, and for dinner the menu is more elaborated. Overall, excellent and creative burgers, good service, cozy place, nice small terrace. Highly recommendable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pretty Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We went to the restaurant on a Sunday, it was closed, but then again many restaurants and cafés in Porto usually are (cannot understand the logic!). We went back on Monday and the restaurant was full, so we asked to be put on a waiting list. We were told it would take some time, but we could back around an hour later, which we did. Upon our arrival, we were surprised to know that people coming after we did got a table, and we went from top of the list to bottom. We had to wait a good half an hour (if not more) under the hot sun (glad it was not a hot Summer day) and watch people go in as we waited. Also, tables were free but since they hadn't been cleared yet, the waiting continued. They lack personnel and cannot respond to costumer's needs in a fashion and timely manner.
When we finally got a table, a nice waitress handed us the menus and it was pleasant to see that she was fairly knowledgeable as far as the menu was considered, and was ready to give good advice. Luckily we got a table outside, because inside it was a little to warm.
A full meal (couvert, hamburger, drink and coffee) was at a nice price (around 8€) but the truth of the matter was we never actually got to see the couvert. When we mentioned it, the waitress apologized and offered to bring it (bit late, though, since we had already eaten the hamburgers, so we refused it).
The hamburgers were alright, though not the best I have eaten, I could think of a place or two from the top of my head where I would have better ones. The basmati rice was ok too, though I have had better as well. We also had a dessert, Tarte de Leite Condensado (I believe), and that was indeed good, that one I recommend.
Overall, we left the place not very pleased with the service and not so impressed with the food. They were not rude, but they clearly need more people to attend on so many people, as quality of service easily decreases and customers will not be happy. The food was not so fabulous (we had some expectations as the place was recommended).
We would not go back. We went there, seen it, tasted it, and that is that. Also, we will not be recommending the place to any friends going to Porto. It is not worth the trip, since you will most likely not find something amazing, and maybe even part a bit upset or disappointed.
It was ok, not impressive (not by far!)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BUGO Art Burgers also viewed

 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to BUGO Art Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BUGO Art Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.