We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Postigo do Carvao

Postigo do Carvao
Rua da Fonte Taurina 24 a 34, Porto 4050-269, Portugal
+351 222004539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #94 of 911 Restaurants in Porto
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I have eaten here three times recently, and the food was excellent on each occasion. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the wine selection is varied in price, catering for everyone. The house wine at 7 Euros a litre is very palatable. I can highly recommend the steak dish that you cook at the table, very tasty. Definitely the best food we had in Porto.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    150
    41
    8
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Le Mans, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“No nonsense, good food, great value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Surprising find, so near to the main tourist route... we tried to get in on the Saturday, but they were completely full, so decided to book for the Sunday. As well we did because when we arrived again, it was completely full, usually a good indication. Obviously lots of visitors but a large numbers of locals as well, so thought it can't be such a bad choice!
It wasn't... good choice of local fresh produce, we plumped for the roast pork (sadly, the lamb was finished) but not at all disappointed, good quality and huge portions. So much so that desert was out of the question. Including wine it was fantastic value at only €21 for both.
Great atmosphere, nice character features in the restaurant, friendly and helpful waiters.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomar, Portugal
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Surprising Find in a Touristy Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stopped in for lunch on a very rainy day and while we usually avoid restaurants along the touristy Ribeiro area of Porto this place a pleasant surprise! I had the seafood rice which was full of shrimp, clams, mussels and then topped with three huge prawns. They made me a half portion for one and there was plenty-more than I could finish. My husband wanted the lamb chops which he found very enjoyable. The starters were nice cod fritters, tuna pate, olives and a tasty bread with chorizo. We did not try the cheese or regular bread that came in a sack. Remember that in Portugal you pay for the starters you eat but you are free to say you do not want them and you will not be charged. Our entire lunch with a pitcher of house wine was 30€! Service was fantastic too! They have live music on Friday and Saturday nights. We will be back again during our next visit to Porto!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

The food is not Michelin star level, but it has a high value for money factor certainly given its touristy location. The portions are good, the produce are fresh, the cook is great on both meat & fish and the service is excellent. Their wine list certainly not overpriced and the 15+ euro wines are wonderful. The only thing they need to work on their dessert (mostly supermarket style ice creams) offering. This is the only place I keep going back to when in Porto

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Extrodinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Strolling the famous Ribeira district we were trying to find a good place to have dinner. We entered many restaurants, but this one we liked most.
It is a meat and fish restaurant with great ambient all decored in the old stone style. It has a simple one page menu, not more than 10 dishes of meat and same of fish.
The food is of extreme quality, as well their service. The prices are very reasonable.
Our daughter was disappointed and started to cry when she found out there were no spaghetti. Very kind personal did their best, they found some pasta in the kitchen and made her a delicious meal. And it was for FREE!!! Such a gesture made us speechless.
Thank you very much for your kindness.
Strongly recommend this place.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postigo do Carvao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Postigo do Carvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postigo do Carvao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.