We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Hotel in a Lovely City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas to your Saves list
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Porto
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Classic Hotel in a Lovely City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel forms part of the historic facade of buildings that face onto the large main square/ avenue of the city. It's in a central location with 2 metro stations within easy walking distance as well as the main train station, several restaurants, etc.

The room was spacious and and bathroom too, with a walk-in shower and a separate bath. We didn't really use the restaurant, although we did have a light breakfast on the terrace, which given the hotel and location, was very reasonably priced. Bar staff were accommodating.

We took advantage of the concierge for advice at the hotel more than any other place we have stayed, but they were happy to help.

If this hotel had a swimming pool it would be right up there. In its absence the small gym had to do. We did use those facilities to extend our stay beyond the extended checkout because it was a late evening flight.

In summary, I would say the friendliest staff of all the major hotels we have visited.

Room Tip: We looked out onto the square which is a fine view, but it did mean we woke up (not so early) to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear jd_brawn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us!
How wonderful is to be mentioned and remembered as the Hotel with the most friendliness staff, as we always say to our teams that they are the only ones that can set up a difference on a stay!!
“Taking advantage” of our concierge is making them happy, as they love to unveil all the fantastic secrets and tips of the City, which they actually are very proud of.
Once again, thank you very much for your review and we hope to welcome you back in a near future, even knowing that we do not have the swimming pool!!

Yours sincerely,

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    126
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
460
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Isidro, Argentina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved the hotel, very well placed, in the center of the old town, everything round the corner
Take the yellow bus for a visit round the city and the boat tour
I recommend the visit to Graham's Port, get a free entrance from the hotel Concierge, Rogelio will manage all for you
Dinner at the hotel was very good, we had an Octopus carpaccio and then a very good rack of lamb
Then you must have dinner at Opaparico, reserve with Rogelio at the hotel, incredible dinner, all is great

Room Tip: Club room on the 3 erd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Lyons

“A must if you stay in Porto” is definitely a wonderful expression to start a review!!
Great to hear that your stay was at the level of your expectation and you appreciated it so much. Quoting your stay a 5 out of 5 is very rewarding for us.
Our aim is this, create memorable and wonderful experiences to our guests, and we could not be in a better city, location, and within a better product to do so.

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review.

Hope you can visit us again soon.

Yours truly,

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

this was a big surprise for a large chain hotel. it was cosy, had a great bed, and great bathroom with delicious room service and one of the loveliest cities i have ever visited! thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear highabove

We are the one’s feeling grateful and very happy to see that you fully enjoyed your stay with us in every single point.
Reading your comment we feel proud of not only the location, the building, the facilities but must of all of the service our teams are providing!
Again, thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Here is a really outstanding example of a 5star experience.
We got the room on the corner of the 3rd floor probably the one they use for promo photo. 4 windows with views onto the new square and San bento.

Beautiful hotel.
Concierge was very knowledgeable and went the extra mile to guide us in his city.

Location really central and much preferred to down at the river.

I can imagine few places would be better than this for a visit to Porto

Room Tip: The one on a corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear CalmTraveller75

We want to thank you for such a wonderful review!
It is a great pleasure to see that we were able to meet yours expectations, and that you enjoyed so much the Executive Room you’re given… it’s indeed lovely!!
We will share your review with our team, and celebrate with the Concierge the great work they did.
Once again, thank you very much for sharing with us such a positive feed back.

Looking forward to welcome you back.

Yours truly,

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
great falls, mt
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Travelers to Porto would be well advised to stay at this first class property. Location, on-site food, concierge, rooms all exceeded expectations. The lobby and rooms have a Four Seasons/Ritz/Fairmont feel and are up to date but not to modern. The staff was very helpful, highlighted by the concierge services which was spot on with restaurant recommendations and a private guide for Duoro valley. Breakfast buffet was top notch and it was a nice touch to have english language newspapers in the lobby. We stayed in several properties in Portugal during a two week stay and this offered the most relaxing experience.

Very deserving the #1 hotel in area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality D, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear insecret9,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us such a great review.
It's very rewarding to hear (read) that you enjoyed your stay in all aspects, and therefore it was a memorable one! We are very glad to acknowledge we made the best out of your stay in Portugal.
Thank you very much!! We work hard with our teams in order to deliver a very high level of service and comments like yours are the best way to motivate them. We will celebrate with the Team!

Looking forward to welcome you back,

Yours Sincerely

Francelina Amaral
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is really great - starting from the moment you arrive - how employees are greeting you up to your departure! Rooms are very comfortable, beautiful and clean, there is absolutely everything you need: high quality bathroom amenities, kettle with diferent types of tea, iron and ironing board, good wi-fi connection etc. Atmosphere in all hotel is very welcoming and relaxing. You can really have rest from the moment you enter the building.

Room Tip: All rooms are just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in a walking distance to most tourist attractions. The hotel is new even though the building itself is quite old. The breakfast is quite good with some exotic items like jam made from tomatoes or pumpkin. Rooms are spacious. Good advice was provided by concierge re where to have a dinner.

We have been upgraded on arrival due to having a gold loyalty card.

You might be offered a glass of port wine upon check-in.

Few negatives:

1)They have a shuttle to Corte Inglese (the department store), albeit we have not been told about it - even though we have asked them to order us a taxi to go there. This was a bit of a nuisance.
2) They have not addressed our request re pillows/blankets, which was not too difficult.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs volk-dasha,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas and for your kind words.

We are very happy to had deliver a memorable stay and we are looking forward to receive you once again in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.