We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in Heart of City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas to your Saves list
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Porto
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel in Heart of City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This should be your hotel when visiting Porto. Everything is as it should be and much more. Rooms are very nice and comfortable- and the bed is particularly good. The ambiance of the hotel is gracious, comfortable and welcoming. Staff is pleasant and very helpful. The hotel is very well cared for. Food, while not excellent, is very good, and other excellent restaurants abound in Porto. And the truism of location, location, location fits this hotel. The hotel is right in the heart of the city, within walking distance to many sights, the tram passes right in front of the hotel, the train station is across the street (along with the subway), and excellent shopping is just a short walk away. It is seldom that everything "fits right" for a hotel but it does for this one.

Room Tip: Ask for room on high floor facing the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr MichaelW

What more can we say than a big thank you for sharing such a fantastic review!
The entire team is looking forward to welcoming you back to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas the next time you visit Porto.
Wishing you a happy and successful 2014.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    126
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
460
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We've stayed in Porto for 3 nights.
The location is very good, near the centre and shopping aria.The rooms are big.They even upgrade us to a studio because we were looking for the most quiet room.
The breakfast is very good, with a lot of regional products.The staff was attentive and polite.A good hotel to stay in Porto!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr DoctorDermatology,

Thank you for sharing you feedback about our Hotel on Tripadvisor.
We realize you have enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to receive you once again.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite with my wife and I in the bedroom and my teenage son on the sofa bed in the lounge. We stayed for 3 nights in December 2013.

First impressions were of a polite professional staff in a beautifully classic styled hotel.

From the collection of the bags from the car when we pulled up, through to the efficient check in and delivery to the room, set the scene for the polished professional and skilled service delivery from the staff.

The room was well appointed and, like the rest of he hotel, it was spotlessly clean.

The service in the bar was good with the ability to do the most amazing things with gin in particular.

High praise for the restaurant - we decided to eat there twice as it was so good - the service impeccable from knowledgeable and attentive staff and the food of a very high order (and we eat out a lot...too much:))

Really hard to fault it - the culture is one of professional service, the location great...really a very good hotel and among the best experiences I have had having stayed in many 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr David S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in our Hotel and Porto is truly an extraordinary city. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the attentive service the team provided as well as the facilities of the hotel.
Our Bar have some theme nights, been one of those the Jazz & Gin, on Friday’s night with 20 different Gin’s with the intimacy of live Jazz music.

Once again, thank you for such a wonderful review. We are looking forward to welcome you back to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

The location couldn't be more convenient for travel--just around the corner from the São Bento train station (with its beautiful tile-work). The staff are friendly, the public spaces impressive and the rooms tastefully decorated. Those on the front overlook the lovely Avenida dos Aliados. I suppose in summer they might be a bit noisy between the traffic and the crowds, but I would still opt for one of them given the wonderful air and light. Porto is a fascinating city, filled with interesting architecture and attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Mr Maeve32,

Thank you for the review and for the kind words about Porto city and our Hotel.
I am truly delighted to learn that the team and hotel facilities made such a great impression.
We are looking forward to receive you once again In our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for one night in june 2013. Was in the city for work and got stuck for one night extra when our flight was cancelled. And we changed from another - not very nice hotel - to this one. We were not sorry!

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The beds are AMAZING! Never slept better! The room felt more like a suite, it was huge with beautiful decorations. Almost felt royal. The staff is friendly and the service is excellent. The hotel is nicely situated in walking distance from lots of cosy and nice restaurants. Only sorry I just got to stay one night!

If I ever go back to Porto - I will absolutely stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear MrPimPamPei,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words. It is very important to us to realize you had such a memorable stay back in June and you will came back to our Hotel when visiting Porto.
We are looking forward to receive you in a nearest future.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Centrally located, beautifully decorated hotel in Porto - a true 5 stars experience. The concierge was super helpful - he even arranged a private tour at the Graham's for us. Parking at EUR22 was quite steep tho...but I guess that's the price you pay at the hotel like this.

Breakfast buffet at the hotel was splendid! Make sure you include breakfast in your reservation.

The hotel has a gym and a steam room in the basement (same level as the spa treatment).

This was truly a great hotel to stay at. Friendly staff and royal-like treatment! Highly recommended for anyone looking for a romantic and luxury experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mr Mayonaka,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay within the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas.
I am delighted to hear that our facilities and specially our service met your expectations, in deed our team is our crown jewel.

We trust that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Top Contributor
538 reviews 538 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
368 helpful votes 368 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you are still looking for a hotel at this charming city of O Porto, stop searching: you've just found it! Intercontinental Porto Palácio das Cardosas will be your address while visiting O Porto. First of all, it is a Palace! Completely and carefully renovated. "Chic et racé", as French visitors would happily say. They've done an excellent job: good taste, beautiful marbles, modern furniture, special lighting and bathrooms with designer's signatures: a real dream "salle de bains". Main hall already gives you a good hint of what is expecting you. Located at central "Praça dos Aliados", at the very heart of O Porto, it is close to almost every thing, any top attraction is at a walking distance, even the Railway Station (considered one of the most beautiful stations in the whole world and fully decorated with the incredible traditional Portuguese tiles). Pay attention to "Bar das Cardosas" on the ground floor and spend there some time, listening to the great music, at a fantastic signature décor. You'll enjoy it. Restaurant Astória is also extremely beautiful, but has been receiving mixed reviews. So, check it and tell us your conclusions. Finally, two last remarks: 1) Housekeeping - impeccable! Cleanliness is a fantastic characteristic of Palácio das Cardosas and you can't imagine the great smell you'll feel all over the place - parfum stickers are seen everywhere; and 2) Front Desk and Conciergerie: Outstanding staff: young, gentle, helpful and efficient, due to excellent and extensive training. Prices are accordingly to similar hotels in the world, but you'll have the good feeling that every single cent was extremely well spent. I loved it! Enjoy!

Room Tip: A room with a view is always nice. My room had no unforgettable view, but was an excellent room, a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Mr luizdutraneto,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our location, quality of the room and specially our service. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team.

We all look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the not too distant future.
All our Team wishes you a Happy New Year.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.