We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas to your Saves list
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on our way back from getting Married in the Algarve ,We were made to feel so special as we arrived we received a room upgrade overlooking the main square that is beautiful, The hotel itself is luxury everything is immaculate all the staff are so helpful i would defiantly stay here again on a rip to Porto,The city is a lot smaller than you think and the hotel is at the heart of it all with everything within approx 5 minute walk so really handy if you are planning a city break.. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

Room Tip: Go for the Square view well worth it..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr bano075,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience about the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, during your Honeymoon.
I’m delighted you have enjoyed your upgrade to an Executive room in such special occasion and all the staff were helpful during your visit to Porto city.
Would like to thank your kind words and for highly recommend us to other visitors of Porto city.

We are looking forward to welcome you back, who knows for the 1st wedding anniversary.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    664
    128
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
118
462
30
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montebello, NY
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This Hotel is in a great central location and provides excellent service as well as excellent accommodations, even if the rooms tended to be a bit "dim" in terms of lighting. I am also not a fan of opaque glass doors in bathrooms - but that is personal taste. They slipped a bit in the food services - I would have expected a hotel to be better set up to provide a cup of coffee in a travel cup. 3.5 Euro's, and a cup of such poor design I had to throw it out before scalding myself and others. When I asked for a power converter I was handed a little plug (they use a very strange configuration in Portugal) and when I expressed surprise as I thought that Portugal ran on 220, no one could seem to answer the question - I didn't take a chance. Things like this affect the rating however, and a 5 needs to be truly special in my book.

Room Tip: You want a high floor overlooking the Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Mr Apopik,

Thank you for taking part of your precious time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
Your feedback is very important to us and we would like to thank you for given it, this will help us to improve our Hotel.

Hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is by far the best selection if you wish to stay at a centrally located hotel with excellent service and room accommodations. Located on the Praça de Liberdade. Street side rooms offer an excellent view over the entire square. We never had any problems with street noise. The hotel took great care in modernizing the bathrooms. More appropriate placement of main mirror lights to prevent dark spots and choice of LED instead of the heat producing halogen would have been a better choice. Breakfast was satisfactory with nothing really outstanding offered. A better choice would be one of many coffee pastry shops within a block or two. All personnel are professionally trained from housekeeping to their concierge. They try to make your stay the best.

The reason for four stars instead of five should in no way stop someone from staying at the InterContinental but one of their internal quality control program. I had left a personal item in the room and emailed them and the manager with no response. I subsequently filled out their email survey form with the information provided and for them to respond to me. Again, no response. If a hotel chain the size of InterContinental can’t respond to their own survey than how do they expect to improve for more serious flaws in their service suffered by other guests. This then becomes an opportunity for this hotel to having increasing number of problems that could be solved but don’t.

Update

After posting this review with no further solicitation I received an email response to my lost item. They did have it and I already have my favorite belt.

This is what customer service and follow up is all about. Yes, it now deserves five stars and a definite recommendation as your choice in Porto.

Room Tip: High floors on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mr Cozysdad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay in our Hotel and for giving us back our fifth star!
I’m delighted to see you have enjoyed your stay and you have received your favourite belt back.

All our team is looking forward to open, once again the doors of your “home” at Porto city.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We were guests in this wonderful hotel in May, 2014. The hotel actually began its wonderful service to us *before* we arrived by the concierge's personal email to us asking how he could arrange dining, excursions, etc. for our stay. From the moment we walked inside, we were made to feel as if our stay was important to the staff. Our room was lovely and large. This old palace was completely rebuilt inside before opening a few years ago, with only the facade of the original palace left intact. Thus, large and wonderfully appointed bathrooms and rooms; state of the art electronics and wifi, etc. Bed was very comfortable and the double paned windows and french balcony doors ensured a quite night's sleep despite the view of the avenida liberdade.

The hotel concierge went way above and beyond to arrange a tour of the Douro wine region by private car with short notice for us. We loved the tour and were very appreciative that he would make so many calls and work so hard to ensure that we could take this private tour when we had not given him enough notice.

The breakfast buffet is wonderful. We dined at the hotel one night and had a fabulous meal. The bartender in the bar was very knowledgeable about Spanish wines and ensured we got to experience the local wines with his helpful input.

The cost of this hotel including breakfast is a true bargain compared to many European cities, but Portugal isn't Paris....that said, Porto was a beautiful town in a beautiful and friendly country and I would highly recommend that anyone visiting this area choose this hotel. Food, service, comfort and perfect location for exploring all that Porto has to offer.

Room Tip: Get a superior room with a view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mrs Deborah L,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience about the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, during your visit to Porto city.
There aren’t enough words to thank you for the kind post on TripAdvisor regarding our Hotel and above all your kindest words about our Team, they will be delighted to acknowledge your feedback about their work.

I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back, who knows in a special date or anniversary.
Once again, thank you.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We arrived by car and actually missed the hotel first time around as so much was going on at the time of our arrival. The universities were all celebrating their end of year and was getting ready for their annual parade. We were lucky to have arrived earlier than the required check-in or we would have never gotten into the hotel, as it is situated in the main part of town. (excellent location). The concierge, Roberto was excellent throughout our stay. He gave us great information on what to see and always greeted us by name as we walked pass his desk even when he was busy with other guests. Michael at the restaurant was also a huge asset to this hotel; so very friendly and helpful. To be trueful, all of the staff were friendly and treated us well. As mentioned, we arrived early and our room was not quite ready for us and we appreciated the receptionist taking us to the bar to receive a complimentary port while we waited a short time for our room. Our room overlooked the main street - where we could see the festivities of the students and hear them but that did not worry us at all. They finished up around midnight and it was great to watch them enjoy themselves anyway. The room was of a large size, especially the bathroom. All of the amentities were of high standard. The rooms curtains were thick and dark and blocked out the outside light totally. We had dinner and breakfast in the hotels restaurant and were extremely pleased on both occassions. Check out was smooth and our car did not take long to get when we were leaving.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed in the Intercontinental in Porto for five nights recently. We arrived somewhat before normal check in and we were given an upgrade to a suite. The suite itself was beautifully appointed, quiet and wonderful in all respects. The hotel staff was very attentive throughout our stay, and we returned to our room on one night to find chocolates, and on another to find a half bottle of port wine. This is a very special hotel, and we think that it is one of the very best in the world. Porto is wonderful, and this is the place to stay if you visit this magical city.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mrs Caroline-LosAngeles1,

Thank you for choosing the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas during your visit to Porto city.
I’m delighted to know you have enjoyed your upgrade to a Duplex Suite during your early check-in and our VIP treat for long stay reservations.
All our Team would like to thank your kind words about their service and for electing us one of the very best Hotels in the world.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in a near future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

this is a fantastic hotel, located just in the centre of many attractions, and next to the train station. their staffs are friendly and helpful, perfect room for 2 and amazingly delicious breakfast buffect! I would definitely come back the next time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Mr/Mrs Agnesli,

Thank you for taking part of your precious time to share your experience at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
I’m delighted to acknowledge the Hotel location was suitable during your visit to Porto city and that our staff stood out during your stay.
We hope your next visit it’s in a nearest future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.