We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carris Porto Ribeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Carris Porto Ribeira to your Saves list
Carris Porto Ribeira
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua do Infante D. Henrique, 1, Porto 4050-296, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vasteras, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“excellent Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed here for 6 nights (1-6 june 2013). This hotel is in Ribeira area down by the river Duoro just the perfect hotel in perfect location! The rooms are relatively small and without much storage space but they are nicely decorated and equipped with all the amenities. The WiFi didn't work in my room but work downstairs in the lobby and bar.
The staff were really excellent, polite, professional.
Breakfast and dinner menu just excellent.
I would definitely recommend a stay here!

Room Tip: ask for a river view room if a possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    211
    57
    21
    6
See reviews for
77
252
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorking
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

There are unquestionably more expensive and better hotels in Porto but there can be very few which are better sited offering excellent service and value for money. The hotel is in the Ribeira area down by the River Douro waterfront right by the D Luis bridge. Do walk across on the top level - but no place for vertigo!

The hotel staff are very helpful, the standard rooms very small by US standards but modern and very clean. You will probably only use it for sleeping in anyway, there is so much more to do outside. Breakfast was included in our arrangements and the buffet very good. In fact the restaurant which we used for lunch on our departure day was transformed by the addition of table linen and wine glasses. Having said that there are restaurants everywhere you look in that area. Pricier if they have a river view of course but we did enjoy them all.

Must things to do? Cross the Douro on the D Luis bridge on the top to Gaia the city on the opposite side of the river and come back on the lowe level. Catch the funicular up to the top of the city. Visit the railway station Sao Bento (makes the UK equivalents look shabby!) and if you cannot take a 1 day cruise on the Douro do take the 50 minute boat trip down to the river mouth and under Portos 6 bridges. This last for €10 each.

Porto was what I imagined Paris might have been like at the turn of the century in terms of architecture. Go and enjoy!

Room Tip: Probably the higher the better but ours on the 2nd floor facing the river was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice hotel. We stayed in a Junior suite well worth the extra, plenty of room and a separate seating area.

The food was very good - a brave attempt at an English breakfast and excellent dinner menu. We found that here (as well as other restaurants) that the food was served warm rather than hot, could be a cultural thing.

We hired a car which was a mistake. parking is 20 Euros a day and the city traffic in Porto is horrendous.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite, river view and plenty of room. Worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights after traveling around Northern Portugal. Absolutely loved Porto & this hotel was great. The position is perfect, near to the river where there is alot going on & easy to access the rest of the city. Rooms are a little on the small side but for a city break it works very well, furnished with all mod cons. Book for breakfast, it is very good with lots of choice. Would definately recommend a stay here

Room Tip: Ask for a river view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights. It really is a beautiful hotel and in perfect location - less that 60 seconds walk from the buzz of Douro waterfront and some great walks. The Palacio da Bolsa and the amazing 'golden church' of Igreja de S. Francisco are on same road less than 2 mins walk. There is a taxi rank right across the road, very handy for heading into town (anywhere from the waterfront means steep uphill walks to town centre shopping!). Ate two nights in their downstairs restaurant 'Forno Velho' - which seldom gets profile anywhere ... I just don't know why as its really excellent with a wide section of fish AND meat dishes and vegetarian options too. At circa €80 for a full fine-dining evening dinner for two with wine - it was still great value. We ate there on two evenings - as we just couldn't better it - and we don't like going anywhere twice. The hotel is very cosy and the staff friendly. Travelled from Ireland and would select the same hotel anytime. No negatives - just some roadworks to the side of hotel ...but they are ongoing in most parts of central Porto ... and only reflecting its progress. If you like a walk it's a short walk to the Ponte D Luis 1 Bridge - cross it and take in a visit to one of the Port House Visitor Attractions such as Sandemans Port.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Hotel Carris for 3 nights. The staff were very helpful right from the start - in particular Marta and Cathia. They could not do enough for us during our stay, whether it be restaurant recommendations or directions. Our room initially overlooked the main road and was a little noisy, so we asked to move and were given a lovely room with glimpses of the waterfront, which was quiet. The breakfast was fantastic and well worth including in your budget. Highly recommend this hotel for it's ambience, staff and location.

Room Tip: Room 301 was a small double, but lovely views out to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

As has been said before, the location can't be beat. We were in room 412, which has a wonderful view to the river and the bridges and a window to the ground plus a 20 cm wide terrace to stand on :-). It is lovely to wake up with the full sun in your room, a seagull on the rooftop in front of you and that gorgeous view on the river. Everything that has been said about the hotel that is positive, and that's a lot!, is true. As far as negative comments go: we found the staff to be fluent enough in English. Our room, no 412, though a superior one!, was very small (about 1 m around the bed) and the storage space was the worst I have ever encountered in a hotel. It was just not sufficient. What do you do when you have to store winter clothes?? A tip: bring some light, foldable clothes hangers because the ones that are available are a terrible system and they hang so high that I could hardly reach them and needed my boyfriend (1m88) to help me. Also, ours was a connecting room, which we hadn't been told. As it turned out, we were not bothered by our neighbours but I can imagine that it might be a problem if you have loud neighbours. Apart from that, everything was great about the hotel!! Would recommend to everyone and would certainly stay there again. Porto is absolutely lovely, a citytrip with an extra (easy tram or bus ride to the Atlantic Ocean where you will find lots of beautiful terraces). We were quite disappointed by the restaurants in Porto, about the worst we ever ate on a trip, so you might want to do some research on the net before going. Tips: The restaurant of port seller Taylor's has a nice terrace and serve good food, in an "English style" setting. The lunch we had (12 € per person!) at the hotel Carris Porto Ribeira was great but you have to sit inside and the Italian restaurant La Ricotta, near Avenidos dos Aliades (Rua Pasos Manuel 18) was super (but not cheap). Do avoid the Restaurante Commercial (at the right of the hotel) which is absolutely horrible. We did not like "Chez Lapin" either. But even so, Porto is a must. We loved it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carris Porto Ribeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carris Porto Ribeira

Address: Rua do Infante D. Henrique, 1, Porto 4050-296, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 Hotels in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carris Porto Ribeira 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Carris Porto Ribeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carris Porto Ribeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.