We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Porto Novo

Restaurante Porto Novo
Rua Tenente Valadim, 146 | Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa, Porto 4100-476, Portugal
+351220404000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 765 restaurants in Porto
Price range: $27 - $68
Cuisines: Portuguese, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Description: Taking its inspiration from the innovative concept of "show cooking", the Porto Novo Restaurant presents the best in Traditional Portuguese Cuisine.
Southern California
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We had dinner here and I ordered the surf and turf. I was envisioning a little steak and several pieces of shrimp. I got a nice piece of steak and one shrimp….a little disappointing. I probably should have ordered just some kind of fish instead. In the morning, the restaurant has a nice breakfast buffet with an omelet station. Service was good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    13
    10
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I enjoyed the friendliness of the staff and that they did all they could to please you. The food is excellent and has an extensive selection of wines.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oporto, Portugal, Europe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you want to be served as someone special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Very good portuguese food, with excellent service. Buffets are very good and usually an option during weekends

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

Is very unusual in Portugal to have good restaurants in Hotels. this is not the case of Porto Novo. I like the modern atmosphere, the food and the excellent service. It has a cellar with very good wines, that we can see from outside or go into. This is a place where we can eat very good portuguese food, I like the sunday's buffet,

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Personable and helpful staff regarding Portugese specialties. Be sure to try monkfish and rice. We were there for Sunday buffet - delicious!!!!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Porto Novo also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Restaurante Porto Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Porto Novo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.