We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“100% Believable Photos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magnolia Porto Hostel

Save Saved
You added Magnolia Porto Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Magnolia Porto Hostel
Av. Rodrigues de Freitas, 387, Porto 4000-422, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty lodging in Porto
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“100% Believable Photos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Let me 1st of all explain the title of my review......sometimes you see photos of a hotel or hostel and you think it looks exellent...and then you turn up...and it isnt like the photos!....

Well all the photos of the Magnolia are 100% accurate....it look relaxing, beautiful & clean in the photos...and it was!

I stayed here for 2 nights on the 15th & 16th October for a football match and couldnt believe how nice the place was. The reception is bright & airy, the 24hr bar area with a TV actually felt like a wee bar! and there is a nice courtyard area to take a beer in. The beer was wee 'stubby' bottles and they were only €1 and a can of Pepsi was also only €1. Breakfast was cereals, OJ, fresh bread rolls, cheese & ham...plenty to fill you up for the day.

My freinds and & I stayed in the 8 bed dorm it was really roomy and everyone had a large lockable locker (no padlock needed). The 8 bed dorm has an ensuite.....and the ensuite was really massive..... it had 2 seperate toliets & 2 seperate showers.

The bunk beds were really comfy and one of my friends rented one of the towels.....he said it was nicer than his at home!

I spoke to 3 different 'receptionists' and they were all 100% excellent, they all that great balance of being professional & freindly.

I have stayed in a lot of hostels in a lot of different countries over the years and this was easily the BEST. Maybe not a 'Party' style hostel, more a small 'chilled' place......... If I ever return to Porto I will definitley stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
1
28
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Vicente, Portugal
1 review
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights over a weekend and out of all of the hostels I have experienced after two month of backpacking, this was definitely one of the cleanest, nicest and best value hostels I have stayed in up to now.
I stayed in a female dorm bed up the very top and found it to be very spacious with a bathroom outside.
The only weak point is the noise from the street outside but this is not the fold of the hostel.
It feels mor like you are staying at somebodys home like in a hostel.
Porto is a great place to stay overall and in this hostel a pleasure for sure !!!
So at least I can only say, thank you to the staff, espacily to Miguel, the outher friendly staff and I can highly recommend this hostel to "E V E R Y B O D Y" !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the double bedroom up the very top and found it to be very spacious and with a private bathroom was very convenient. Queen bed was comfortable and large windows that opened let in a lot of fresh air. Bedrooms were quiet with the exception of a noisy rooster in the backyard of someone's property nearby but am sure not all rooms face this. Daily activities such as walking tours and pub crawls etc (highly recommended) were easily organized from the staff at reception who gave us great advise on where to eat and what to do. A quick 10 minute walk found us in the middle of the city and always felt safe at night. Overall a great place to stay in Porto.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed there with two friends for three days in March/April, returning again after a weekend in Lisbon. We stayed in a 8 bed mixed dorm with modern furniture and ensuite bathroom. Breakfast was included. Generally, I was surprised as I did not expect that much from a Hostel. Magnolia Hostel is a very clean place with a very good location close to the city center of Porto. The staff is extremely friendly. They also speak English and Spanish. Furthermore, we had breakfast included. It was not varied but nice and enough. Moreover, dishes were clean. The most important to mention is the patio...a very beautiful place where they sometimes have concerts and other events (according to the owner). Finally, it is worth pointing out that we did not pay a lot for our stay,,,only €12 per night. A very surprising place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Porto is our last city after travelling 7 other cities in 6 countries for 10 days. Felt exhausted, we got friendly and warm welcome from Miguel who assist us with all accomodation. Eventhough we had not check-in yet, we were allowed to cook and eat rice plus boiled noodle which make us feel home in Porto! What made it also like home because it is not crowded with guests.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We have spent 4 nights at the hostel at the end of November and have to say my best holiday ever. The staff really go the extra mile, the garden area was so beautiful and loved the breakfast( fresh roll, croissant every morning)and the fresh coffee ......you can`t find even closer one in the UK. The room was so unique with the traditional tiles on the wall.
The old buildings haven`t got central heating in Porto but there was a electronic one. It was more than enough for us because they had fantastic thick duvet which kept us warm.
Overall if you are wondering where the next holiday is going to be, I definitely say PORTO and MAGNOLIA HOSTEL!!!!!

Room Tip: if you are a couple the blue room is quite and special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We have spent only 1 night there. We have been welcomed in a very good way and they were very helpful for all information we needed. They also helped with storing the luggage and getting something to eat (we needed that urgently!)

However our room (double private) did not have a window and was a bit cold. Electric heating was available, but without a window the air got really dry in the night.

WiFi is available but the signal was very weak (even on the ground floor) - we didn't manage to connect.

Breakfast was ok, but not very special.

Sao Bento Station is near, but the way is very steep!

Bus Terminal just around the corner.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a window (there is at least one without!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magnolia Porto Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Porto Hostel

Address: Av. Rodrigues de Freitas, 387, Porto 4000-422, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 97 Specialty lodging in Porto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnolia Porto Hostel is the perfect base to discover everything that Porto has to offer. located in the city centre, a 5 minute walk from metro station and with very easy access to all of the city's attractions, it’s the perfect spot for anyone who wants to immerse themselves in the city’s culture or explore its vibrant night life.our newly renovated building combines typical Porto architecture with a relaxed and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Magnolia Porto Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnolia Porto Hotel Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnolia Porto Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.