We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Postigo do Carvao

Postigo do Carvao
Rua da Fonte Taurina 24 a 34, Porto 4050-269, Portugal
+351 222004539
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 984 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Nobody recommended but we tried it anyway. The price was very reasonable and so we tried the food. We were surprised with the excellent food and service.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    210
    55
    13
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“TICKED ALL THE BOXES”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Ate here with 9 others on 30 December. As a Sunday previously booked ( Reply within 48 hrs ). Ambience, Food & most of all Service was first class ( Restaurant full & still queing at 10pm gives some idea ). Yes like most restaurants you pay for 'the tit bits' on the table but these were not expensive & plentiful. After these we all had main courses ( Large portions ) & unfortunately the 'polpo' was not ready plus additional extras. Passed on deserts but inclusive of 6 bottles of wine ( recommended by our waiter & was the 3rd less costly on the wine list at Euro10 a bottle ) and water the total bill was Euro 188 plus service. Value for money most definitely.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabano
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Very nice place. The inside of the restaurant is beautiful. It was our first meal in Porto and we loved it. Very generous portions, good wine, good service (a bit slow, but the place was very busy )

I recommend this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Busy Place, try to make a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's a very busy place. We went there twice and it was always packed. It was hard to get a table for two since all the tables are for four persons or above.

The decoration seems like we're on the street since it has some lamp posts that should be on a street.

The service was good. For starters they brought "Bôla", grilled chorizo, and other things. We only ate the "Bôla" and it was really tasty, and for two people it was a big amount.

At the first day we asked if the dishes were small and they said it would be better to order one dish per person. So we did, but not on the second time we went there because with the starters and one dish was way enough for the two of us.

We ate the codfish with cream and the Porto Steak. They were both great but the two dishes are a lot for 2. We drank half a liter of the house red wine which was fine for the meal.

Take note, the outdoor seating has just two tables, each table takes about 4 people. No scenic view whatsoever.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
“We went back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Our first visit was from a local recommendation. We enjoyed it and so booked for a Saturday night. It was very busy and turned away a lot of people. Popular with locals. Good food and pleasant service; some items were very good value.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Postigo do Carvao also viewed

Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Postigo do Carvao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Postigo do Carvao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.