We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas to your Saves list
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 89 Hotels in Porto
los angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Pluses

1) concierge very very good
2) gym was adequate
3) room service was reasonably priced and good
4) onsite restaurant is good
5) location is excellent
6) rooms are big and beds are comfortable

minuses

1) no pool or sundeck
2) shower confusing, and low water pressure
3) biggest annoyance was the lighting / air conditioning system. Its a high tech energy type system that is not intuitive and just never worked the way i wanted



still good place to stay and the best in porto i bet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear jasonjm2005,

Thank you very much for your review, so well organized that we know exactly where we need to focus to improve our guests experience!
Regarding the pool or sundeck, having both is quite difficult because of the structure of the building and the area we are located... but we do have a nice terrace where you still can enjoy the sunny days! The other 2 difficulties you mentioned is something that we already include on the Escort Guest to Room procedure, so we can explain it as soon as guests arrive to room!
Nevertheless great to hear and see that, Pluses double the minuses and you highly recommend our hotel as the best in Porto!

Thank you very much!

Looking forward to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    658
    126
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
116
460
29
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is lovely inside and the best location. Check-in went smooth but expected a warmer reception because the bellman was so friendly. On the website it says that the Executive rooms either face the gardens or Liberty square, not true. Our room faced a small side street with huge dug up ground with construction. When the bellman brought our bags he asked how we liked our rooms and told him the room was beautiful but the view was not what was expected. He immediately told the front desk and we changed rooms. The new room was not nearly as large, more like a normal room at other hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe, but still lovely. At least we had a view and did not have to listen to construction. Another disappointing factor was my husband and I stay in InterContinental hotels and the "club card" is in his name. Because we are married that is how we usually sign up because we share the same room. Because he was not with me on this trip they refused to give me credit points because the card is under his name. The spa was nice and friendly staff. I would only give this a 3.5 but the cleanliness tipped it to round up to a 4. Not a bad experience but too many disappointments from the outset.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancelinaAmaral, Director of Operations at InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear L H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. Rest assured that as we quickly act to organize a room with square view for you, we normally do with all we can improve in order to enhance our guests experience.
We acknowledge about your disappointment regarding the usage of our Recognition Program, and regret to say, that our teams were only following the procedure; anyway we are dealing now with IHG Recognition Program Team to find out if you can have 2 different cards of the same account and this will avoid situations like this to happen in the future.
We really work hard in order to deliver the service our guests deserve and look for, and do not want them disappointed. So i kindly ask you if you can contact me directly so we can follow up this situation.

Looking forward to hear from you and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I know it is a strange title for a review of a hotel, but the people at the concierge desk were really amazing and made both our stay at the hotel and even our experience of Porto so much better than it would have been otherwise.

The all were wonderful, with big smiles, great sense of humour, all the time in the world approach and listened well to what we wanted to do, to ask, to achieve. This included sights to see, restaurants to go to (the normal stuff) but also which way to walk to where we wanted to go, where the more interesting streets on the way were, what the actual menus in the recommended restaurants had, and what THEY thought of the foods, wines etc. I felt like we were sharing as well as getting advice. A BIG congratulations to them.

Having said that, I must say the check-in staff and restaurant staff were also very good. At one stage we wanted to change rooms (but didn't) and the reception staff took us to show us two other rooms that we could move to if we wanted to. We could not have asked for more.

We stayed in a large room facing Av. Liberdade which despite the double glazing was still a little noisy, but the design of the room and the lovely view kept us there for 5 nights and we were very happy. The bathrooms are great with little doorways to the toilet and shower (separate). The large bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows.

The breakfasts were very nice and the fruits a good selection.

The location was also very good, a balance between the river, the shopping streets and many of the major sights.

If I go back to Porto, I will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room get one of the courtyard facing rooms which are also nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location of this hotel, we can walk everywhere and because it's so central we can stop by to drop off shopping or take a nap. The bed was superb and the staff was great. The only thing is that it did not have a pool but other than that it's truly a five star luxury

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s paulo
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband and I were there just for one night, but we noticed that this hotel is a very special one.
All the staff is very kind and attentive and they helped us in everything we asked they for. It is in the heart of the historic city, and so we could do everything by foot around it.
It was very pleasant to be there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The hotel and staff were excellent. The breakfasts were first class. I thought that the pricing in the restaurant was unusual as there didn't seem to be much of a benefit from having the set 3 course meal, although the food was delicious. The situation was very good for getting around the city. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Do not make the same mistake i made in only giving porto one day. It is a great place, plenty to see, lots to do. The hotel is amazing in every way. The city beckons but you hate to leave your beautiful room. Lots of amenities. The staff is top notch and their pride for porto shows.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas

Address: Praca Liberdade 25, Porto 4000-322, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Porto
#1 Business Hotel in Porto
#1 Spa Hotel in Porto
#1 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#2 Family Hotel in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HISTORICAL PALACE AT THE HEART OF THE CITY CENTRE. Located in the heart of the Historical Centre, classified as World Heritage by UNESCO, the InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas is the result of a careful renovation of a palace dated from the end of the 18th century. The Hotel is located in Oporto’s main city square, the Praça da Liberdade,within walking distance from all the major cultural highlights,trendy shops, bars and restaurants. The Hotel comprises 105 spacious rooms and suites, the Astoria Restaurant, Cardosas Bar, meeting and banqueting rooms, as well as a Wellness Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Porto Palacio Das Cardosas Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.